Pioneer Credit Recovery PCR Collections Complaints?

We Stop Unwanted Calls and Debt Collector Harassment.

Pioneer Credit Recovery, Inc or PCR is a debt collection agency which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is Pioneer Credit Recovery – PCR?

Pioneer Credit Recovery or PCR is a third-party collection agency based in New York that specializes in collecting debts for government agencies and student loan providers. PCR has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including improper sharing of information and making false statements. If you have been contacted by PCR,make sure you understand your rights before responding.

Have questions? Call us now at 855-301-6100 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Pioneer Credit Recovery a scam?

They’re legit. There are three notices of government action on the Better Business Bureau’s (BBB) profile page for Pioneer Credit Recovery, Inc. According to the BBB, PCR is a legitimate collection ageny founded in 1985 and incorporated in 2001. The BBB established PCR’s profile page in 1988. PCR is listed as a collection agency and credit service. The BBB lists 11 alternate phone numbers for PCR. Buzzfile estimates PCR’s annual revenue at $77.5 million and the size of its headquarters staff at 1,100 employees.

According to its website, PCR“is a national leader in the collection industry providing collection services on defaulted debt.”Pioneer Credit Recovery is owned by Navient Corporation, a financial corporation that specializes in servicing student loans issued by the federal government. PCR handles “billions in portfolios…and recovers a broad spectrum of debt for all levels of government: from federal agencies, to cities, to hundreds of counties.”

PCR’s “collection methodology utilizes focused and proven skip-tracing, account segmentation and calling strategies on…clients’ portfolios.” PCR’s “sophisticated portfolio analysis strategies, effective negotiation techniques, and… mission alignment” help them collect “the most money for their collection partners in the shortest time possible.”

Pioneer Credit Recovery provides collection services to three major shareholders: federal, state, and city government agencies; delinquent debt accounts for the court system; and tax amnesty. PCR’s government division “is a leading provider of collection services…across the nation and…has a wealth of experience in non-tax government collections.” Their court debt division “offers superior collection performance to county and municipal governments for the collection of court fines and fees.” PCR’s tax amnesty division “has led several tax amnesty efforts by states to increase tax collection.”

PCR’s Quality Control page indicates adherence “to the highest ethical standards” and the use of “multiple layers of accountability and risk management across all departments of the organization.” However, their website does not provide any links or references to consumer protection resources, laws, or enforcement agencies.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of collection harassment and abuse. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. We’ve helped more than 15,000 consumers stop harassment and recover money from debt collectors. Harassed? Abused? Misled by a collector? Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

How many complaints are there against Pioneer Credit Recovery – PCR?

The BBB has posted 3 separate notices of government action against Pioneer Credit Recovery. There is also a statement regarding the U.S. Department of Education’s decision to cancel their contract with PCR due to allegations they “weren’t engaging in fair and straightforward practices in compliance with Federal and State laws.” In addition, the BBB has closed 261 complaints against PCR in the preceding 3 years, with 42 complaints closed in the past 12 months. The majority of these complaints alleged problems with customer service, with 85 of the complaints alleging problems with billing and collections. Since March 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has received 68 complaints about PCR. Justia lists at least 20 cases of civil litigation involving PCR.

Contact Information

Pioneer Credit Recovery, Inc.
26 Edward St.
Arcade, NY 14009
Telephone: (800) 836-2442
Website: http://www.pioneercreditrecovery.com/

Can Pioneer Credit Recovery Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to make empty threats to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely PCR would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Get Free BBB A+ Attorney. Call 855-301-6100 NOW

Unlawful Debt Harassment? Learn the Law & Sue the Collector.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Pioneer Credit Recovery Inc?

Absolutely.  You can sue a debt collector. Here is a Sample Case Filed in Federal Court:

Currently, there are three pending actions of civil litigation against PCR “formally brought by a government agency … that have not yet been resolved.”

Two cases were brought by the State Attorneys General of Illinois and Washington. The third case was brought by the CFPB on behalf of the federal government. In January 2017, the Illinois Attorney General “filed a lawsuit against Navient Corporation, its subsidiaries Navient Solutions Inc., Pioneer Credit Recovery Inc., and General Revenue Corporation and Sallie Mae Bank, over widespread abuses across all aspects of its business, including student lending, student loan servicing, and student loan debt collection.” Also in January 2017, the Washington State Attorney General filed a lawsuit claiming the “business is in violation of state law prohibiting violations of the Consumer Protection Act, relating to the origination, servicing and collection of student loans. (Those practices included improperly steering financially distressed students toward short-term for bearances, engaging in aggressive and misleading collection tactics, and more.)” In response, PCR alleges all the charges are “unfounded, and that the timing of these lawsuits—at midnight…on the eve of a new administration—reflects their political motivations.”

The third action was filed by the CFPB. In a 66-page indictment, the CFPB has alleged widespread fraud and abuses by Navient and its subsidiaries, including violations of the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA); the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA); and the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA). Charges include allegations that Navient and its subsidiaries routinely steered borrowers to repayment plans they knew would result in higher costs to borrowers; deliberate misadministration of payment processing and repayment program enrollment; deliberate misreporting of credit information to the credit reporting agencies; deliberately misinforming borrowers about credit reporting practices and collection fees; routine payment processing errors; and other deceptive and unfair practices that often resulted in financial gain to Navient and its subsidiaries. PCR posted a response to this action that also denied wrongdoing and accused the CFPB of being motivated by politics.

Details of these complaints, including the entire 66-page indictment from the CFPB, can be found under the Alerts & Actions tab on the profile page for Pioneer Credit Recovery on the BBB website.

Here are some past Press Releases of Lawsuits Brought On By Lemberg Law in Federal Court

October 10, 2015. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Northern District of Georgia. The case, against Pioneer Credit Recovery, charges the debt collection agency with violating federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages, plus other relief.

It can be unnerving to be on the receiving end of collection calls. But when the debt isn’t one that you incurred, having a debt collection company call you is simply wrong. Our client says that PCR started calling his cell phone to try and collect a debt supposedly owed by his wife. More than once, our client explained that he wasn’t responsible for the debt and asked them to stop calling his cell phone. PCR didn’t honor his request, and kept calling anyway.

The lawsuit charges that Pioneer Credit Recovery violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by engaging in harassing behavior; and by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt.

Pioneer Credit Recovery PCR Calling You?

Federal laws protect you. The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).

But here’s the rub: If you want to enforce your rights, or recover money for violations — you need to sue. These laws provide individuals like you with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Consumers have reported this agency harassing them from the following numbers:

  • 317-960-1535
  • 607-304-4461
  • 317-960-1530

Want to Stop Pioneer Credit Recovery PCR Debt Collection Harassment Now?

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies.
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your family, friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

Read more about your rights

What Our Clients are Saying

“The group at Lemberg Law was professional, courteous, and effective. Their grasp of consumer protection laws and guidelines are second to none, and they work extremely difficult to ensure this procedure is client-friendly.”

“After a few months of frustration with a debt collector, I eventually called Lemberg Law. It was among the best financial decisions I have ever made. Jody and her staff were comprehensive, useful, and above all else powerful. I highly recommend their services and thank them for their continual efforts.”

“I just wanted to let you know we received the check from your office on now and I wanted to take some time to inform you that we really appreciate all of your efforts in this matter.”

Can You Help Me Delete Pioneer Credit Recovery PCR from My Credit Report?

Chances are good that we can help.  Call us today and we’ll explain.

Share your story

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

25 COMMENTS
  • Erika H

    Pioneer is contacting my family, my ex husband, my ex boyfriend and calling me multiple times a day. I havent called them back yet because I dont want to inadvertently say something wrong. The exes havent been in my life for 15 and 5 years, respectively. I am not sure what constitutes harassment but this feels like it. Thanks.

  • Mason

    Pioneer credit garnished my wages without notifying me about this happening at all. I had not been served papers or talked to anyone on the phone. Now they are garnishing 15% of my paychecks. I have tried calling them multiple times and have left multiple messages and have not heard anything back from them.

  • Sheila J

    On July 3, 2018, my husband and I were hit head-on during a police chase going after a known felon. We had to be air lifted to the hospital. My husband died of his injuries twelve days later. After extensive rehab, I went home.

    A few weeks ago they started with letters telling me I owed Medicare $10,600.00. The relentless phone calls started shortly after that. They said they know I got a settlement. I did not. The case is ongoing. I called Medicare, who said I didn’t owe them. I called the Tax Dept. Which is where the letter said they came from. Again, no record. As a senior citizen and now a widow, I was freaked out. I have never had to pay Medicare other than my monthly dues. Doctors and hospitals bill me for what Medicare didn’t cover. This was a new one for me.

  • Casey B

    Pioneer Credit Recovery has been not stop calling for weeks. They are calling relatives, place of employment, boyfriend, and myself. They were told not to call place of employment, my boyfriend told them to stop calling. I don’t even know how they are getting these phone numbers from. I don’t know what they are calling in regards to and will not give them the time of day. They call from different numbers. Leaving other friends and family messages stating this message is for (person they called) in regards to me. To me this is beyond harassment and is now stalking.

  • Robert C

    Where do they obtain there information from. And is it legal ?

  • DzRussell

    How did they assume my debt without letting me know. From government. Is this legal? ?
    Why is no one trying to stop them ?

  • Lisa J

    Pioneer credit garnished my wages on my ssd. I never receive anything in the mail or notifications of a debt I thought was taken scare if through my pell grant. I am completely and totally disabled since 2010. I can barely make it in the money I receive. Can you help me.

  • Amy Z

    As of 8/2019 PCR has been harassing me nearly everyday with robocalls from over 30 different numbers that I’ve been able to document for nearly a year. What’s more, PCR keeps harassing me even though I’m in one of their shady 5$-a- month-get-you-out-of-default plans! Spoofing their number and robo calling me non-stop, never leaving a message. I”ve repeatedly said to never robocall me.Before them, GC Services LLC was doing the same, along with calling my employers and elderly parents to harass them about my student loan debt.
    Earlier, I had to file a FTC report against Wells Fargo for compromising mine and thousands of client loan info 3 times (2004-2006–company computers were stolen). Due to the gross negligence of banks and harassing 3rd party collection agencies I’ve refused to give out my banking/personal info. Thus causing my tax refunds to be offset.
    Originally, I was unable to finish my degree due to the economy and an injury that left me unable to drive. I immediate contacted the DOE, but was poorly advised and pushed into program that lasted a few years until the 3rd party collection agencies started harassing me with paperwork anyone could have created on a printer. My tax refunds are being offset to pay these loans, Now they are wanting to garnish my wages. I can’t tell you how much stress and emotional hardship this has caused me as a single parent. I’m nearly killing myself working to keep a roof over our head and hardly seeing my daughter. I don’t know if I have a case? But I’d like some advice/suggestions maybe yet unexplored that an expert could help me with? Thanks so much.

  • Jennifer

    My school loans defaulted because I consolidated my loans and the company was a scam and did nothing to help me. Took 500 dollars from me for nothing and tripled my loan payment. Now I tried working with PRCS and they told me my payment would be 65.00 a month. Now they send me a bill for 157.00 a month and they keep calling me all day long and they take my income tax. I would like to pay back my loans and go back to school to get my RN. I work for the Federal Government and should qualify for a public Forgiveness loan.

  • J W

    PCR has recently garnished my wages for federal loans Im assuming w/o me receiving legal paperwork . I have been receiving multiple calls on my work cell phone not knowing who is calling. Someone called my companies customer service pretending to be a customer , when transferred the call , the person stated they were debt collector and ask for my personal information. I informed her not to call my place of business.
    I never received a certified or UPS letter in the the mail regarding wage garnishment. Just this week I received letter from payroll stating who , amount of debt and 497.33 every two weeks to pay pioneer recovery per the documents received . The only way I know this was happening , my paycheck was lower. So, Im reaching out for assistance to determine if I have a case . Thank you

  • John

    PCR keeps calling my phone about 3-4 times daily and that sometimes is on the low end. Non stop harassment.

  • Kim B

    Pioneer has charged me an extra $687.00 during my agreement to pay back my student loan this is also on top of an extra 1000.00 that was included in my balance. I questioned the extra amount and was told it was part of an agreement I signed when I signed for the student loan. Can someone look into this. I feel like they are ripping me off and there’s nothing I can do about it.

    P

  • A N

    This company has been calling every day for about a month. “607-235-2953 New York Call” leaves robocall messages from “Mrs. Smith”, with no reference number or any other information about the supposed debt. “765-588-5864 Indiana Call” calls all hours, but doesn’t leave a message.
    We have been debt-free for over 13 years, and my college loan was paid in full within a year after I graduated – over 30 years ago!!! So, why does PCR keep calling when they’ve been told repeatedly to stop?

  • Darrell A

    They have already call my job asking for me.They claim, I owe them over $62,000.00.Can they garnish my wages and what can I do-thznks!

  • RALPH R

    mY FAMILY OWES NO DEBT TO ANYONE AT ALL ! WE ARE HARASSED AS MANY AS 10 CALLS A DAY FOR MONTHS NOW FROM THIS PIONEER GROUP, A MRS SMITH SHE SAYS , WE ARE BOTHEREED THAT THIS MIGHT BE A REAL SITUATION??? BUT DO NOT OWE ANYONE THAT WE KNOW OF. OR ANY AGENCY OR ANY THING EVER !!

  • Beth J

    Pioneer Credit Recovery, Inc. is harassing me about school loans that were already paid through wage garnishment four years ago. I have already written them once telling them not to contact me again, but they sent another letter. What can I do to get rid of them for good? Thank you for your response.

  • Janice S

    PCR is threatening to garnish my wages. Says they have a court order but I haven’t seen it. My employer may fire me if they pursue this, idk. In the first place Lindenwood approved me with notsogood credit. My daughter is at least 1/4 to 1/8 American Indian. That should have mattered (17 years ago). I didn’t have any extra money while raising my 4 kids. Now the bill is over $20,000. I am 70 years old and should be retiring, but I can’t. I have very little money to retire on. I’m trying to work as long as I can healthwise. I feel like I should never have been approved in the first place. I wouldn’t have been approved for a credit card or anything else. Can you help me?

  • Terrence T

    PCR states that I owe 17k plus for school loans of 9k. I have paid all my school loans 15 or 20 years ago. They are threatening to garnish 15% of my wages. What can I do.

  • Christina H

    It is despicable that these credit agencies can harass people who have nothing to do with the alleged debt incurred. I have received three voice messages from them for an alleged debt from my mother’s former husband. My mother divorced the man almost 8 years ago. He and I have never lived in the same house together. He does not live with me, has never lived with me. I was an adult living on my own when my mother and he married. The divorce was not amicable. So why should I be harassed because someone who I don’t talk to and want to have nothing to do with allegedly owes money. Unfortunately the law is not enough to stop this agency from harassing others. The agency is cruel and they should learn more humane ways to accomplish their goals.

  • Patricia L

    They are constantly calling my husband and me. I did not list my husband as a contact number. They call me at least 3 or more times a day. I’m sick of it. We are barely eating.

  • Maureen F

    Why are they calling me when I have no debt ??

  • K. B

    They already have begun to garnish my wages, I am a single mom with a 12 year old son and I am barely making ends meet working crazy OT. They put me on a payment plan, for 5 dollars a month telling me that once 5 payments were made then I can suspend the withdrawal. In addition they have already begun to garnish my account for close to 300 dollars every two weeks. The debt is for student loans I once had through Navient. I never received any paperwork regarding a judgement or court date as I had always dealt with Navient directly. I am at risk of losing my apartment, car and will be homeless by the time this all ends and the state of MD is not helping with filing a lawsuit against them. They have contacted my relatives and my workplace numerous times. I am at my wits ends and this has caused me undue stress and hardship.

  • Shannon T

    I have a 24 year old Fed. Student Loan. I’ve been attempting to settle the amount with PCR. They tell me they can only except Principal plus interest. Problem is that 2/3 of principal is collection fee’s. I was willing to even pay almost 95% of this loan but they threaten that their client USA Funds doesn’t have to settle that they will get their money one way or another and have even threatened seizing my Social Security to do so. What are my rights as it relates to the enormous amount of money they have tacked on to my FSA in penalties? If they pass a judgment on me is there a possibility I could get a court to make them wave some of these astronomical fee’s? The loan originally was for $9,300 in 1994. Now they say its in excess of 55K. I’ve offered 51K as a settlement amount but they keep stringing me along. With no end in sight. Please HELP.

  • Sharon

    Pioneer Credit Recovery has been calling people I hardly know and disclosing that I owe a debt (which is true, but they have no business disclosing that information). They called my boss’ secretary, whom I barely know, at home on her landline, and told her that I listed her as a personal reference on a debt. This is a lie & they scared her. I don’t even know her home number and I barely know her. They are trying to collect a student loan that is in collection. I didn’t even know this secretary when I took out student loans. They also contacted my next door neighbor, whom I also barely know and don’t even have their home (landline) phone number. They also lied to them and disclosed information to them similar to my boss’ secretary. As if that wasn’t enough, they also contacted a colleague who does my same job at a different location & disclosed they were attempting to collect a debt. They did all this having my cell phone number and direct line at work. No, I am not talking to them, but this is because I am so emotionally distressed over their behavior described above. I am attempting to get my student loans out of collection without having to speak to them.

  • hakim s

    my issue is with pioneer credit recovery talking to my account. to my son and daughter school. after they found out i was on the bard of directors. the i have email sent me from the secutary in office at head start office which im not employee of head start . they know who im employed by still contact with my personal business including a reference number to my account with them

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.