Asset Recovery Associates ARA Inc Collection Complaints. Stop the calls

Many consumers bring up complaints about harassing collection calls

Asset Recovery Associates (aka ARA Inc.) is a debt collection agency. Many consumers call Lemberg Law to complain about ARA Inc debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might calling, and how you can stop them.

What is Asset Recovery Associates – ARA Inc?

Asset Recovery Associates or ARA was founded in 2003 and is based in Lombard, Illinois. The organization, which also goes by the name of Financial Credit Service, is both a debt buyer and a debt collection agency. As a debt buyer, it buys debt from banks and credit card companies at a fraction of face value, and then pursues payment from customers on the full dollar amount of their debt.

Since the company buys debt, it collects on its own behalf rather than on behalf of the company that issued the debt. Nevertheless, they still must abide by the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

Have questions? Call us now at 844-685-9200 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Asset Recovery Associates or ARA Inc. a scam?

Asset Recovery Associates or ARA Inc is a legitimate debt collection agency based launched in 2003, and is a debt buyer specializing in old credit card debt. The company buys debt that has already gone through in-house collections and two or more other collection agencies.

If you’ve suffered from ARA harassment, you do have options. Remember, under the law you can recover up to $1,000 for violations of the FDCPA, and $500 to $1,500 for each cell phone robocall.

How many Complaints are there against Asset Recovery Associates – ARA Inc?

As of April 2017, the Better Business Bureau reported 163 closed Asset Recovery Associates complaints over the previous three years, including 50 closed Asset Recovery Associates complaints over the past 12 months. The BBB gives Asset Recovery Associates an F rating. Additionally, Justia lists seven ARA Inc complaints filed in federal court in the past year alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Moreover, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) lists 125 closed Asset Recovery Associates complaints for 2016. An article from 2010 says that ARA Inc. is “bad news.”

ARA Inc Contact Information

Asset Recovery Associates
1919 S. Lombard Street, Suite 225A
Lombard, IL 60148
Phone Number: 800-706-3401
Website: http://www.arainc.us/

Can Asset Recovery Associates Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to threaten to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely ARA Inc would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Click 844-685-9200 ☎ NOW to call us or go ahead and fill out our Contact Form. Our services are absolutely FREE to you

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Asset Recovery Associates – ARA Inc?

Absolutely. Here are some sample cases filed in Federal Court

In 2016, a judge in U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Michigan, granted Asset Recovery Associates’ motion to vacate a default judgment in Munger v. Financial Credit Service for alleged violations of state and federal consumer credit provisions. According to the judge’s conclusion, there was a mix-up involving ARA and its legal representative that prevented the debt collection agency from receiving notification of the class action lawsuit and reacting in a timely way. The judge ruled that the default decision could be put aside “for good cause,” thus shifting the class action case back in the court system.

Asset Recovery Associates ARA Calling You?

Understand your debt collection rights

If you’re being bothered by debt collectors, it’s important to bear in mind that you have rights. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) is a law mandating that debt collectors behave in certain ways to protect you from harassment and from the release of personal financial information. One part of the law states that debt collectors aren’t permitted to contact you in a place or time that they know to be inconvenient. Consequently, if a debt collector attempts to phone you at work and you let them know that you’re not permitted to take calls at work, they need to to stop calling you there. Debt collectors are also not permitted to dislcose information regarding your debt to anyone else, and are generally only permitted to speak with third parties in an attempt to discover how to contact you. Once they have your contact information, they’re not permitted to speak to your friends, relatives, neighbors, or coworkers.

If a debt collector violates the provisions of the FDCPA, you could have the ability to recover statutory damages up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

You May Be Getting Calls From These Numbers

  • 6305995060
  • 8884095060
  • 6305995081
  • 6303968575
  • 8552029043
  • 6305761583
  • 6302826753
  • 6302831839

Want to Stop Debt Collection Harassment Now?

Your debt harassment checklist:

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are recieving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

If you’ve been harassed by debt collectors and even one of these has happened to you, we can help. We will fight for your rights.

We can make them STOP!✋

The Lemberg Law legal team is committed to holding debt collectors accountable, so complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call 844-685-9200 NOW.

What Our Clients are Saying

“We are writing to express our sincere thanks and to convey how very happy we’ve been, from first contact, together with the services offered by your firm — specifically by the lawyer who handled our situation, Vlad Hirnyk.”

“Know that you, Vlad, and your company did a fantastic thing. You took on a huge company for small people and righted a wrong. For this we are thankful.”

“I used to get up to 15 calls a week from several collection agencies. It got so bad I felt like I should just get a new phone number to make it quit. Happily, I discovered Lemberg Law. They immediately put an end to the calls. Now, when my phone rings I do not dread it.”

Can You Help Me Delete Asset Recovery Associates ARA Inc from My Credit Report?

Odds are good that we can help. Contact us now and we’ll clarify.

Sound Off!

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

19 COMMENTS
  • Lolita M.

    I received a call today (8-17-17 @ 11:40am) from ARA under the guise of collecting a debt from a car dealership. I purchased a car from Hayward Toyota in 1995; paid the car off in 6 years (which they didn’t even finance). Traded that car in for another in 2012 (I have a copy of pink slip).
    Now, in 2017, ARA claims that Hayward Toyota via National Bank of Alaska, says that I owed them originally $1500 which has accrued interest of $1951.23 totaling $3451.23.
    I am simply appalled that after 22 years I’m being hit with this. Why didn’t this appear after the original car was sold? Why haven’t I received anything from the IRS? Why haven’t I received anything in mail attempting to satisfy this debt? Too many questions!
    This leads me to believe that this is somehow a SCAM!
    They had all of my information & was even offering me to pay the debt with my Target card; how dare they? She also threatened that if this wasn’t remitted, I’d never be able to establish credit again because this would be reported to all of the credit bureaus. After a while of negotiating, the rep accepted a payment plan of $100/mo from my account via my debit card (which I will cancel ASAP) for the original amount.
    I have since spoken to a legal professional who has advised me not to pay anything until I receive a validation of debt, which I will request in the morning.

  • LISA

    ARA SET UP A PAYMENT PLAN FOR ME TO PAY OFF A COLLECTION IN 2000. I AGREED, THEN ASKED MY BANK TO STOP PAYMENT, SINCE THEY REALIZED I STOPPED THE ACH PAYMENT ON A DEBT THAT WAS OVER 17 YEARS OLD, THEY NOTED THE ACH PAYMENT WAS DECLINED FROM MY BANK THAT PUT IT THROUGH AS A CHECK PAYMENT. I WENT TO MY BANK TO RECOVER THE MONEY I ASKED NOT TO BE PAID TO ARA, THEY HAD ME FILL OUT A FRAUD PAPER AGAINST THEM !!!

  • Jeffrey

    I received a call from ARA Monday 10/2/2017. They told me they were calling me on behalf of Wells Fargo for a credit card debt that was from 1998 and that I owed $16850.00. I thought that was ridiculous because I never had a credit card until a year ago. Never had the need for one. I let this scum bag go through his whole story telling me about bank audits and how they were going to sue me on behalf of Wells Fargo for the full amount if I didn’t agree to pay 10% of the debt today. Now I’m not stupid so I decided to give it back to him by saying “maybe your right” here’s my CC info and you can run it for the 10% of $1685.00. I proceeded to give this guy fake CC numbers. This guy was so thirsty he let me do that 6 times before he realized I was #?*!ing with him. They hate it when you turn it around on them. These guys are not even collecting on real debts. I don’t know how they are still in business. I turned them into the Fedral Trade Commission and the BBB. I also filed a police report in my home town and called the Lombard Illinois police Dept. Don’t let these scum bags fool you. They can’t get anything from you legally. If they put something on your credit report sign up with credit karma and dispute it on your own and it will disappear. Don’t forget to tell these people that they are a bunch of lying scum bags every time they call.

  • Tammy Hugi

    I just received a phone call from this company ARA Associates reference a Spirit bill for over $3,000. They had my social security number and stated I owed this amount. I told the agent I don’t remember ever having Sprint as a phone company. I told him I’ve lived in this town for almost 20 years and I’ve never used them here. He said there had already been Sprint investigators and agents that confirmed this was my account and I was responsible. I asked him to send me s copy of the affidavit and he said it was just a piece of poster signed by Spirit. I asked him if he wanted my address to send this and he began irritated. I asked for the apparent of service several times and he got mad at me. He started yelling at me and told me I was stalling when I asked what the name of the company was. He told me ARA Associates. Then I asked what the initials stood for and that really set him off. I asked him to stop yelling at me and then told him he needed to take it down a step or two. He yelled some more stuff about me being a “3” (whatever that means) and then hung up.

  • john miller

    I am getting harassed by this ara company

  • Carlene ( Smart) Coney Janzen

    Got a call from Asset Recovery Associates ( had to ask three times because at first they said they were with “First National Bank” about a First Card Visa account, they asked for my ex husband and I was shocked and said we divorced in 1993!! Then they said well, you have this account that was opened in 1984 and defaulted in 1998 ( I was clueless, I mean this is 2017!) they went on and on, and I said I have no clue, and the statute of limitations here is 6 years..they said it’s been renewed and was last tried to collect in 2005-2006. I stated I’m sorry, first I’m disabled, next that’s still 11-12 years ago. I went on back and forth ( because my now husband has tried to help me re-establish a credit record, but the bills are paid from his income for current bills) they threatened that the account his has with Barclay would be notified because I’m an secondary, or authorized user on the account because my husband is dyslexic and paper work is difficult for him as are numbers at times. I argued it was not right to punish him for something that did or did not happen in the 80’s and 90’s that I did not even recall using, let alone he had nothing to do with it. They said the remaining credit he has will be taken away by Barclay when they get notified. With an income loss as well as both of us having additional health issues, I told them we have been seeking advice from an Attorney that specializes in credit and debt problems and that he told us to not close out any accounts yet until he got things set up for us and we determine the best way to handle the debts we have now that we have only my husbands SSDI and my 100.00 SSI, which the lawyer said couldn’t be attached. The “Associate” kept putting me on hold and offering me a “settlement of half, since it wasn’t fair to pay it all since my EX did Bankruptcy in the early 200’s. I still had no clue what this account was and told them so, and they said I should have seen it on my Credit report ( I’m NOT credit savvy, first to admit it!) never got a report to look and when I did it did not show up in any reports that were pulled to rebuild credit. They spoke of having it have to go to court, and that it would ruin all the credit we ‘both” have an affect any future credit, again bringing my husband into it. I missed a medical apt because they said she would call back in 15 mins and didn’t. When I asked for an address she said, so you’re refusing to settle? Any attempt by me to explain we are trying to work on how to best handle the debt we have, both due to an income loss and having to reply on only the Disablity income, was cut off. I mentioned the attorney said the statute of limitations for Maine was 6 years, and had run out for that kind of account, and that they were not the original creditor which made her angry.) Finally she put me on hold ( for the 5th time) and suddenly I was sent to another person with no notice! Was told that he information had been recorded and it would be reported to the credit bureau! IF it WAS a legit account, it would have charged off long ago, and can they really hurt my now husbands credit for something my name was on from a previous marriage..SO very stressful, and I still don’t know what it’s all about or if they will “take it to court” or not.

    • Dan Shan

      > they cannot pursue it. You are correct. The statute of limitations is 6 years. They cannot renew a debt. Just go online and do research. It won’t cost you any money. But most importantly do not give them a dime! They are a scam company. Look them up in the Better Business Bureau. They are a scam company that buys old debts and then calls people trying to scare them into paying them. By law, they cannot collect if the debt is more than 6 years old!

  • Robert

    I received a letter from ARA Inc. Stating they have obtained my account from Sprint Ltd Home Phone bill. They want entire payment within 30 days of the letter. Here’s the funny thing, I have never had an Sprint acct. Of any kind and my entire family has cell phones from another carrier. Lastly the last time we had a land line was in 2005 from a local phone company that was not Sprint. I’m concerned about this false report will hurt my credit.

  • Cynthia Raiter

    This ANR company contacted me saying they represented Chase Bank and that I owed a large sum.
    I said I never had an account with a Chase and they said I had an open account with them from 1993 to 1997. The insisted I did and this was an attempt to collect the debt. I advised they could never call me again the must send everything I writing and that they needed to send me proof of affidavit that I owed the debt ..the person got very nasty and said would call all my existing credit card companies and have them cancelled! That’s illegal. Plus even if they bought this debt from another creditor, they are way beyond the CA statute of limits as well as the Federal. I then hung up on them. Then they sent a bill in the mail for $4800.00! Do I need to contact the with a cease and desist letter?

  • Pissed

    Is it even legal to request such an outrageous amount? They said I owed 1800 from an account 18 years ago and wants 5400 to settle the account. On an account that I never had…

  • Julie Harlock Meeks

    The statute of limitations is different state by state. They called me about a legitimate old bill I defaulted on and it has been over 20 years. The statute of limitations across the board on debt in South Carolina is 3 years. But if you acknowledge that debt in any way to them, it restarts that clock. Be aware of the law and don’t screw yourself like i did! ?

  • Paul Rickett

    ARA Called me 3 times last week back to back. I finally answered. They were immediately rude and began to list MY SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER TO ME, My credit score, current credit card numbers, my employer’s name and threatened me with a civil suit if I did not pay them $13,000 for alleged ‘unpaid balance owed to Montgomery Wards’ . IN CASE YOU DONT KNOW, MONTGOMERY WARDS WENT OUT OF BUSINESS 18 YEARS AGO!!! I was furious. I have never shopped at a Montgomery Wards in my life, my less do I owe them a cent. I thought this was a scam but now I realize it is just an unscrupulous business. I know the SOL is expired but I am extremely unhappy that they have all of my SSN, Credit Cards, Banking, and employer info. I believe their ‘agents’ will freely give that information out and I will be a victim of identity theft eventually. This is so wrong on so many levels. My wife and I are saving to buy a house, we have great credit and no debt. This is the LAST Thing I need to deal with now. It has caused great fear and stress in our lives and I want to Sue them for this until they are NO LONGER IN BUSINESS VICTIMIZING INNOCENT CONSUMERS LIKE ME.

  • Siyanda

    ARA- has the worst customer service ever.

    I have received thee-worst service ever.
    From a lady called “Mrs Willemse”- That is how she represented herself to me.
    Maybe this message is useless but I’m disappointing.

    I have made payment to this ARA establishment since last week Friday but I’m being told that the clearance later will be further delayed.

    Let me search for legal advise on the matter as this is not on.

  • Norma Norwood

    Well, I like so many of the above comments, received a call from ARA. They had me going for a minute but I quickly realized it was a scam. What I am worried about is “How did they get so much private info?” They have my soc. sec. number, my birthday, my parents name, address,etc.etc. How did they get all this info and what are they going to do with it next??

    I kinda think that the credit reporting companies are responsible for letting this information out to unscrupulous people like this. I believe ARA got most of the info from the credit reporting companies. I have said for years that there has to be a different way to get credit reports for people loaning money. The credit companies like experian and the other one are just about as bad of a scam as ARA

  • Melanie Vinglish

    Help!! In Aug 2018 My husband and I kept receiving calls from a number in Missouri. They were relentless!!! Finally, My husband answered it and called me frantic. This person claims that he owes a debt from a credit card in opened in 1995 and that he needs to pay it.. Scared him so bad that he said he would call them back when we got home that evening, because he was at work currently. I told him that was impossible.. I work for the County Sheriff’s Office, and know that in our state of PA the statue of limitation of credit card debt was 6 yrs, And that was 17 YEARS AGO! Fast forward to when we arrived home, My husband calls this number back, Told the person his name and was then in turn, transferred to someone else. My husband told this guy that the Statue of limitations is 6 yrs in PA, and that he didn’t understand why after all this time they were just now contacting him. The man informed my husband that there is NO Statue on debt.. That the credit card that was only for $5,000, Has been accruing since the default.. so the total that this man told him was some OUTRAGEOUS amount, and that we had to pay it in full right then and there. My husband and I literally live paycheck to paycheck, we have no savings, no money put away for a raining day, and certainly no emergency fund! There was NO way we could pay that. Now I am usually a very level headed person, and I like to avoid any kind of conflict, but sitting there listening to my husband trying to talk and getting constantly cut off, really angered me. So I told him to give me the phone.. when I got on, I said Hello, and the guy said who is this. I told him I was the wife, And that we WERE not giving him a dime, until we received something in writing, sent to my home via mail, that proves to me that this was a real company, and that it was LEGAL to come after us after all this time to collect an old credit card debt for that amount of money. He informs me that we were in fact sent papers in the mail that we ignored…WRONG!!! I open every single piece of mail that we get even if I know its junk.. I have NEVER received one thing from these people. He called me a lair pretty much and that people tell him that all the time, cause people are basically to lazy to pay there bills..And that he knows that we just bought a Jeep in April 2018, and if we can afford that, then we can afford to pay this debt. I was applaud!! This man Knew NOTHING about our lives back then, and has no idea what we went through and the struggles we faced and still do.. Yes he had this bill, no we never forgot and his credit suffered for that. Even so, Does not give this man the right to talk to me like that.. He then informs me that if this is not paid, the will contact my mortgage company and put a lean on my home, and garnish his paychecks etc. Now I am starting to worry. This guy know everything.. My info, my husbands info, where we worked, our address so on and so forth. Now he’s threating my home? I then, feeling defeated ask how we resolve this, because I didn’t know much about the law, I only Process warrants. He told me they would settle with us for $1200.00 and we could pay $50.00 a month until its paid off. I asked again to please send me something in the mail for my records that shows this is real, he told me he would or that he can just send me and email with the info as soon as we hung up. I told him that I guess we will do the $50 a month (Even though I really didn’t know how) And he said it would come out at the end of the month of Aug. He said on my bank statement, it will show ARA. Inc. I said ok. I hung up the phone after I gave him all my bank info and checked my email.. NOTHING.. Figured it would take a minute since we just hung up. Never received an email.. Fast forward to the end of Aug.. Made sure I had $50.00 in my account, and it was never taken out.. Now I am really freaking out.. Did I just give all my info to some random Joe Shomo? I am already a victim of Identity theft, (Which I am still trying to make head way with since 2014) Did I just do it to myself this time? So September… I forgot all about the $50.00, and BAM!!! They took it out, and no I am in the hole $85.00 Because now I have and overdraft fee of $35.00..Ugh… So the next month, Oct 2018, I make sure the money is in and they take it out.. Now here is where I really have questions… It is now Nov. 27th 2018. That $50 is to come out on the 30th, I do not have it at all!!! Also, Still to this day, Have NEVER received the email, or anything in the mail about this debt.. I don’t know what to do.. Am I wrong to agree to pay them, did I screw myself and restart said Debt.. or do I go to my bank and request for them to stop payments to this place?? Will they garnish my wage, Put a lean on my home? Sue me.. I am terrified! Please Help asap!!! thank you!

  • Paulina Soungie

    I am getting harassed by ARA.. They have called family members and threaten them with arrest if i dont call them back.. They also have called my job

  • Rose Ayala

    ARA, contacted me in Jan. Of 2018 stating that owe chase bank $5,103.00. Yes, I had a chase visa and master card, which has been more than 10yrs. ago. The staff I talked too was Tammy, she told me that if I don’t pay my balance there will be a legal action against me. She made arrangements for me to pay $210.37 for a year which total out to $2,520. I missed one payment due to a change of my name on my bank account which they automatically take $210.37 for ARA. I paid for the month that I missed, had a conversation with someone as to how to make arrangements for that missed month. I revived a statement from ARA, dated Nov. 21, 2018. Dear SoSo, in reference to our conversation today regarding your Chase Bank account, ARA has agreed to the following statement: Upon reviving your Check, money order, or credit card payment for $210.37 by Dec. 31, 2018 and when this payment clears as paid your account will be settled in full and satisfied. Additionally, ARA will not report any derogatory information to the credit bureau. Alf for any reason this settlement is not met this offer becomes NULL and VOID and the full balance of $5,103.56 will become due. My husband has been getting all’s from them, he hangs up on them. They finall got hold of me and I spoke to Mr. Rivera, he stated once’s again that I owe $5,104.56. He made arrangements for me to make a payment of $1,250.00 and that it should reach them on or before the 15th of Feb. 2019, if not I will owe them the full balance. I also recived the same statement as above,

  • Tina

    I has Ara call me. The man knew my name and s.s. number. He also knew of an old address I had. He stated that I owed for and old credit card debt of $9000 from best buy from 2003. I told him I had no idea what he was talking about and that if it were true, why would I currently have a line of credit with them. He seemed to grow more irritable and told me I had to pay it or else they would take me to court, garnish my wages, and put a lien on my property. I told him that i needed documentation. He started to get very irritated and told me he could send an email, but they are not a mailing service. At that point I’m assuming we were disconnected. He called back and apologized for being disconnected. I also referred to the SOL since it had been 15 years and there is nothing on my credit report. He said that they were not a debt collector, but they do debt acquisitions. Therefore, SOL doesn’t apply. Then, the phone disconnected again. At this point, I was rather suspicious, so when they call again, I told them I want documentation mailed to me through the post office. He was almost yelling at this point and stated again that they were not a mailing service. I told them I’m not doing anything until I research and receive something by mail. At that point they disconnected again. They yet again called back to which I refused to answer. Not sure on what to do.

  • harold S

    My concern is roughly 3 weeks to a month ago I received a call from ARA inc. Stating to.me that I owed money from a credit card debt that was well over 23 yrs ago and when I said that they got real mouthy with me and of course I did care for it to much but we talked the guy name was Samuel! We went on about the matter and he put a Guy named Ron rivers on the phone about wanting settle this debt matter they did even want or try to set up a payment plan but wanted a payment of $175 to get something started told them I didnt have it they said how about 50 and they accepted that off my debt card but they had everything my name,ss number ,date of birth they was threatening to turn me over to credit people make have bad credit also said they was gonna were gonna contact the company I have my truck financed thru! Then they sent me a letter in the mail stating that I owed $4400 but they knocked it down to 1700! Also they gave me the name of a loan company told me to use them one main financial and after the phone call ended cause I was at work tried telling them I cant really talk at work! So i got to looking and doing research about them and i found out that the SOL on credit card debt in Louisiana is 10yrs this was from the early 90s! They continued to call me at least every week I’ve been putting them off but everytime I talk to Sam the other call back like the next day there playing this good cop bad cop routine with me!!

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead can to our legal team.
Phone & email are required but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?