We Help Stop National Credit Adjusters NCA Collections Harassment

How To Put An End to Unwanted Calls and Debt Collector Abuse and Threats.

CALL US NOW FOR >> FREE LEGAL HELP

National Credit Adjusters Or NCA is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is National Credit Adjusters?

National Credit Adjusters , LLC or NCA is a debt purchaser and third-party collection agency based in Kansas. NCA has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA), such as failing to provide written verification of debts and attempting to collect debts not owed. If NCA has contacted you about delinquent collection items, make sure you know your rights before you take action.

Have questions? Call us now at 475-277-1600 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is National Credit Adjusters a scam?

They’re legit. According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), National Credit Adjusters LLC was originally founded in 1959, then incorporated in 2002. The BBB established a profile page for NCA in 1965. The BBB lists National Credit Adjusters as a collection agency that uses the alternate business name, International Homes, which is an affiliated business. Buzzfile estimates NCA’s annual revenue at $20 million and the size of its headquarters staff at 200 employees

According to its website, NCA is “a privately held company [that] has specialized in purchasing and servicing delinquent accounts receivable since 2001.” NCA states that it “bring[s] integrity and the highest standards of compliance to debt servicing; as a result, NCA has become an industry leader.”

Who does National Credit Adjusters collect for?

National Credit Adjusters main focus is handling retail and credit card debt, though they have also been involved in collecting payday loans. NCA’s “primary area of acquisition is consumer installment and online lending.” Thus, National Credit Adjusters specializes in purchasing delinquent installment loans and consumer loans that originate through online transactions. With traditional third-party collection, the collection agency represents the interests of the original creditor. As a debt purchaser, NCA may own the debts they are attempting to collect, making them the new “original creditor” in such cases.

The NCA website does not provide a lot of detailed information about their business practices or collection procedures. NCA states that they stay “current on industry standards through ongoing research, automation, analytics, and process evaluation” and “focus… on strong performance while adhering to compliance standards through constant quality training and employee development.”

NCA is an official member of the International Association of Credit and Collection Professionals (ACA International), but their website does not provide a lot of detailed information about their regulatory compliance policies. The footer of the website includes links to South Carolina licensing agreements, but there are no links or references to consumer protection resources, laws, or enforcement agencies.

If you’ve suffered from NCA debt harassment, you do have options. Under the law you can recover up to $1,000 for violations of the FDCPA, and $500 to $1,500 for each cell phone robocall.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of collection harassment and abuse. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. We’ve helped more than 15,000 consumers stop harassment and recover money from debt collectors. Harassed? Abused? Misled by a collector? Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

How many complaints are there against National Credit Adjusters?

As of February 2020, the BBB has closed 148 complaints against National Credit Adjusters in the past 3 years, with 45 complaints closed in the previous 12 months. Most of those complaints alleged problems with billing and collections, although 46 complaints also cited problems with customer service. Since July 2013, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has closed 1,072 complaints involving NCA. Justia lists at least 20 cases of civil litigation involving NCA.

Contact Information

National Credit Adjusters, LLC
300 N. Madison St.
Hutchinson, KS 67501-4857
Telephone: (800) 286-5427

Website: http://www.ncaks.com/

Can National Credit Adjusters Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to make empty threats to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely NCA would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Get Free BBB A+ Attorney. Call 475-277-1600 NOW

Unlawful Debt Harassment? Learn the Law & Sue the Collector.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against National Credit Adjusters?

Absolutely.  You can sue a debt collector. Here is a Sample Case Filed in Federal Court:

In June 2017, in United States District Court for the Northern District of New York, a judge issued a decision in a case alleging National Credit Adjusters had violated several provisions of the FDCPA. In this case, the plaintiff incurred a debt as a result of obtaining a loan for personal use. Subsequently, the plaintiff fell behind on payments, and at some point, the delinquent debt was assigned to NCA for collection. In its effort to collect the debt, NCA representatives contacted the plaintiff by written correspondence. NCA sent the written correspondence in January 2016, and the plaintiff received the letter in February 2016. The collection letter was determined to have met the definition of “communication” according to the FDCPA. Furthermore, the letter contained language that the plaintiff alleged violated certain provisions of the FDCPA prohibiting the use of “false, deceptive, or misleading representation or means in connection with the collection of any debt.” Specifically, the letter stated that the plaintiff’s “current balance” was $450.42, but it did not state whether the “‘current balance’ could increase due to additional interest or late fees.” In addition, the letter stated that if the plaintiff “did not dispute the balance, he could satisfy the debt by paying $212.44 provided he contacted NCA’s account manager by the end of] February 2016, after which the offer became null and void.”

Section 1692e of the FDCPA states that a collection letter can be considered deceptive if it “can reasonably be read by the least sophisticated consumer to have two or more meanings, one of which is inaccurate…or] if it is reasonably susceptible to an inaccurate reading by the least sophisticated consumer.” In addition, Section 1692e “requires debt collectors, when they notify consumers of their account balance, to disclose whether the balance may increase due to interest and fees.” In this case, the plaintiff asserted that “the least sophisticated consumer could reasonably read NCA’s written correspondence to mean that the ‘current balance’ was static, or that the ‘current balance’ was dynamic due to the continued accumulation of interest and/or late fees.” Debt collectors are also required to provide a validation notice “within five days after the initial communication with a consumer in connection with the collection of any debt,” and are prohibited from using language “‘reasonably susceptible to an inaccurate reading of the required message’ or that] ‘contains language that overshadows or contradicts other language informing a consumer of his or her rights,” as would be included in a validation notice. Based on the language in the letter, the court determined that the letter violated Sections 1692e and 1692g, and that the plaintiff was therefore “entitled to a judgment as to liability.”

Attorneys for National Credit Adjusters failed to answer the plaintiff’s complaint, and they also failed to appear at the June 2017 hearing. The plaintiff requested a default judgment. The court awarded him $1,000 in statutory damages, $2,499 in attorneys’ fees, and $495 in court costs and ordered the case to be closed.

Here are some past Press Releases of cases filed on our clients’ behalf at no fee to them:

December 2, 2015. It’s holiday season, which means many of us will be spending more time with our families. This can be uncomfortable even under the best circumstances. Imagine how stressful it would be if your extended family were privy to your finances? That is what happened to our client.

Like many of us, our client had some debt in collection. Debt collection agency National Credit Adjusters was trying to collect. Instead of keeping her debt information confidential like debt collectors are supposed to do, our client says that  NCA called her mom in order to try to collect on the debt. In the process, NCA disclosed to our client’s mom information about our client taking out a loan. Can you imagine how humiliating that would be?

Our behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed suit in the U.S. District Court, Middle District of North Carolina, against National Credit Adjusters. The suit charges National Credit Adjusters with violating the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by revealing debt information to third parties; by engaging in harassing behavior; and by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt. The debt collectors are also charged with violations of the North Carolina Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (NCFDCPA) by communicating with someone other than the debtor or his or her attorney; and by using a form of communication to convey prohibited personal information which would ordinarily be heard by someone other than the debtor.

National Credit Adjusters is also charged with violating the North Carolina Unfair Trade Practices Act (NCUTPA) because the unfair or deceptive acts occurred in commerce. The suit asks for statutory damages of $1,000 for violations of the FDCPA, and statutory damages of $4,000 for violations of the NCFDCPA, plus other relief.

November 14, 2015. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Wisconsin. The case, against National Credit Adjusters, charges the debt collection agency with violating federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages, plus other relief.

Few people have jobs where they’re allowed to take personal calls. Even if they can take a personal call now and then, it can interfere with their work. That’s why the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act includes a provision saying that debt collectors can’t call you at your workplace if you tell them you can’t take calls at work or it’s inconvenient to take calls at work.

Our client says that NCA called her at work, and that she told them that the calls were inconvenient and prohibited by her employer. Nevertheless, National Credit Adjusters continued to call her at work.

This lawsuit charges that National Credit Adjusters violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by engaging in harassing behavior; by calling at a place and time known to be inconvenient to our client; by contacting our client as her workplace, knowing that her employer prohibited such calls; and by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt.

November 10, 2015. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Northern District of Georgia. The case, against National Credit Adjusters, charges the debt collection agency with violating federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages, plus other relief.

These days, more and more people are working from home. Sometimes folks have an employer and work remotely, and other times they are self-employed. Either way, it’s usually important that the person’s phone line stay available to take work-related calls.

Our client works from home. She says that NCA called her during the day, and that she told the debt collector that she uses her home phone for business and couldn’t accept personal calls before 7:00 at night. How did the NCA debt collector respond? She says that they told her that would continue calling her until the debt was paid.

Our client disputed the debt and requested that the debt collector send her validation of the debt. How did they respond? By threatening to take legal action against her if she didn’t pay. But to this day, they’ve never filed suit against her.

This lawsuit charges that National Credit Adjusters violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by engaging in harassing behavior; by contacting our client at a place and time known to be inconvenient; by using false, deceptive, or misleading representation in connection with the collection of a debt; by threatening to take legal action without actually intending to do so; by employing false and deceptive means to collect a debt; and by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt.

National Credit Adjusters NCA Calling You?

Federal laws protect you. The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).

Consumers have reported this agency harassing them from the following numbers:

  • 813-644-8810
  • 843-614-3658
  • 208-297-7577
  • 267-443-6331
  • 267-443-6349
  • 208-297-7531
  • 620-662-4433
  • 256-285-3665
  • 256-285-3667
  • 256-285-3616
  • 682-267-3977
  • 855-971-2347
  • 720-216-2845
  • 314-930-3933
  • 321-319-3808
  • 620-728-0100
  • 208-297-7531
  • 866-964-5262
  • 281-661-8851
  • 832-941-1951
  • 601-718-1301
  • 239-214-2458
  • 313-202-9574
  • 714-782-0500
  • 404-220-7480

Can I sue NCA for harassment?

Yes. If you want to enforce your rights, or recover money for violations — you need to sue. Federal laws provide individuals like you with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Want to Stop Debt Collection Harassment Now?

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies.
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your family, friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

What Our Clients are Saying

“Thank you, thank you, thank you! I couldn’t be happier with all the hard work your office has done for me. I feel throughout the whole process I was kept informed, and my questions were always answered completely. The calls have stopped, I no longer have a mountain of junk bills piling up, and I owe it all to Lemberg Law.”

“I was so excited when you told me about the positive outcome of the lawsuit. If the need ever arises again, I will not hesitate to call your office or recommend your law services to a friend in need.”

“We are writing to express our sincere thanks and to convey how very pleased we have been, from first contact, with the services provided by your firm – in particular by the attorney who handled our case, Vlad Hirnyk.”

Can You Help Me Delete National Credit Adjusters NCA from My Credit Report?

Chances are good that we can help. Call us today and we’ll explain.

Share your story

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

7 COMMENTS
  • Eddie R

    I have a collection from NCA on my report I looked to pay it off but NCA said it would remain on my credit report even if I paid it is there something I can do to get this deleted after it is paid in full or settled?

  • Melanie

    This collection agency call me today 9/7/18 between 10:50 am to 11:05 am atleast 5x. I answered the first call from a lady who was telling me about this $2176 acct I need to settle with Pioneer valley. She gave me options to settle this acct for a 50% off – 1088.00 for 6 mos and I told her that I cannot afford it, I was asking her if there’s another option or maybe if she can extend it for a longer period of time. And she told me another option where I can pay $50.00 every month but without the 50% off – $2176 and then she transferred me to this gentleman ( which actually not gentle) with a big intimidating voice, he introduced himself as a partner of this Nielsen G.. Assoc and I have this case complaint about a debt and how it came about their office and explained to me that I can settle the acct with 50% off in 2 installments, so I thought where was the options the other lady was telling me about, so I asked him about that and he said that he don’t know why the lady said so and also at the he is her boss and the final decision is with him. The options he said was the 2 mos installments or I can pay every month w/o 50% off. He kept telling me that I refused to pay when I was just discussing payment options with the lady until I heard his big voice on the other line, then he also mentioned about forwarding the case to Elko County for a request to garnished my salary which I told them that It doesn’t have to be that way and he mentioned about this would appear in my personal credit report, so I felt kind’a bad that they were using intimidation and threat so I just told them that I will pay monthly and hung up. After less than a minute or so, they were calling again but I didn’t want to answer their call because I also realized that they may be scammers. Then my phone kept ringing for atleast 4x, the same name NCA LLC. Finally it stop but the same guy left a message, that I was rude and he would send the letter to Elko Cty to garnished my wage. I wished I did not answered their call!

  • amber L

    How do I delete Jared’s (Kays Jewelers) off my credit? National credit adjusters has my caim now

  • Sherry

    Just rec’d a letter today concerning a settlement between nca and Maryland State Collection Agency (msca).
    I was not ever aware of their tactics to sell accounts or that they had, and then sold, an old account alleged to have been in my name, according to msca.
    Msca states that nca has to remove any negative reports and also withdraw the account from credit files. And any judgements have been or will be vacated.
    Has anyone else rec’d this type of notication letter?

  • Terry

    Love Lemberg Law. Jody Burton is the best!

    • Terry

      Yes she is.>

  • laurie w

    The same thing happend to me. National credit adjusters called my mom as well, and gave out the same info.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.