2018 Jeep Renegade Top Complaints and Problems – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Steering, electrical, brake, transmission and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

The 2018 Jeep Renegade is a compact SUV designed to appeal to the off-road market. The iconic styling caused many owners to fall in love, but they ended up disappointed with the mechanics of it. Instead of an “Amplified Adventure” as the automaker promised, many drivers find themselves visiting the shop for repairs. From an engine that guzzles oil to faulty brakes, there’s a lot that goes wrong with this SUV model.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

Engine

The reliability of a vehicle depends on how strong the engine is. When a motor doesn’t perform the way it should, it’s impossible for the drive to be as expected. With the 2018 Jeep Renegade, users continually find issues where the engine goes through oil faster than it should.

Here’s what one user wrote on Edmunds about the situation. “I have owned this Jeep Renegade for three months and 4200 miles. Two days ago it stalled out on the three times. I called the dealerships service department because no engine light came on. They said there have been problems and to heck my oil. The dip stick was dry! It has already burned through 5+ quarts!! I have been driving with less than one quart of oil!!!! I am beyond shocked! Why did no low oil dash light come on? This is a major issue! I am reading other complaints, so it isn’t just mine! Now trying to go through the lemon law is going to be a real nightmare! Something needs to be done!”

While FCA hasn’t issued any information regarding this problem, it’s vital to note that many engines were recalled because of another problem. In fact, NHTSA Campaign Number 18V731000 tells us that over 21,000 models with the 2.4L engine were recalled due to a manufacturing error in the fuel pump assembly. When exposed to high ambient temperatures or altitude, the vehicle might lose fuel pressure. To fix it, the technicians must replace the fuel pump. While this wouldn’t cause the Jeeps to use excessive oil, it’s just another example of how the SUV doesn’t allow for an amplified adventure after all.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Jeep Renegade Engine Problems

I HAD PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2018 JEEP RENEGADE TRAILHAWK AND BEFORE IT HAD EVEN REACHED THE APPROPRIATE MILEAGE TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR ITS FIRST STANDARD SERVICE, I HAD DISCOVERED THE ENGINE WAS BURNING AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL. THE VECHILE HAS STALLED ON ME BEFORE WHILE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION AND WHILST DRIVING ON BUSY HIGHWAYS. I HAVE MADE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND MADE ATTEMPTS TO HAVE THE ISSUE CORRECTED (OIL CONSUMPTION TEST, REPLACING THE PCV VALVE) AND YET THE ISSUE STILL EXISTS. JEEP STAFF MEMBERS THROUGH THE DEALERSHIP ALONG WITH MEMBERS FROM JEEP HEADQUARTERS KEEP ATTEMPTING TO INFORM ME “IT’S NORMAL, JUST KEEP PUTTING OIL IN IT..” I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH THIS RESPONSE. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. IT IS NOT ONLY HAZARDOUS TO MYSELF AS THE DRIVER, BUT ALSO THE PUBLIC WHEN THE CAR DOES STALL.

ONE MONTH AGO MY CAR STALLED AS I ACCELERATED TO NO ONE INTO TRAFFIC. THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON AND I WAS DIRECTED TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK, PUT ON THE BRAKE AND RESTART.

ENINGE BETWEEN 2 OIL CHANGES HAS USED 9 QUARTS OF OIL, HAS A HIGH CONSUMPTION OF OIL. HAS 9300 MILES, THIS SECOND TIME I’VE NOTICED THE ENGINE COMPLETELY OUT OF OIL WAS 4000 MILES AFTER OIL CHANGE.

Electrical

Moving onto to something less severe are complaints about the equipment. It appears the electronics have a mind of their own at times.

Read what one user wrote on the NHTSA website. “Radio/Entertainment center does not power on with automobile – intermittently. After 2-3 minutes of driving the unit powers on. While it is off, all physical controls in the center console (volume, temperature adjustment, etc.) are non-responsive.”

This is more than just a nuisance, but also distracting while attempting to drive. However, more important is the electronic issue that led to a massive recall. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V524000 discusses more than 12,000 vehicles recalled for a faulty voltage regulator. It appears that the PCM has a bad voltage regulator chip, which leads to stalling or no-start conditions. Technicians must replace the PCM to get the Renegade working properly again. At this point, we see the SUV had two recalls for issues that lead to stalling and the inability to start – so much for an adventure.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Jeep Renegade Electrical Problems

I PURCHASED MY 2018 JEEP RENEGADE MAY 29, 2018 ON DECEMBER 9, 2018 IN THE EARLY MORNING MY VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. LUCKILY ME AND MY TWO YOUNG SONS WERE NOT IN THE VEHICLE WHEN THE FIRE IGNITED. THE FIRE ENDED UP SMOLDERING FROM LACK OF OXYGEN BECAUSE MY WINDOWS AND DOORS WERE SHUT AN LOCKED. I CONTACTED THE CHRYSLER MANUFACTURE AND AN INVESTIGATION IS BEING DONE. THE FIREMAN THAT CAME SAID IT LOOKS LIKE AN ELECTRICAL FIRE DUE TO FAULTY WIRING.

RADIO / ENTERTAINMENT CENTER DOES NOT POWER ON WITH AUTOMOBILE – INTERMITTENTLY. AFTER 2-3 MINUTES OF DRIVING THE UNIT POWERS ON. WHILE IT IS OFF, ALL PHYSICAL CONTROLS IN THE CENTER CONSOLE (VOLUME, TEMPERATURE ADJUSTMENT, ETC.) ARE NON-RESPONSIVE.

2018 JEEP RENEGADE THAT IS ONLY 8 MONTHS OLD WAS PARKED ALONG A STREET IN BLACKSBURG, VA AT NIGHT. THE CAR HAD BEEN PARKED FOR AT LEAST 1 HOUR, MAYBE A BIT LONGER. IT CAUGHT FIRE ON 11/9/18 WHILE OUR SON WAS INSIDE HIS FRIEND’S APARTMENT. SOMEONE NOTICED IT AND ALERTED HIM. THE SMOKE FROM THE FIRE WAS BLACK AND HAD THE SMELL OF AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. CAR WAS TOWED TO A DEALER IN CHRISTIANSBURG, VA WHERE IT IS NOW. THE DEALER IS SAYING THE FIRE PROBABLY STARTED FROM LEAVES IN THE UNDERCARRIAGE IN THE ARE WHERE THE MANIFOLD MEETS THE EXHAUST THEN TRAVELED TO THE UNDERHOOD AREA. THEY ARE REFUSING A WARRANTY OR SAFETY REPAIR.

Powertrain

The powertrain of a vehicle is responsible for transferring the power from the engine to the wheels. It’s what makes the car go. When it fails or doesn’t work correctly, it’s challenging to go anywhere.

One owner wrote this on Edmunds, “My transmission has gone down TWICE, stalling my Renegade in the middle of heavy traffic. Total safety hazard!! First time, 6 days after purchase with 108 miles on it. 2nd time with 210 miles on it.   It’s been at the dealer more than I’ve had it!!!”

Clearly, this owner is disappointed in the Renegade. Sadly, FCA remains quiet regarding transmission trouble. All they’ve discussed regarding the powertrain are some PCM updates. One was to correct an issue with Sport mode while another repaired a faulty MIL. This third communication, Manufacturer Communication Number 21-027-19 does briefly discuss a Service Transmission light when the car is in neutral with the vehicle stopped. It appears that Jeep can’t get this SUV to stop stalling, whether it’s related to the engine or the transmission. At least the vehicle knows it doesn’t want to run; it just isn’t confident what system should fail first.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Jeep Renegade Transmission Problems

PURCHASED NEW ON 3/19/19. ON 3/25/19, WITH 108 MILES ON IT, THE TRANSMISSION LOCKED UP WHILE IN MOTION, IN TRAFFIC ON A VERY BUSY HIGHWAY. WAS TOWED TO DEALER, WHO 8 DAYS LATER SAID TRANSMISSION MODULE WAS FAULTY, REPLACED, RETURNED TO ME 4/1/19. 4/6/19 SAME SCENARIO REPEATED, HOWEVER THIS TIME IN A PARKING LOT. AGAIN TOWED TO DEALER. THE FIRST TIME AN EXTREMELY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE! I STRONGLY SUGGEST A RECALL!!

I PURCHASED THE CAR LESS THAN 2 MONTHS AGO AND IT SEEMS THAT THE FIRST FOUR GEARS SOMETIMES MAKES THE CAR LUNGE WHEN THEY SHIFT UP. I CONTACTED THE JEEP DEALER I BOUGHT IT FROM AND I WAS INFORMED THEY COULDN’T DO ANYTHING BECAUSE THERE WEREN’T ANY WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASH SHOWING UP. IT HAPPENS SOMETIMES WHEN IM ACCELERATING BOTH FAST AND SLOW.

Service Brakes

Just in case the engine does decide to work, it’s helpful to have brakes that stop the vehicle. Unfortunately, that seems to be a problem as well.

Just read this complaint issued with the NHTSA. “The contact owns a 2018 Jeep Renegade. The contact stated that the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard several times when the brake pedal was depressed. There was no warning indicator illuminated. While on an incline, the vehicle rolled in reverse while the brake pedal was applied. The contact was concerned that the failure could result in a crash. In addition, the vent control function failed to operate properly to emit warm air.”

There’s no communication from the company regarding this problem or any other brake concerns. Until they decide to address it, you need to expect that the vehicle might not stop properly – that is, if it ever gets going in the first place.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Jeep Renegade Brake Problems

RED PARKING BRAKE LIGHT AND YELLOW BRAKE LIGHT COMES ON WITH SOME LOUD ANNOYING BEEPS AS YOUR DRIVING. THE ATTACHED PHOTO IS AFTER I PULLED OVER TO TAKE A PICTURE AND THE OTHER LIGHTS HAD WENT OFF. THE FIRST INCIDENT OCCURT LESS THAN A MONTH AFTER I PURCHASED IT. WHEN I CONTACTED THE DEALER I WAS TOLD TO “NOT WORRY ABOUT IT, IT WAS JUST AN ODDITY”. IT HAS SINCE HAPPENED A FEW OTHER TIMES. WHEN TAKING IT BACK TO THE DEALER I’M TOLD THEY CAN’T REPLICATE THE ISSUE, THERE’S NO CODES, REPORTS OR RECALLS. THE OTHER PHOTO IS SAME SITUATION BUT AS YOU SEE ONE HAPPENED AT -4 AND THE OTHER INSTANCE WAS AT 81. LOUD ENGINE NOISE. FUEL PUMP AT GAS STATION KICKS OF EVERY FEW SECONDS NO MATTER HOW LONG YOU WAIT TO INSERT THE NOZZLE OR WHAT ANGLE ITS AT. WAS TOLD BY DEALER ALL ISSUES ARE BECAUSE OF TEMPERATURE. ALL ISSUES HAVE OCCURRED IN TEMPERATURES RANGING FROM -3 TO 81 DEGREES. SO APPARENTLY JEEP’S SWEET SPOT IS WELL…I DON’T KNOW…SOMEWHERE THAT DOESN’T EXIST. CAR HAS 10,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE FILED A CLAIM WITH MOPAR WARRANTY. I AM SCARED TO DRIVE MY NEW CAR. IT HAS ALL COME COMPLETE WITH A CAR PAYMENT AND BONUS TRIPS TO THE DEALER..

RENEGADE MANUAL TRANSMISSION. ELECTRONIC PARKING BREAK HAS ISSUES DISENGAGING. SHOWS IT’S TURNED OFF BUT AFTER TRAVELING A LITTLE WHILE THE LIGHT COMES BACK ON. I’D YOU WANT TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS THEY CHARGE YOU FOR INSPECTION. IF THERE’S SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE BREAKS THAT ISN’T COVERED BY WARRANTY YOU HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. COME ON CHRYSLER… REALLY MY NEW CAR MAY NEED BRAKES AT 6700 MILES. WHAT’S THAT SAY ABOUT THE QUALITY OF YOU PRODUCT?

Steering

In between the moments when a driver tries to get the Jeep to run and stop, there are those vital moments when steering is necessary. Still, there are issues with this function as well.

Read what one user wrote on the NHTSA website, “The vehicle was traveling straight at approximately 45mph on a local road in Pensacola, FL. The power steering locked the steering wheel in place and it was very, very hard to move. The hill assist needs service light appeared along with the traction control light. The vehicle was very difficult to turn and came to a stop near the shoulder after pulling hard the wheel. Turned off the car then restarted. No warning lights and drove as normal to my house.”

What a scary situation this driver was in. Surely, you would think that the automaker would want to discuss this malfunction, but they remain quiet yet again. It’s always possible that this person experienced a stalling engine and didn’t realize it. That might have caused the loss of power steering as well. Without more guidance from FCA, it’s difficult to figure out the root problem. All we know at this point is that everything that could go wrong with this model, does. It’s like Murphy’s Law for Jeeps.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Jeep Renegade Steering Problems

THE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING STRAIGHT AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH ON STATE ROUTE 31 IN LAKEPORT, NY. THE POWER STEERING LOCKED THE STEERING WHEEL IN PLACE AND IT WAS IMMOVEABLE. THE HILL ASSIST NEEDS SERVICE LIGHT APPEARED ALONG WITH THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO TURN AND CAME TO A STOP NEAR THE SHOULDER AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO PULL THE WHEEL.

THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN APPROXIMATELY 7 DAYS WHEN I HAVE STARTED THE VEHICLE TO LEAVE AND THE POWER STEERING ERROR WILL DISPLAY AND I HAVE 0 POWER STEERING! I DRIVE THIS DAILY ON THE INTERSTATE WITH MY CHILD AND I READ A FORUM WHERE SOME PEOPLE LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING, THIS IS NOT AN OPTION OR A RISK I AM WILLING TO TAKE.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work aid your lemon at no cost to you. The law makes Jeep pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.