Portfolio Recovery Associates PRA Collection Complaints?

We help consumers who have complaints about collection harassment.

Portfolio Recovery Associates or PRA Group is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is Portfolio Recovery Associates – PRA Group?

Portfolio Recovery Associates or PRA is a third-party debt collection agency based in Norfolk, Virginia. PRA has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including improper contact or sharing of information and threatening to take actions that cannot legally be taken. If you have been contacted by Portfolio Recovery Associates, make sure you understand your rights before responding.

Have questions? Call us now at 855-301-6100 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Portfolio Recovery Associates a scam?

They’re legit. If you are getting phone calls from Portfolio Recovery Associates and are worried that it is a scam, you should understand that Portfolio Recovery is a legitimate debt collection agency. Also called PRA or PRA Group, the business has over 1,400 employees and is based in Norfolk Virginia. Portfolio Recovery Associates is a debt buyer, meaning that they purchase packages of charged-off debt and then attempt to collect from customers.

Portfolio Recovery Associates has had its own share of run-ins with the government. In 2014, the debt collection agency entered into an agreement with the State of New York, which had billed Portfolio Recovery Associates with violations of various state laws, such as those prohibiting deceptive practices, fraudulent or illegal actions, and threats to take actions which aren’t legal to take. The country also accused Portfolio Recovery Associates of violating the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act by using false, deceptive, or misleading representations when collecting a debt. While Portfolio Recovery Associates didn’t admit to any wrongdoing, they agreed to pay a $300,000 penalty to the nation, and agreed not to sue customers for debts which were beyond the statute of limitations. They also agreed that, when sending written communication about debts to New York customers, they would include the title of the original creditor, the last four digits of the first account number, and the date of the customer’s last payment.

The CFPB accused PRA of robo-signing court records so as to file lawsuits against customers, of threatening to sue customers over time-barred debt, along with other offenses. Portfolio Recovery Associates agreed to pay $8 million in penalties, to refund $19 million dollars to customers, and to stop selling debt portfolios to other businesses, among other states.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of collection harassment and abuse. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. We’ve helped more than 15,000 consumers stop harassment and recover money from debt collectors. Harassed? Abused? Misled by a collector? Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

How many complaints are there against Portfolio Recovery Associates – PRA Group?

As of May 2017, the Better Business Bureau reported 1335 closed Portfolio Recovery Associates complaints over the previous few decades, and Justia recorded hundreds lawsuits filed in federal court in the past year alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. In addition to that, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) recorded 1434 closed PRA complaints for 2016.

Contact Information

Portfolio Recovery Associates
120 Corporate Blvd
Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number: 800-772-1413
Website: http://www.portfoliorecovery.com/

Can Portfolio Recovery Associates Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to make empty threats to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely PRA would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Get Free BBB A+ Attorney. Call 855-301-6100 NOW

Unlawful Debt Harassment? Learn the Law & Sue the Collector.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Portfolio Recovery Associates – PRA?

Absolutely. You can sue a debt collector. Here are some past Press Releases of cases filed on our clients’ behalf at no fee to them:

February 4, 2017On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Western District of Michigan. The case, against Portfolio Recovery Associates , charges the debt collection agency with violating federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages, plus other relief.

Owing a debt is tough. Owing a debt that you can’t pay is worse. Our client says that Portfolio Recovery Associates called him, and that he told the debt collector that he couldn’t pay the debt because his only source of income was Social Security. Portfolio Recovery Associates called him a “deadbeat.” Fast forward five months, and our client says he again spoke to PRA and told the debt collector he wasn’t able to pay the debt. That time, he says that the debt collector said they would continue to call anyway. When our client told Portfolio Recovery Associates that he had hired Lemberg Law, he says that Portfolio Recovery Associates told him he should still pay the debt.

The lawsuit charges that Portfolio Recovery Associates violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by engaging in harassing behavior; by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt; and by using abusive language.

February 2, 2017Owing a debt is bad enough without broadcasting the information to your friends and loved ones. Our client tells us that Portfolio Recovery Associates contacted her fiance in an attempt to collect the debt from her. Portfolio Recovery Associates disclosed that the call was an attempt to collect a debt, and demanded that her fiance make a payment. Needless to say, our client was embarrassed and stressed.

The lawsuit, which was filed in U.S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois, charges that Portfolio Recovery Associates violated the FDCPA by engaging in harassing behavior; by communicating with a third party about the debt, and by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt. The suit asks for $1,000 in statutory damages, plus other relief.

January 30, 2017. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, District of South Carolina. The case, against Portfolio Recovery Associates, charges the debt collection agency with violating federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages, plus other relief.

Imagine trying to explain to a debt collector that you can’t afford to pay the bill. Then imagine them calling your parents’ house and telling them about your debt! That’s what our client says happened when Portfolio Recovery Associates called her and she told them that she was having financial problems and couldn’t repay the debt. She says that PRA kept calling her, and then called her folks and left a voicemail saying that the debt collection agency was trying to reach her in order to collect a debt.

The lawsuit charges that Portfolio Recovery Associates violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by engaging in harassing behavior; by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt; and by telling third parties about the debt.

September 15, 2015. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas, against Portfolio Recovery Associates. Our client alleges that Portfolio Recovery Associates started calling her at work in an attempt to collect a debt. Our client told Portfolio Recovery Associates that it was inconvenient for her to be called at work, and asked Portfolio Recovery Associates not to call her at her work phone number. Nevertheless, Portfolio Recovery Associates called her again at work. In addition, our client told Portfolio Recovery Associates that it was inconvenient for her to receive collection calls on her cell number between 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., and asked them not to call her during that time period. Yet PRA continued to call her during these hours.

The lawsuit charges that Portfolio Recovery Associates violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by contacting our client at a place and time known to be inconvenient; by contacting our client as her workplace after she asked them to stop calling her there; by engaging in harassing behavior; and by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt. In addition, the lawsuit charges that Portfolio Recovery Associates violated the Texas Fair Debt Collection Act by using a phone with the intent to annoy or abuse our client.

Portfolio Recovery Associates PRA Calling You?

Federal laws protect you. The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).

But here’s the rub: If you want to enforce your rights, or recover money for violations — you need to sue. These laws provide individuals like you with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Consumers have reported this agency harassing them from the following numbers:

  • 760-849-4216
  • 469-808-1472
  • 702-637-7273
  • 412-884-4940
  • 404-941-8938
  • 844-675-3407
  • 347-394-2384
  • 347-394-2384
  • 303-255-5348
  • 303-255-5348
  • 800-875-5104
  • 877-803-0008
  • 859-635-4142
  • 321-800-4397
  • 517-252-6783
  • 770-599-7290
  • 954-862-5688
  • 859-305-1791
  • 314-450-8080

Stop Debt Collection Harassment

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies.
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your family, friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

What Our Clients are Saying

“We were so impressed with how the attorney listened to us and understood the position we were in. Thank you for stopping the calls. The check was a nice bonus, but mostly we’re glad we’re not being hounded anymore.”

“Lemberg Law contacted me within a couple of hours of me submitting my info on their site. That same day Daniel emailed me instructions on what to do the next time the collection agency called. Within a week, the calls had stopped. Today marks week 2 and we’ve not had a call in three days. I can’t say thank you enough.”

“I can’t praise your service enough. I was lost and just really wanted my credit report cleaned up. You have gone beyond my expectations. Thanks again!”

These are the types of questions are clients are asking:

Question: I just got I called from this number 469-609-4027 here at work  I asked the reason of the call they said personal matter I replied by saying I can’t accept personal call at work to stop. Can they called me after that?

Answer. Yes, if PRA continues to call, you sue if they continue calling.

Question: Portfolio Recovery seem to have increased my amount owned. Is that illegal?

Answer:  The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act Section 1692f says that debt collector may not collect any amount (including any interest, fee, charge, or expense incidental to the principal obligation) unless such amount is expressly authorized by the agreement creating the debt or permitted by law. So, unless the law allows the increase in the debt or your contract does, this could be violating the law and we might be able to help.

Question: Numerous phone calls and letters from PRA. Now they have sent me a court summons from a debt I am sure is incorrect or beyond 7+ years.

Answer: This could be illegal. If you live in a state where the statute of limitations is shorter than 7 years, then suing you on that debt could be a illegal and PRA could be violating the law.

Question: I have been trying to get PRA to remove 3 accounts that they have been reporting .  They have used unethical collection practices such as reporting false dates, balances, addresses, etc.  Is this illegal?

Answer: The Fair Credit Reporting Act requires collectors to report to credit bureaus truthfully. Any information that is disputed with the Credit Bureaus and cannot be verified within 30 days must be removed. So, if PRA is reporting your debts inaccurately even after you disputed, or if the accounts aren’t marked as DISPUTED, then you might have a case we would help with.

Share your story

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

22 COMMENTS
  • Richard B

    Continued harassment from this portfolio recovery associates ,just went before a motion for default judgement and the judge reversed his decision for me on the response that they never responded to my 14 day civil summons that was issued in may 2019: this is for 1 account with them and have another that I need to get fixed also Thanks

  • Chuck F

    PRA has been harassing mCell Phone, and my FAMILY landline # for 2 YEARS, daily, for 57.00 I owed JC Penny on a 237.00 Purchase, which I paid down to 57.00 on schedule…. (which I am willing to PAY) I never defaulted on this debt…….JC Penny had (for NO REASON) dropped my CREDIT Limit, and began adding unjust INTERSEST to the 57.00……JC Penny went OOB and sold a FAKE 329.00 Debt to the EVIL PRA, who has relentlessly HARASSED our Family for 2 YEARS!!!!!!! I offered to pay my ORIGINAL debt of 57.00……They use PHONY phone #’s/Call DAILY muliple TIMES and at ALL Times! I have sent CEASE and DESIST e-mails to PRA…they INCREASE the calling! I am NOW Filing a Small Claim in my County and Reporting them to the BBB……..I will NOT deal with DEVIL any longer!!! PRA is going to PAY ME now! Until this ROBO Call Debt BUYER is OOB , I will HAUNT them now!

  • Erin

    I dont think I have a case because I refuse to answer these calls. What amazes me, though, is how many numbers they call from. I have blocked at least 10-15 numbers by now and they just come up with a new one every damn day. Even on weekends. Arent they supposed to be based in one place? How are they calling from so many numbers? I am so tired of having to have my ringer off because these clowns are constantly calling, every day at random times. I am sick on ssi right now, so whatever they are calling about, if it’s for me, I would not be able to pay right now anyway. I have been threatened by this sort of people before and fear if I answer the calls will just get worse.

  • Ross A

    I got a call from PRA about my girlfriend’s debt on Friday, July 12. As we are not married, I feel pretty safe in assuming there is no reason why I should be getting contacted about her finances or that they should even be looking for my information in the first place.

  • James W

    My son owes money to J C penny’s he gave them my phone number and address now I am being harassed

  • Eric N

    https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2470502253002388&id=100001279138818&sfnsn=mo

    They called me on an out-of-stat debt and tried to play me. They didn’t get very far. I made the above video public oh, so you should be able to watch it without a problem.

  • Todd A

    This collection agency deleted my number on 5-1-2018! How many times do they have to be told this!

  • Julie P

    Since 8:19am this morning Phone calls from
    951-234-8196 -8:19am
    ” ” 9:35am
    ” ” 3:52pm
    213-281-9711 5:00pm
    213-281-9711 5:03pm
    This is just a few calls for today normally I get called almost 10 times a day.
    I called and asked to be removed from the call list but first they wanted an address and I kindly said no… This is for a debt that happened to be 8 years old. They have not listed this on my credit report.

  • Ronald L

    I was contacted by email because of legislation in NY against robotics calls. I’ve blocked all numbers from Portfolio Recovery Associates that I could as well as Diversified Consultants and Midland Credit Management. I’ve changed my number at least 4 times due to an IDIRECT threat to sue me for a debt I don’t owe that I dispute actively. I’m called by spoofing while at work. I was once called by an agency using my local hospitals maternity ward number. I can’t afford any debts due to cost of living and the Obama Care Penalties to the IRS , as well as student loans. If I pay 1 I can’t buy food. If I’m sued, I can’t buy food. I can’t afford healthcare and these damb collection agencies wont leave me alone.

  • Tamara T

    They sent me a note that changed the date of the debt to October 2014 when the actual date was 2012 and they put it recently on my credit report I was suspious because I spent most of 2014 either in the hospital or rehab center and now have SS disability! I called Woman Within and found it was originally charged 2012 can they still change date and put it on my record?

  • David V

    I have been dealing with portfolio recovery for about two or three years now, now they have been calling me every single day for the past 2 months from various numbers. sometimes when I pickup they just hang up without even saying a word (which is rude) . I end up calling the number back to see who it is. I explained to them numerous times that I cannot afford the debt. Is there anything that I can do to get them to stop calling me? and they call really early in the morning and I currently work 2nd or 3rd shifts so this is also very bothersome. please let me know if I can do anything regarding this matter. thank you

  • Mark B

    over charging for an illegal debt

  • Andy B

    Received a phone call from Portfolio Recovery last night at 9:40 pm . Per the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act, they are not allowed to call before 8 am or after 9 pm.

  • Joyce b

    PRA states that they bought my account from Synchrony Bank who bought it from Amazon. Synchrony as well as Amazon are bought reporting this to the credit bureau. PRA has changed/updating the last contact date several times reporting falsely as a new account.

  • Vonda J

    I received a summons 11/16/18 from portfolio recovery. My husband wanted me to reach out for advise

  • Chris M

    I believe I may have debt that PRA now owns, but they contact me between 3-5 times most days calling from many different numbers. Their new trick is spoofing their number to numbers so that the numbers appear local to me. I have blocked their numbers (at least 15 of them), but they continue to call with new spoofed numbers. The number they call is also my cellphone number that clearly states my employers name on the voicemail and is my primary work phone, but this does not slow down their calls.
    I live in NJ. Can you help me?

    I live n NJ. Are you able to help me?

  • James K

    Portfolio recovery is calling me at least twice a week, I’ve been to court several years ago and was adjudicated that I do not have the ability to pay. My only income is Social Security Disability. Some one please tell me what I can do to stop them

  • Stephen E

    While I readily admit that the outstanding debt was my fault and occurred while unemployed, I have to say I have never dealt with a more unprofessional or frustrating company! The epitomize the expression, “the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing.”! They don’t record information exchanged during phone calls and repeatedly pass an account to someone different each time a call is made. A LOT of time is wasted having to go over the same information time and again. This company needs to revamp its procedures, train its employees better, and assign ONE person to an account! Stop making it rocket science when it doesn’t need to be! Your company is absolutely awful!

  • sylvia c

    portfolio recovery calling me 2 times a day I block the numbers How can get them to stop calling and harassing me, I am in Tennessee, on on very low disability ssi, no money to live on hardly, I don’t answer the calls so I do not know what dept they are calling about

  • Marietta S

    RE Portfolio Recovery Associates

    This creditor is continually harassing me by telephone, over a debt they say I owe, in which I do not .

    They have harassed me for over eight (8) years, I was denied credit for eight years because of them. They have finally removed themselves off my credit report.

    I changed my phone number and two (2) weeks later again they’re calling and calling.

    I threatened to start a lawsuit about this harassment, yet they still continue.

    I did have a debt once and paid several years ago, that I paid in full that they had carried, and was mine.

    My credit is excellent like 795. I can now buy a home or furniture.

    The problem is they still call my phone number 2-3 times per day between 8 am and 8:30 pm

    I child sit and they continually wake the baby almost every time they call.

    This should be done to no child, they are pschycotic I had to remember to take the phone out of the wall so she could nap. They call from about 10 different long distance numbers on a daily basis.
    303-731-2610
    951-824-7073
    760-849-4216
    859-635-4142
    770-462-2198
    954-624-8593
    407-374-2319
    404-220-9772
    770-752-4103

  • Jessica v

    add me to your lawsuit I have a very similar case.

  • Tracy B

    I have Lemberg Law A attorney looking into my case. Portfolio Recovery was calling me every other day like twice a day even on weekends, and now they are calling me every week. I can’t afford to pay the debt I owe and I am struggling just to get by on things i need and have to help take care of my elderly mother. I’m making the sacrifice and so emotionally mentally stress out and I have mental/physical health condition. I have Multiple Sclerosis and any bit of stress like they debt collectors do is aggravating my condition.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.