2017 Cadillac XT5 Top 3 Complaints and Problems – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Braking, Electrical System and Transmission issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners
HELPLINE

The Cadillac XT5 first debuted in 2017. A fresh design, advanced powertrain – and typical Cadillac prestige – drew many consumers to the compact SUV. Indeed, the XT5 has its perks, such as first-class amenities and the latest technology. But, unfortunately, it also has some reliability issues. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website, main trouble areas for the XT5 include the powertrain, electrical system and brakes.

Have questions? Call us now at 877-795-3666 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Powertrain

An all-new 8-speed automatic transmission made its debut in the 2017 Cadillac XT5. The Aisin-built unit, referred to as the AF50-8, is an advanced piece of technology with lightweight construction and high-tech electronics

But, despite the transmission’s cutting-edge design, some owners claim it has problems.Complaints include issues such as abnormal shifting and odd noises.

“New totally electronic transmission felt strange in upshifting and downshifting immediately after purchasing the vehicle and was reported to Cadillac in their customer satisfaction survey within a month of purchase. After five months and 1,800 miles, the transmission failed completely,” writes an owner on the NHTSA website.

Another complaint reads: “Purchased my new XT5 in Feb 2017, currently 8,300 miles. After starting my vehicle and shifting into reverse, the transmission makes a loud bang and lurches backward. The first time it occur in may 2017 it caught me off guard and the vehicle moved backwards about 3 feet. Since then, this has occurred about 12 times and have the vehicle to the dealer for service, no issues found or repeated. Returned the vehicle again 8/28/17 for service for the same reason.”

Cadillac’s parent company, General Motors, decided to conduct a voluntary recall (NHTSA ID Number: 10145172) regarding the transmission on select 2017 XT5 SUVs.

The recall states: “Certain 2017-2018 model year vehicles equipped with an 8-speed transmission (RPO MRC) that were service programmed with incorrect transmission control module, (TCM) software. Vehicles programmed with this software may, under certain downhill driving conditions, remain stuck in gear or shift up later than expected, after RPMs (Revolutions Per Minute) are already high. This condition can only be cleared by an ignition key cycle (turning the vehicle off and then back on again) or by shifting the vehicle into and out of Neutral. Dealers are to reprogram the TCM.”

Whether the recall will address the documented customer complaints is unknown at this time.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Cadillac XT5 Transmission Problems:

PURCHASED NEW XT5 IN FEB 2017, CURRENTLY 8300 MILES. AFTER STARTING MY VEHICLE AND SHIFTING INTO REVERSE, THE TRANSMISSION MAKES AN LOUD BANG AND LURCHES BACKWARD. THE FIRST TIME IT OCCUR IN MAY 2017 IT CAUGHT ME OFF-GUARD AND THE VEHICLE MOVED BACKWARDS ABOUT 3 FEET. SINCE THEN THIS HAS OCCURRED ABOUT 12 TIMES AND HAVE RETURNED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE, NO ISSUES FOUND OR REPEATED. RETURNED THE VEHICLE AGAIN 8/28/17 FOR SERVICE FOR THE SAME REASON. ALSO THE SUSPENSION IS VERY ROUGH, WHEELS FELL LIKE THEY ARE CONSTANTLY SHAKING, LARGE BUMPS IN THE ROAD CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO LOOSE TRACTION AND DEVIATE FROM LANE OF TRAVEL. STEERING MAKES A LOUD WHINING/CLICKING NOISE. STEERING WAS SERVICE IN JULY AND FOUND LOOSE MECHANICAL ITEM. 3 WEEKS LATER THE SAME NOISE HAS RETURNED. I BELIEVE THE WAY THE VEHICLE HANDLES BUMPS IN THE ROAD IS CAUSING THE STEERING ISSUE. DRIVING AROUND CURVES AND HITTING A BUMP OR DEPRESSION IN THE ROAD CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO SKIP ACROSS THE ROAD SURFACE AND MOMENTARILY LOOSE TRACTION AND STEERING CONTROL. DRIVING THE SAME XT5 LOANER CAR, DOES NOT HAVE THESE SUSPENSION ISSUES. ADDITIONALLY, THE AUDIO RANDOMLY STOPS WORKING, TURNING THE CAR OFF/ON ALLOWS AUDIO TO START WORKING AGAIN..

WHILE DRIVING 30MPH ON CITY STREET ENGINE MADE LOUD ROARING NOISE AND DRAMATICALLY SLOWED ITSELF DOWN TO ALMOST A STOP AS IF I SLAMMED ON BRAKES. I HAD VEHICLE(1715 MILEAGE) TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. THEY KEPT IT 2 DAYS AND TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG. I PICKED UP CAR AND WHILE DRIVING HOME THE ENGINE MADE LOUD NOISE AND DRAMATICALLY SLOWED DOWN ONCE AGAIN. THE NEXT DAY I TOOK MY CAR TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP HOPING THEY COULD REPAIR VEHICLE. THEY KEPT CAR FOR 14 DAYS AND TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE CONCERN AND DID NOT REPAIR. SO I PICKED UP CAR HOPING IT WOULD NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. IT DID HAPPEN 3 MORE TIMES. ONE INCIDENT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING THROUGH INTERSECTION ON CITY STREET ENGINE MADE LOUD ROARING NOISE AND ABRUPTLY SLOWED ITSELF DOWN TO ALMOST A STOP. BUT IN THIS INSTANCE WHEN I STEPPED ON ACCELERATOR TO DRIVE FORWARD TO GET OUT OF INTERSECTION THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE,IT FROZE . LUCKILY I DID NOT GET HIT IN THE BACK. I WAITED, TURNED CAR OFF, AND THEN TURNED IT ON. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE HOME. I TOOK CAR BACK TO DEALERSHIP ON 7/19/17 EXPLAINING THE CAR WAS UNSAFE SINCE THESE PROBLEMS ARE ERRATIC AND I COULD GET HIT IN THE BACK WHEN THE VEHICLE SLOWS DOWN TO A STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. THEY KEPT CAR FOR 9 DAYS CALLED AND TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FIND PROBLEM SO THEY WANTED THEIR LOANER BACK. I WAS AFRAID TO DRIVE CAR BACK HOME SO THE DEALER DELIVERED CAR TO MY HOUSE AND TOOK BACK LOANER ON 7/28/17. IT HAS BEEN IN MY GARAGE SINCE THEN SINCE I FEAR FOR MY SAFETY AND MY FAMILY AND WILL NOT DRIVE CAR FEARING I’LL GET HIT WHILE DRIVING IF THE VEHICLE MALFUNCTIONS AGAIN. I NEVER GET A WARNING OF ANY SORT BEFORE IT HAPPENS. AFTER IT HAPPENS AND I TURN THE CAR OFF AND ON AGAIN THE VEHICLE SEEMS PERFECT. BUT I NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL BREAK AGAIN SINCE IT IS ERRATIC. IT IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY HAZARD.

THERE IS A MILD CLUNKING NOISE WHEN THE AUTO STARTS MOVING AND THEN YOU REMOVE FOOT OFF OF GAS PEDAL AND THEN BACK ON GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE A SLIGHT CLUNKING NOISE IS OBSERVED. THIS HAPPENS IN CITY DRIVING STOP AND GO CONDITIONS

Electrical System

Today’s vehicles, including the XT5,contain countless electronic components and miles of wiring. Some owners complain of problems – ranging from dead batteries to inoperative infotainment displays –caused by electronic faults.

“The “CUE” system has malfunctioned. I have no navigation or radio and am unable to see how the controls are set for climate control. Also, the 360-degree cameras fail intermittently including the backup camera leaving me blind when parking or backing up. I have taken this vehicle to the dealership five times and Cadillac has now declared my vehicle a “lemon” and is repurchasing it,” says a consumer on the NHTSA website.

Another owner writes, “I got this car delivered to my home on 01/11/2019, then it did not want to start. After jump starting, it worked then shut off. So, I was going to the dealership while driving on the expressway the car just completely shut off.Would not start, so had it towed to the dealership thinking it was the battery. Now it has to be there till Monday or Tuesday.”

Currently,there are 32 pages of manufacturer communications regarding the SUV’s electrical system listed on the NHTSA website.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Cadillac XT5 Infotainment Problems:

MY 2017 XT5 COMPLETELY SHUTDOWN ON MY ON SATURDAY, 10/7. I WAS AT A STOP LIGHT & WHEN I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER HAD A NUMBER OF LIGHTS COME ON & THE VEHICLE WAS VERY HARD TO ACCELERATE. I HAD TO PULL OVER IMMEDIATELY & THEN THE CAR SHUT DOWN. IT WAS COMPLETELY DEAD: THE HAZARD LIGHTS DID NOT WORK (VERY SCARY) & ONSTAR AND THE SOS BUTTON WOULD NOT CONNECT. AFTER ABOUT 5-10 MINUTES, ONSTAR WAS CONNECTED & I WAS TOLD NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE DUE TO ENGINE & TRANSMISSION CODES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED THE DEALER BY ROADSIDE. ON MONDAY, THE DEALER PROVIDED ME WITH A LOANER WHILE THE DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE. ON 10/11, WHEN I WENT TO PICK-UP THE VEHICLE, I WAS TOLD THE ISSUE WAS A ‘LOGIC LOCK,’ THE CAR WAS DRIVEN FOR 4 MILES & CONSIDERED FIXED. I REFUSED THE CAR AS WE NEED TO KNOW THE ROOT CAUSE. THE DEALER STILL HAS MY CAR AND HAS NOT CONTACTED CADILLAC YET. I AM STILL WAITING TO HEAR FROM THEM AND ALSO HAVE A CASE OPENED WITH CADILLAC CUSTOMER CARE, BUT THEY ARE LESS THAN HELPFUL. THE POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ONE ISSUE, BUT THE GREATER ISSUE IS THE SAFETY OF MY CAR AND THE FACT THAT IT COMPLETELY DIED ON ME AND THE DEALER THINKS CLEARING SOME CODES WILL RESOLVE IT. PLEASE HELP. GOD FORBID THIS HAPPENS TO ME OR SOMEONE ELSE AGAIN. IT IS COMPLETELY UNSAFE.

THE “CUE” SYSTEM HAS MALFUNCTIONED. I HAVE NO NAVIGATION OR RADIO AND AM UNABLE TO SEE HOW THE CONTROLS ARE SET FOR CLIMATE CONTROL. ALSO, THE 360 DEGREE CAMERAS FAIL INTERMITTENTLY INCLUDING THE BACKUP CAMERA LEAVING ME BLIND WHEN PARKING OR BACKING UP. I HAVE TAKEN THIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FIVE TIMES AND CADILLAC HAS NOW DECLARED MY VEHICLE A “LEMON” AND IS REPURCHASING IT. INTERESTINGLY, I’VE BEEN DRIVING TO CADILLAC DEALERSHIPS THROUGHOUT CENTRAL FLORIDA AND HAVE NOTICED A HIGH NUMBER OF XT5’S WITH THEIR DASHBOARDS COMPLETELY DISASSEMBLED IN THEIR SERVICE AREA. ONE SERVICE TECH ADMITTED HE’S ALSO SEEN THIS ISSUE IN OTHER XT5’S. THIS SOUNDS LIKE IT COULD BE A PATTERN AND CADILLAC IS DENYING TO ME THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM.

AFTER A HARD RAIN OR CAR WASH, THE DOOR LOCKS ARE RENDERED NON FUNCTIONAL BY USE OF THE FOB , OUTSIDE DOOR HANDLE LOCK BUTTON AND AUTOMATICALLY LOCKING WHEN PUT IN DRIVE. ALL DOORS WILL NOT LOCK / UNLOCK WITH THE ENGINE “ON” OR “OFF”. THIS HAS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES AND IS REPEATABLE. CONDITION CLEARS UP IF CAR IS LEFT PARKED FOR 6+ HOURS. SIMILAR COMPLAINT OCCURRED BEFORE BUT W/O WATER. THE ISSUE WAS FIXED BY THE DEALER “REPROGRAMMING”.

Brakes

The master cylinder, which supplies hydraulic pressure to stop the vehicle, is the heart of the braking system. If the master cylinder fails, it can result in a loss of braking ability.Some XT5 owners allege of such problems with their vehicle.

“Brake master cylinder failure – brake fluid error message appeared on screen and over the course of 24 hours, the brakes stopped working. While pushing the pedal completely flush to the floor, the vehicle hardly stopped. Had the car towed to the dealership for repair,” says one owner on the NHTSA website.

Another consumer says, “Loss of brakes. Brake pedal went to floor and car would not stop. Brake fluid light went on. Towed to dealer, found master cylinder leaking into power brake booster. Both parts replaced and problems solved thus far. Dealer stated must be a common problem because parts were back ordered.”

So far, the NHTSA has not issued arecall for the brake master cylinder on the XT5. But there is a recall (NHTSA Campaign Number: 16V802000) for leaking brake calipers that can lead to reduced braking ability. The document states: “the recall began on December 12, 2016. Owners may contact GM customer service at 1-800-458-8006 (Cadillac), or 1-800-462-8782 (GMC). GM’s number for this recall is 16096

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Cadillac XT5 Braking Problems:

BRAKES FAILED. COMING TO A STOP SIGN ON CR 13, BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. BRAKES DID NOT SLOW OR STOP THE CAR AT ALL. PUMPED THE BRAKES 3 OR 4 TIMES, NO BRAKING. WENT THRU STOP SIGN HITTING ANOTHER VEHICLE. AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. AUTOMATIC BRAKING SYSTEM DID NOT ACTIVATE. ESTIMATES I WAS 50 YARDS FROM THE STOP SIGN WHEN I FIRST APPLIED THE BRAKES, SPEED BETWEEN 20-30 MPH.

BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER FAILURE – BRAKE FLUID ERROR MESSAGE APPEARED ON SCREEN AND OVER THE COURSE OF 24 HOURS THE BRAKES STOPPED WORKING. WHILE PUSHING THE PEDDLE COMPLETELY FLUSH TO THE FLOOR, THE VEHICLE HARDLY STOPPED. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR.

LOSS OF BRAKES. BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR AND CAR WOULD NOT STOP. BRAKE FLUID LIGHT WENT ON. TOWED TO DEALER, FOUND MASTER CYLINDER LEAKING INTO POWER BRAKE BOOSTER. BOTH PARTS REPLACED AND PROBLEM SOLVED THUS FAR. DEALER STATED MUST BE COMMON PROBLEM BECAUSE PARTS WERE BACKORDERED. MILAGE ON CAR IS 8,585 AT TIME OF BRAKE FAILURE. VEHICLE WAS MOVING AT TIME OF BRAKE FAILURE, MY WIFE WAS GETTING READY TO GET ON EXPRESSWAY. NO SIGN OF BRAKE FLUID LOSS WAS VISIBLE.

 

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work aid your lemon at no cost to you. The law makes Subaru pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Lemberg Law are Lemon Law experts and can help you get Lemon Justice – absolutely free! Fill out our form on this page for a no-obligation case evaluation, or call toll free 877-795-3666.

2 COMMENTS
  • Nicole

    I starting leasing a 2017 Cadillac XT5 back in October 2016. Ever since I have had it I have had nothing but issues with the vehicle! First ,my transmission light kept coming on and I was getting warning messages telling me the vehicle would not be able to shift. I took the car into the dealership where I leased the vehicle for them to “fix” the issue numerous times. That issue was finally resolved after about 6 visits. I have had a tire blowout completely while traveling down a major highway. Now the vehicle is squealing extremely loud when I turn the wheel to the left. I have taken the vehicle to the dealership 3 times now within 4 days to have the problem fixed. First they said it was the ball joint, they replaced that and told me I was all set. I picked up the vehicle only to have the same issue. I brought it back the same day. They said it was a brake pad issue. They ‘fixed’ that and said i was all set. I picked up the vehicle, it was good for a day and then this morning same problem is back but even worse! The vehicle is once again at the dealership! I have been battling with GMC since the first issue arised back in 2016 and they continue to not return my ohine calls and give me the run around. I am beyond annoyed!!! This is a luxury vehicle that I pay a lot of money for. GMC will not help me out and I just want out of this lease!!!!!!!!!

  • Raymond J

    Traveling on I-95 in FL, there is a beep and alert flashed on the dash panel saying speed limit exceeded, when my vehicle goes above the listed speed limit of 70 mph. This, even when I have removed the check mark next to the Speed Warning Info Page. It is very annoying. I’ve followed the manual to disarm the warning but after pressing the SEL button there is no up or down arrow to change the speed limit as the manual states. Page 137. Has this been factory preset, and if so how do I eliminate the Speed Warning beep.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Your information is kept 100% confidential. We do not spam or sell your information.