2018 Honda Accord Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Brakes, Electrical, Engine and Transmission issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

Since 1989, the Honda Accord has been a best-seller in North America. Much of the sedan’s popularity centers around its reputation for being one of the most dependable vehicles on the road. But no car, including the seemingly infallible midsize Honda, has a perfect track record. According to the National Traffic Highway Safety Administration (NHTSA) website, the 2018 Accord has several problem areas. The most common are the brakes, engine/powertrain, and electrical system.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Honda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

Problems with the Brakes

Honda Sensing is the name given to the suite of driver assistance features that come standard on the Accord. The bundle includes adaptive cruise control, auto high beams, lane-departure warning and mitigation, traffic-sign recognition, low-speed follow – and of course, collision-mitigation braking.

The collision-mitigation braking system is quite complex. It uses two primary inputs: a radar sensor, mounted in the front grille, and a camera located in the rear-view mirror. Data from these devices is relayed to the computer controls onboard the car. If the system determines a crash is about to occur, it instructs the vehicle to apply the brakes automatically.

While the feature may sound good on paper, in many situations Honda’s collision-mitigation braking (otherwise known as automatic emergency braking) doesn’t work properly. The system tends to either halt the vehicle unexpectedly or not to stop it at all. Both scenarios present a potential safety hazard.

On the NHTSA website, one owner tells his account that makes the threat all too real. He states, “I was traveling on U.S. Highway 19 and a vehicle turned off about a half mile ahead of me while I had the cruise control engaged. The vehicle had completely cleared the road and my car slammed on the brakes causing everything in the vehicle to be thrown into the floorboard. Had there been a car behind me, the car would have rear-ended my vehicle.”

In 2017, Honda issued a technical service bulletin (TSB) addressing the same problem present on other models. The TSB (TSB 17-064) instructs dealers to update the radar unit’s software to address the concern. So far, Honda has not publicly tackled the matter on the 2018 Accord.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Honda Accord Brake Problems:

I purchased brand new my 2018 Honda Accord sport Dec 28 2017 I have 1450 miles currently on the car and the brake pressure has been lost. When applying breaks at highway speed it’s not as noticeable but around town at 45mph when applying the breaks there is dead space then full brake kicks in which makes others think you are brake checking them. When going to the forums and to this website I saw other complaining about the brake booster failures. I went to the dealership. They advised yes the vehicle has a failed brake booster and is on a national back order. I am currently driving my new car with a failed booster waiting on Honda to fix it. I hope this is safe that that my brand new car isn’t being damaged waiting for this part.

Brakes do not stop smoothly, there is a dead spot in the brake pedal that takes extra pressure to get the car to stop. Makes the car stop suddenly when trying to brake smoothly. Dealer acknowledged the problem and replaced the master cylinder with no fix and now dealer says they need to wait for American Honda to allow them to replace the brake booster that have been successful for others on Honda forums

Just like others have said, I’m also having an issue with the sensitivity of my brake pedal. The brake feels like there are steps to it instead of a smooth linear pedal. I have never driven a car with a brake pedal like this. From the first stop leaving the dealership after buying my 2018 Honda Accord 1.5, i knew something was wrong with the brakes

Problems with the Engine / Powertrain

In the early 2000’s, Honda unleashed a rash of Accords with bad transmissions. It seems history may be repeating itself with the 2018 model car. There are numerous complaints of the 10-speed automatic shifting poorly, jerking and failing altogether.

On Edmunds.com, one owner complains, “Test drove 2018 Honda Accord Sport and ended up buying one for my wife. This was our 4th Honda, we had good luck with the Honda brand and the reliability. We were going to buy the top rated Toyota Camry but decided to stick with the Honda. My wife drove it for 2 weeks, the car had 200 miles on it and it started driving funny, we brought it into the Honda dealer. The technician took the car for a ride and told us that he had some bad news, the brand new 2018 Honda Accord Sport needed a NEW TRANSMISSION!!! So much for Honda quality and quality control. They offered to replace the transmission, we told them that we bought a new car and want a new car not a refurbished car. They refused, very very disappointed in Honda and the Honda brand. We now have a refurbished 2018 Honda Accord the we paid full price, NOT HAPPY WITH HONDA!!”

So far, Honda has not gone public with any TSBs or recalls regarding the issues.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Honda Accord Engine and Transmission Problems:

My brand new 2018 Honda Accord 2.0t w/ automatic transmission is having issues. It shifts very roughly sometimes, I notice the problem most when the engine is cold, however it still happens frequently when engine is at normal operating temperatures. I understand that it’s a first year production vehicle and a newly designed transmission but having problems like this with under 700.00 miles is excusable. The problem did not suddenly start, I noticed the problem soon after driving off the dealer lot for the first time. And let me be clear, I understand what “break in periods” are for cars and I have not driven this vehicle aggressively at all yet, the very rough shifts happen at just normal everyday driving.

The first night I took ownership of car, the engine light blinked and the car lost power, and became a brick. Had to turn car the off, start it, and began to function normally. Car showed 3 misfire codes on my scanner p0301, p0304, p0300. This happened several times, the dealership told me the first time nothing is wrong with the car. They checked the computer and it shows nothing happened. Reluctant to take the car I was, but Brewster Honda was very forceful and took the loaner back. Not even two nights later the car did it twice in one drive cycle. Every time this happens in the rain. Lie Brewster Honda has my car now for quite some time and no one can figure out what is wrong. I am upset that they told me my car was safe, I have a 9 month old daughter that is the world to me. I explained this and still was not taken into consideration. My car is still there, and no sign of being fixed. Only paid one payment on the car. They took my car due to the fact I video taped this happening. I feel the car is unsafe for my family, hope this isn’t something that becomes a trend with 2018 Honda 2.0t. Peoples safety is a number one priority. Very upset I was told nothing wrong with my car, and was puts in an unsafe condition.

The car stutters or stammers when you press the accelerator/gas pedal at times, it does not do it at all times. It is dangerous. It was stationary at a stop light, or pulling off from a stopped position.

Problems with the Electrical system

The 2018 Honda Accord is a feature-rich ride, decked out with all the bells and whistles. Unfortunately, much of the high-tech gadgetry either doesn’t work right, or doesn’t work at all.

In addition to the problems with the Honda Sensing suite, mentioned earlier, there are many accounts of issues with the Accords radio and back up camera.

“Have had this car to dealer 5 times within first 2000 miles. Several braking problems, touch screen stopped working, had to update system, and hood misaligned from factory… which was attempted to be fixed by their “great body shop” to no avail. Very disappointed with new Honda quality. Should have bought the Camry,” writes an owner on Edmunds.com.

Another on the NHTSA website states blatantly, “Reverse camera quit working.”

A recall (18V629000) has been issued to remedy the backup camera problem. As for the radio, Honda has responded in a communication (ATS180105) on the NHTSA website by saying, “We’re currently looking at an issue where the audio system cuts out when using the right turn signal while playing FM radio.”

Not having a radio is a real bummer. Don’t leave you customers hanging, Honda.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Honda Accord Electrical Problems:

On several occasions this cars collision mitigation system has applied the brakes without any reason and this is a very serious safety issue for the public at large and needs immediate attention from Honda. I’ve seen some complaints about the 2017 and 2018 CRV doing this exact same thing.

Car multimedia unit (with a touch-screen) randomly freezes and restarts itself. It happened to me 9 times already since I bought a car in June 2018. If you use navigation system or need screen for other activities while you driving – you are in trouble, because you will lose all the content you had on the screen before the restart and it will distract you from the driving. After restart system is very slow and it forces you to accept legal declaimer while you driving! Two times it just froze without restart and I had to stop the car, turn the engine off and on again, to remove the problem. Very annoying and also not safe because it distracts you. One time it happened while I was backing up using rear view camera, which almost caused an accident.

Trunk would not open, blinkers and wipers would not work, all on board sensors (lane departure, backup detection, etc.) Would not operate. Several error warnings presented on dash in regards to safety sensors not working. Had to stop at dealership and they reset the car computer. Safety issue w/wipers and blinkers not working

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work aid your lemon at no cost to you. The law makes Honda pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

20 COMMENTS
  • Jim

    today 2-19-2020, my 2018 accord touring suddenly braked on a side street, no traffic just me. thank god no one around me. scary. will take to dealer to complain. don’t know what they will do. everything else has been perfect.

  • Veronica L

    I am the owner of a 2018 Honda Accord. My car was in the shop for over 30 days last year in April, and then again this month for a few days. It is a brand new car so it should not give me all these problems. The car sometimes breaks unexpectedly without reason, too. Today, I was in a car accident in the freeway, where my car spun a few times and hit the wall. I strongly believe this car was defective. Can you help me?

  • Ronald P

    Engine would not start/brake system problem/radio and digital board is blank

  • Charlene R

    I have a 2018 Honda Accord sport and I am constantly having problems with the ABS. Right now my car is in the VA parking lot and want start. I have been taking it to the dealership since June for this problem, They have updated the system, but I’m still having problems. I had the window regulator replace within a month of buying the car and windows still make a noise when it’s hot and you put them down.

  • Sydney

    December of 2018 I leased a 2018 Honda Accord Ex-L. During the first month with the car, I noticed there were electrical issues with regards to the “information display” screen (screen located in the center of the dashboard). There were two main areas of concern, one issue was resolved while the other still goes unfixed. The issue that continues to go unfixed is the issue of me being in mid-drive in the car and the center screen shuts off and restarts itself, which messes up my hands-free for my phone. I have complained about this issue to the dealer 3-5 times, all the times a software reset is performed and I am given back the car with the same issue as when I took it in. Additionally, I was sold an alarm system through the financing department of the dealer and it was installed and then removed from the vehicle. I have also been given the option by the dealer for them to place me in a 2019 Accord Ex-L, however, my car payment would be an additional $56 due to me not putting any money down. I am not sure what my options are and I am in a time crunch due to me not seeking help from the start.

  • Olga

    How many times does your car have to mess up for it be reported as a lemon

  • Joe A

    I am afraid of either being rear ended or scared so bad that I crash into another car. 3 times this car has made panic stops, momentarily but just the same, the orange BRAKE light comes on on the left of the dash, while a beeping panic sound is being made. The car hits the brakes hard causing me to be scared out of my mind. This has happened twice while the cruise is engage and once when it has not been. Two of the incidents happened with 7 lanes of street completely empty, no traffic either direction, no cars in front to the side or the back of me. I was a lone car on the road. The first time it did this I was very shaken up but figured it was just a fluke. The next two times it was NO FLUKE this car is unsafe to drive at any speed. Honda just shrugs it shoulders…..more or less live with it. Sorry but if I am in an accident and it is caused by this system scaring me into another vehicle or being hit from behind I will have an attorney before the police are called. I’m sick of bringing it back to the dealer and them making a mockery of me. This is a 2018 Honda Accord Touring and it is just plagued with electrical problems. I purchased this car off of the showroom floor 1/2/19. This car is nothing but a very expensive lemon that I’m afraid to drive.

  • Jenny

    Had bout a 2018 Honda Accord in May of 2019, brand new only 17 miles on it. On 8/25, I was approaching a train track, about 50 feet away and had already slowed to about 30 mph. The brake light on the dash blinked and the brakes were applied automatically and I came to a fast halt. It took a couple of seconds for the car to allow me to apply the gas.

    There needs to be a recall issued by Honda. What if I had been going 70+ mph on a freeway? There would have been injuries, potential damage, and/or possible fatalities. This function scared me so much that I just traded it in today for a different make and model. For as much as this car was priced, Honda needs to make sure it’s road ready before they release all these “safety features.”

  • Aquinas Q

    2018 Honda Accord Touring electronic gear shifter sounds like I am driving a 57 Chevy. Hard shift from one gear to another, the radio has decided to shut off several times and the only way to get it back working is to turn the car completely off, if I am using the Car play and I scroll on my phone the air condition speed changes or the radio turns off, inspite of the new transmission the car still changes gears rough and at weird intervals, the car has halted when it sensed a collision however no car was near. Sad to say I purchased the worst HONDA on the Market!

  • Sharhonda R

    2018 Honda Accord sport battery problems battery replaced under warranty ,molding problems dealership ordered new moldings moldings still defected back up camera problem replace under warranty,battery leaking with loud smell new problem.Im over it .Purchased the car new 7miles 26,247

  • Dinesh

    I have similar issue on my 2018 Accord I purchased brand new from Dealer , the oil control valve apparently got faulty that messed up the entire computer system on the car. None the computer controls work – TPMS, Lane departure warning, ABS , etc etc..Pretty much like a car with no computer controls. The dealer has agreed to fix this issue for free. I need to wait and watch how this goes .

  • Daniel R

    I have had similar problems with my toyota camry braking when a car beside me turning .

  • YULI E

    Honda 2018 Sport T2.0 Emergency break system defected!
    I purchased my cars about 4 months ago and noticed some issues as soon as I left the dealership.
    First there’s no Mileage digital speedometer, only kilometer. As soon as you switch to miles it disappears.
    Second, the car play system often times resets itself while in driving mode , also happens a lot when gear is shifted.
    Third, lane sensor system is completely defected as well and cannot be trusted for a second, the worst is the car pool lane, in California is a yellow lane and the car automatically pulls towards it. it obviously cannot detect yellow lines.
    Today something new happened and completely changed the game for me :
    THE CAR EMERGENCY BREAKS WERE ACTIVATED BY NOTHING OUT OF NOWHERE WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON 90 MPH !!!!!!! ALL MY STUFF WERE THROWN FROM THE BACK SEAT TO THE FRONT AND I GOT SERIOUSLY INJURED BY THE SEAT-BELT THAT WAS PUSHED AGAINST ME! LET ME MAKE IT CLEAR…THERE WERE ZERO CARS BEFORE ME OR AROUND ME ! THANK GOD FOR NO CARS BEHIND ME OR THIS CITATION COULD HAVE ENDED DIFFERENTLY. I drove the car to the dealership and left the keys over there till they figure it our or give me a different car. I’m scared to go back driving it.

  • philip C

    Yesterday morning went out to get into the car and all the windows were down completely and the trunk was open. Trunk has opened about four other times and the ‘check tire light’ won’t go off after checking the tires. Computer system must be questionable?

  • Sandra

    I purchased 2018 Accord Nov 2017. Feb 2018 at approximately 4400 miles speedometer would drop intermittently from high rate of speed down to zero. Dealer found problem after two attempts. Today Mar 14, 2019 at 27,235 miles I have 8 system warnings. Hill Start Assist, Emmission System, Brake System, ACC, Collision, Road Departure, Electric Power Steering, and Vehicle Stability Assist. As a single woman I am really concerned about future problems with this relatively new car and I’m about 8,000 miles from the Warranty ending. I’m very disappointed in my purchase. I researched prior to purchasing and thought I was getting a reliable car.

  • Jean

    Noise, rattles, sounds like an old car! Took dash out and it is worse, they say no fix yet from engineers, so I am stick with a new 201 Accord that is like an old car, now 9,000 miles battery dead for no reason. Owned 6 Honda accords before, all new with only 1 major problem and recall of spark plugs and engine.
    They are turning out terrible cars now, no more Honda for me!

  • Johan

    I have slipping transmission problems with (newly bought) Honda Accord 2018.

  • Mike

    I have had problems with my Accord having rattling sound on the left side of the driver. This is a “common” problem. I tried to get Hinda America involved but they ignored my request to replace the vehicle (a brand new out of the dealer). I owned Hondas for 30 years. I will NEVER buy one ever. A COMPANY IN A DECLINE

  • Crystal R

    I purchased a 2018 Honda Accord with 7000 miles. I brought it in because there was a strange noice coming from the mirror, the gas door wouldn’t open and there was rattiling coming from the bottom of the vehicle. My car has been in the stop for 4 days and they still can’t figure out the issue. Not happy with my purchase, and I’ve owned Honda’s for 10 years.

  • Ruben P

    I have a 2018 Honda touring: already had a check engine light issue ,car was there for three days while they did the repair, problem with tire sensor reading low took it back twice then they changed the tire. Now I have my sensing unit not working I have to take it back to Honda this is the second time this has happened. This is a brand new vehicle why am I having all these problems. What’s gonna happen once the warranty expires. It’s gonna cost me a fortune everytime this issue happens. With these issue how do I even know if my airbags will work if God for bid I get into an accident. NOT HAPPY WITH VEHICLE!!!

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.