Unifin Inc Collections Complaints. Stop the calls

Many consumers bring up complaints about harassing collection calls

Unifin Inc is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

What is Unifin Inc?

Unifin , Inc. is a Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) and Accounts Receivable Management (ARM) company that specializes in third-party debt collection. Unifin has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including illegal communication tactics and attempting to collect debts not owed. If you have been contacted by Unifin,take some time to understand your rights before responding.

Have questions? Call us now at 844-685-9200 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Unifin Inc a scam?

According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Unifin, Inc. is a legitimate collection agency,  founded and incorporated in June 2011. The BBB established its profile page in September 2012. Unifin is listed as a collection agency and collection systems provider. Buzzfile estimates Unifin’s annual revenue at about $450,000 and the size of its headquarters staff at 5 employees.

According to its website, Unifin is “a full-service BPO and Accounts Receivable Management firm licensed and bonded nationally.” Unifin Inc provides solutions that “enable businesses to meet the challenges associated with their BPO needs…improve efficiency, generate more revenue, improve cash flow, and increase ROI.”

Unifin Inc cites four areas in which they claim their services outperform the competition: data security, regulatory compliance, business operations transparency, and performance in collecting delinquencies. To support these claims, their website cites their information security program; a secure web portal for client relations; high ethical standards; and compliance with nationally accredited licensing and bonding programs. However, as for compliance, they do not provide any information about consumer protection laws or enforcement agencies, except for a link to the Debt Buyers Association website.

Unifin Inc collects delinquent debts for student loan lenders, healthcare providers, utility and telecommunications providers, and government agencies.

How many Complaints are there against Unifin Inc?

As of February 2018, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) has closed 13 complaints against Unifin Inc in the preceding 3 years, with 8 complaints closed in the past 12 months. Complaints allege problems with billing and collections; customer service; and advertising and sales. As of December 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has received 1 complaint about Unifin, and Justia lists at least 2 causes of civil litigation involving Unifin Inc.

Contact Information

Unifin, Inc.
PO Box 4519
Skokie, IL
Telephone:(888) 572-3987
Website: http://www.unifinrs.com/

Can Unifin Inc Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to threaten to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely Unifin would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Click 844-685-9200 ☎ NOW to call us or go ahead and fill out our Contact Form. Our services are absolutely FREE to you

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Unifin Inc?

Absolutely. Here are some Sample Cases

Complaints against Unifin Inc cite problems resulting from hostile and abusive telephone representatives who blame consumers for the abuses of Unifin employees. For example, in July 2017, a complainant indicated he had been receiving calls at work from a Unifin representative after informing them that he was not allowed to receive calls at work. This conduct is a direct violation of the FDCPA. The complainant indicated that he had acknowledged that the debt was valid and that he intended to pay it, but specifically requested that he not be called at work. In response, Unifin refused to accept responsibility for the violation, simply stating that there was not a “Do not call at work” notification on the complainant’s account. The Unifin representative who responded to the complaint offered a lengthy explanation about how their collection agents are supposed to document accounts, but ultimately blamed the consumer for their failure to adhere to regulations.

Similarly, in January 2016, a complainant indicated that Unifin representatives repeatedly engaged in abusive and harassing conduct during telephone conversations.  Initially, the complainant indicated that when he began contacting Unifin Inc, their representatives continually hung up on him. Subsequently, when he requested validation of his debt, they allegedly refused to send any documentation; failed to inform him that they were a debt collector attempting to collect a debt; failed to inform him that his call was being recorded; and yelled at him. Allegedly, Unifin representatives then accused the complainant of harassing them because he “kept calling back demanding to speak to a supervisor or get the address to send a complaint.” The complainant also allegedly asked them to stop calling him, and a Unifin representative “refused…said it was within their rights…that they would still pursue debt collection and threatened to call him back.” In response to this complaint, Unifin offered an apology if the complainant felt “like our representatives were rude.” However, rather than accepting responsibility for the misconduct, they merely insisted that Unifin Inc prides itself on “being a complaint (sic) debt collection agency that adheres to all the laws and regulations that apply to our industry.

Unifin Inc Calling You?

Understand your debt collection rights

The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) and the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) are enforced by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB). The FDCPA regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt.

The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA). The complaint above illustrates how these laws can be extremely effective tools to hold accountable collection agencies who fail to adhere to their provisions.

These laws also provide individuals with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Seek legal assistance to find the relief you may be entitled to if you are having difficulty resolving disputes with a debt collection agency.

Want to Stop Unifin Inc Debt Collection Harassment Now?

Your debt harassment checklist:

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

If you’ve been harassed by debt collectors and even one of these has happened to you, we can help. We will fight for your rights.

We can make them STOP!✋

The Lemberg Law legal team is committed to holding debt collectors accountable, so complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call 844-685-9200 NOW.

What Our Clients are Saying

“Every e-mail sent or phone call made to your firm was answered not only promptly, but virtually immediately. Mr. Hirnyk patiently explained every legal concept – including what was possible and what was not – under existing state and federal consumer law.”

“Prior to contacting you, we had tried repeatedly to handle this matter without threatening litigation. In the end, not only were they unapologetic, but they were dismissive – even of an attorney friend who called on our behalf. Sincerest thanks for resolving this matter for us!”

“Know that Sergei, and your firm did a good thing. You took on a big company for little people and righted a wrong. For this we are grateful.”

“Thank you and your team at Lemberg Law for the exceptional work you did on my behalf. I have never experienced the level of care, professionalism, timeliness in follow-through, and monetary compensation obtained through your firm.”

Can You Help Me Delete Unifin Inc from My Credit Report?

We can absolutely help. Call us today.

Sound Off!

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

5 COMMENTS
  • Christine Lassen

    I received a call yesterday from your agency telling me I needed to clear up a debt. I set up a payment arangement with the representative on the phone. I was told that I would receive an email with all of the info from the call. I never received that email. This makes me thing that I have been scammed out of my hard earned money.

  • Rachel Noland

    I received a call from they agency telling me I needed to clear up a debt are I was going to be pick up by the police or I was going to be in front of a judge they scared me and I set up a payment arrangement witty the representative on the phone.I was told I would receive an email with all of the information from the call .I never.I make a $25 dollar payment ever month and when I can’t make the payment the representative tell me I will be drop off this arrangement .I’m a mother that can’t afford to give up The money because I’ve been laYoff of my job.

  • Tim D

    I just got a call from UNIFIN actually I think I’ve been getting calls from a similar number but they never leave a message so I answered and they were saying I owe to a hospital. I asked if they could mail out proof that I owe it and she said no they could email it. I tried to get them to mail it out but wouldn’t budge so I agreed to have them email it and then they said it’s just a settlement letter and she wouldn’t even do that now after she said she would in the beginning. Then she said I wouldn’t agree on paying it and I tried talking back and she hung up. I just wanted proof I owe this debit. I think we were scammed before and I’m not doing it again

  • Tamara W

    I received multiple calls from Unifin, Inc. stating that I owe an outstanding credit card debt which originated back in 2007. That makes that outstanding debt 12 years old. I requested that they send me proof of owing this debt and they agreed to send me an email. I never once disputed that I might possibly owe this debt but there’s no possible way I could remember 12 years ago! They never sent the email so I called them and they promptly sent the email once I made contact with them. I haven’t called nor have they called me since. She did state that if arrangements weren’t made within 5 days then they would pursue further action.

  • Mattie C

    I received a letter from Unifin about a debt that I paid years ago to get a home loan. The letter was dated 2/18/19, but I didn’t get it until after the 1st of March, giving me less than 30 days to respond. I have been offered some pay off options. I have not engaged with them as I know this debt is invalid. Even if it wasn’t paid off, the debt is likely too old to be pursued.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead can to our legal team.
Phone & email are required but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?