Wakefield & Associates is a debt collection agency which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is Wakefield & Associates?

Wakefield & Associates is a third-party collection agency based in Colorado. Wakefield has received many consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) such as making false or misleading statements and failing to provide verification of debts. If you have been contacted by this debt collector about past due financial obligations, make sure you understandyour rights before attempting to resolve disputes.

Have questions? Call us now at 844-685-9200 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Wakefield & Associates a scam?

On its website, Wakefield & Associates claims to have been founded in Colorado in1946. According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Wakefield was founded in 1986, is currently based in Aurora, and services the Denver and Aurora metropolitan regions. Buzzfile confirms the BBB’s founding date of 1986; estimates Wakefield’s annual revenue at $7.4 million and the size of its headquarters staff at 55 people.

Again according to its website, Wakefield states that it takes “a fair and professional approach to interacting with our clients’ customers, resulting in two things: results and a complaint rate among the lowest in the industry.” With call centers in Denver, and Fort Morgan, CO; Jefferson City, MO; and Knoxville, TN, Wakefield advertises nationwide calling capabilities tailored to local time zones. Wakefield offers first party, early-out, and third-party collections for healthcare providers; property managers; educational institutes; finance companies and banks; as well as commercial accounts.

Wakefield & Associates is a member of several professional associations including ACA International, HFMA, AAHAM, NRHA, MGMA, and USCOC. In addition, as a leader in the professional collection of property management debt, Wakefield is also a member of the Apartment Association of Metro Denver. Their Consumer Links page provides outside references to the three major credit reporting agencies; the Colorado Collection Agency Board; the Federal Trade Commission (FTC); the Health and Human Services Department HIPAA information page; and trade resources including ACA International, the Chamber of Commerce, E-banking.org, and the Healthcare Financial Management Association.

How many Complaints are there against Wakefield & Associates?

As of September 2017, the BBB has closed 149 complaints against Wakefield and Associates in the past three years, with 75 closed in the past twelve months. The largest percentage of complaints alleged problems with billing and collections. Most of the remaining complaints are fairly evenly split between advertising and sales issues and customer service issues. Since March 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has logged 129 complaints against Wakefield, and Justia lists at least 6 cases of civil litigation naming Wakefield & Associates as a defendant.

Contact Information

Wakefield & Associates
10800 E Bethany Dr.,Suite 450
Aurora, CO 80014-2697
Telephone1-800-864-3870
Website: http://www.wakeassoc.com/

Can Wakefield & Associates Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to threaten to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely Wakefield would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Click 844-685-9200 ☎ NOW to call us or go ahead and fill out our Contact Form. Our services are absolutely FREE to you

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Wakefield & Associates?

Absolutely. Here are some Sample Cases against Wakefield & Associates

In November 2012, in United States District Court for the District of Colorado, a plaintiff filed a complaint against Wakefield & Associates for alleged violations of the FDCPA in their efforts to collect form her a past due medical bill. Initially, the plaintiff refused to pay the medical bill for medical services for her son. The bill was assigned to Wakefield for collection. A Wakefield representative indicated Wakefield’s “Cyclone” computer software, in conjunction with the third-party vendor software, “DANTOM,” sent a letter verifying the debt to the plaintiff at an address on file. The plaintiff was no longer living at that address, and never received the letter; furthermore, because Wakefield relied on a computer-generated letter delivery system, they were unavailable to provide the court with a copy of the letter. Regardless, the plaintiff testified that she never received the letter, and when Wakefield was notified that the plaintiff had a new address, they initiated a legal proceeding against her for a judgement of $1496.00 plus $243.51 in interest charges.

The plaintiff received the summons accompanied by a cover letter informing her to contact Wakefield regarding settlement terms and to avoid litigation costs. The plaintiff contacted Wakefield and negotiated a settlement with the agent that would allow her to make a down payment of $300 and monthly payments of $100 thereafter, reduced from the original offer of $500 down and $250 monthly. An additional $153.85 in court costs was added to the bill. In addition, the agreement required the plaintiff to waive all legal claims and to pay all attorney fees to settle further disputes. The plaintiff signed the agreement, but the agent never discussed the legal implication of waiving her rights under the FDCPA, and the plaintiff did not understand the legal implications of such an act. The plaintiff sent the check for the down payment and assumed the court date had been dismissed; however, she was still required to attend the hearing. In addition, when her initial payment was retuned for insufficient funds, Wakefield initiated immediate legal proceedings.

Briefly, during the subsequent hearing, Wakefield was found potentially to have violated several provisions of the FDCPA for having failed to provide verification of the debt and for engaging in “conduct the natural consequence of which is to harass, oppress, or abuse any person in connection with the collection of a debt”; and for using “false, deceptive, or misleading representation or means in connection with the collection of any debt.” Although some of the charges against Wakefield & Associates were dismissed with a summary judgement, a judgment for the plaintiff was granted in most instances and the matter was set for trial.

Wakefield & Associates Calling You?

Understanding your Debt Collection Rights

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the CFPB enforce laws prohibiting unethical business practices such as the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) and the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA). The FDCPA prohibits activities such as failing to provide verification of a debt, or using false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include The Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA). The complaint above illustrates why it is important for consumers to understand their rights before attempting to take action against collection agencies who may have violated these laws.

Private individuals may seek monetary damages in court for alleged violations. For instance, the FDCPA allows consumers to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs. If you believe your rights have been violated by a collection agency, seek legal assistance to ensure you find relief.

Want to Stop Wakefield & Associates Debt Collection Harassment Now?

Your debt harassment checklist:

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are recieving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

If you’ve been harassed by debt collectors and even one of these has happened to you, we can help. We will fight for your rights.

We can make them STOP!✋

The Lemberg Law legal team is committed to holding debt collectors accountable, so complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call ? 844-685-9200 NOW.

What Our Clients are Saying

“We realize that ours is only one little case among many — and a lot more serious — but are heartened by the fact that you accepted it represented us with a professionalism that belied the dollar amount.”

“I am so blessed that through this dreadful, terrifying encounter, your company was there to help me. I can not thank you enough”

“Never did I feel anything less than your most important customer. I love your service, and wish that more people were aware that there was a remedy for these vile creatures that call themselves collectors. Do not get me wrong, I pay my debts, or at least attempt to, but those agencies are aware of what they’re doing is illegal and know that the person on the other end of the line probably does not know that.”

Can You Help Me Delete Wakefield & Associates from My Credit Report?

Chances are good that we can help.  Call us today and we’ll explain.

Sound Off!

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

9 COMMENTS
  • Trevor Alverson

    I was served for an outstanding debt from 2012 for a few medical bills and had my summons this past wednesday 2/21. I took time off from work for that day and gathered all the evidence i thought would assist me in my case and had Wakefield send me documentation of discovery. I went to find which court room i was in and they said although I had a legal summons, my name was nowhere on the docket or in their system. Either way they sent me up to the courtroom just to make sure i wasn’t missing anything important and so i wouldnt have to come back. After sitting there for over 2 hours, the lawyer representing Wakefield noticed i had been there for some time and finally called me in to talk about the debt. I told him that even the documentation of discovery had 2 past addresses that i hadnt lived at for over 2 years and told him how am i supposed to pay for a bill i had no idea about, talked him down to the original debt with no interest, no penalties etc. and signed the newly edited payment arrangement ($25 a month).
    I spoke to my mother about this whole situation and she said something didnt smell right and to get further legal advice from an attorney which is why Im writing this to you today. Today 2/26, is the last day I can appeal this court decision so please let me know if there is something suspicious going on. Thank you, Trevor Alverson.

  • Brian Birk

    I see that you assist in filing for bankruptcy, I am inquiring to see if your services are available to gain information as a creditor?
    I currently have a case in Douglas County District Court Case # 2017CV125 and just received notice that he has filed for Chapter 7.
    I have been granted a judgement in my favor for the monetary portion of a my case as well as a replevin. I had to file a Contempt of Court due to the fact that he did not respond to the Pattern of Interrogatories. I am also waiting on a response from DFAS.mil (their paralegal) for a Writ of Garnishment that I filed on him as well. He is retired from the Navy. When I went to retrieve my property (Forest River Cedar Creek 5th Wheel V.I.N. 4X4FCRM2285199628, CO Plate 550PPB) with my Court Order and Civil Standby with the Teller County Sheriff’s Office, the 5th wheel was not there. I filed another Contempt of Court on him for that portion of my case, waiting on the results for those two Contempt of Courts. His information: Michael James Freres DOB: 02/25/69 SSN: 480-82-4435 Address: 834 Douglas Fir Woodland Park, CO 80863

    I am at a standstill with this situation, I’m owed close to $25k, not able to retrieve my property and still having the make the payments.

    I’m seeking to see if I need to file for an Objection for my case/property in regards to him filing for chapter 7 and see about recovering my funds and property.

    Please advise.

    Thank you!

    Brian Birk
    970.903.1326 cell

  • Jeremy Brightwell

    Wakefield and Associates has called or attempted to call me 3 times a week, and called me at work. In that instance, I was in the middle of mass movement of offenders and I promptly chastised them and hung up. Please contact me at 1573-220-4670. Thank you.

  • JoAnna Hayes

    Me and my husband had a debt with Wakefield in 2013. I paid the account in full in 12-19-2014. I was already making payment to the hospital but they still sent it to this agency. It is now 2018 and my husband needs to have his EKG read by a heart doctor and they will not see him because Wakefield has red flagged out account. I have been calling there office for Three months trying to get the to take the red flag off since the account was paid and closed in 2014. I have talked to two supervisors Litia and Fergie to no avail. This agency is messing with peoples lives and health. I have keep all the documents when I paid this thank goodness.

  • Julie Snider

    They contact me about 3 times a day by phone. I owe 900+ on medical bills but I can’t afford to pay anymore payments on debts. I stand to lose my home, my vehicle. They sent a letter of intent to collect today.

  • charles j hollingsworth

    hello/// wakefield has been trying to collect a 1465.00 emergency room bill for dec 28 2015. i had a heart attack that eve/night i came too lying face down in floor got up lost 2.5 hrs time eat a handful of asprin and drove my self to dhc fayette, alabama emergency room. after they gathered info i was taken back put on a bed and left there for 3.5 to 4 hours nobody did a damn thing for me and i refused to pay the bill. the doctors name on wakefields statement is not the name of the doctor that was there. i have a credit repair agency trying to remove bs like this from my credit reports and probably why wakefield contatced my mail about this as i told them to go to hell before as they are 3rd party collectors playing with charged off accounts. thanks to the delay in care i received at dch that night and i had to have open heart surgery and that doctor said i should have died being neglected at fayette dch. i was unable to return to work because of cognitive damages, memory issues etc. i lost my home, vehicles and other items waiting 27 months on disability. i lost my health care 6 mts prior thanks to that non citizen, muslim nigger in the whitehouse fucking with our healthcare cost. i could not find any attourneys with enough balls to sue dch as my heart doctor stated i should do,, and now my case is over 2 years old nothing can be done. sorry to blow up i am so tired of being crapped on and these micky mouse collection agency’s pestering me. thanks

  • cyndy

    My 17 yr old son passed away in Georgia.now here in Georgia he would be considered as an adult in most cases.anyways my insurance payed for most of his bills,but not all of the helicopter bill.well a few months after he passed i start getting these calls from Wakefield &associates they are from Colorado and im in Georgia so like ive asked them i know our laws are different.so not only has his named been removed from the account and mine is the only one on the account,so it makes it look like this was me and not my son.and they have also added so much interest that it has almost doubled the bill and it has just now been a yr he has been gone,,,this is to much what can i do if anything??

  • Scott Savidge

    On 3-30-17 my wife found me confused and was forced to call 911. Both my wife and adult son are disabled and neither can drive. I received many bills from so many different places. Many filed my insurance right away. Some had to be asked to file. Some claimed to be out of network. All were required to file before payment.
    On or about 4-24-2017 I received a bill from AlignMD and was confused as I just received final statements from Lovelace hospital and the Emergency Room. I drove to the hospital to get answers.The nurse in the E.R. looked at the bill and told me it was from AlignMD who (at the time) had an office right across from the E.R. She also answered many other questions I had about the charges. I was being charged $594.00 for spinal tap and $1302. for “Hospital Care”.
    So I go to the AlignMD office across from E.R. and request from office girl ( O.G.) that she file insurance. O.G. says she don’t deal with insurance. I point out the area on the bill asking for insurance info. O.G. keeps saying she wont file, that AlignMD is out of network. I inform her that I have an Out of Network out of pocket maximum (which I already reached $1386.77) and needed her to file. She puts hands on hips and rolls her eyes. I informed her that she would not get paid until Ins. is filed. I told her she was in the healthcare field and maybe she didn’t belong. This went on until I told her I was going to complain and felt she didn’t want to file due to fraud. As I turn and start to leave O.G. says “give it to me” and calls me back in. “insurance card” she demands and writes all my personal information on bill. I inform her that it is my only copy of bill and ask for a copy. O.G. says “copier don’t work”. I ask again for a copy and O.G. says ” you will get one in the mail, copier don’t work”. I left.
    The end of Sep’17 I start getting collection notices from Wakefield and ever since have been trying to resolve this. I made countless requests for the bill and have been promised copies and also told I will never get a copy. I have informed Wakefield of the intentional act by O.G. and that my MAXIMUM OUT OF NETWORK OUT OF POCKET of $2,000 would be reached after $612.23. Wakefield wants me to pay them and go after AlignMD for damages. After getting sent to collections I contacted Lovelace who in tune got AlignMD (again same O.G.) and forced her to file. ANTHEM B.C.B.S has denied claim due to how long AlignMD took. I put bill in dispute and don’t hear anything for along time, and no copy of bill ever comes.
    July 30 2018 I get collections letter again. Again many calls with Wakefield. In one call they get your employee O.G. on the phone. I asked her what she did with my bill? O.G.: “It got lost” ME: “where, in the shredder?” O.G.: “It got lost” I again dispute bill due to O.G.’s intentional act to cause me harm. I state even if it were just incompetence why should I pay an extra $1300 for AlignMD’s error. Wakefield again has your employee file insurace which is again denied due to taking too long. Again I request a copy of bill.
    On 8-9-2018 I contacted the Attorney Generals office in both Tennessee and New Mexico. Tennessee never responded to my complaint. The New Mexico opened a file and sent a letter to Wakefield asking for information and copy of bill. The N.M. A.G’s office contacted me Sep-2018 telling me Wakefield ignored their request and recommended to me not to pay any amount without bill.
    On 10-15-2018 I called Wakefield to ask why they never answered N.M.A.G.’s request and for the last time request the bill.
    On 12-11-2018 I received a very threatening letter from Wakefield, on the behalf of DR. Borowski and AlignMD stating “Please be advised that we have contacted our client who has confirmed ” blah blah blah. They are demanding $ 2,173.76. AND I STILL HAVE NO BILL FROM ALIGNMD!
    I am only willing to pay $ 612.23 as all other amounts are due to the intentional harm caused me by the employee of AlignMD. Maybe someone can convince B.C.B.S. to cover what they would have paid if only O.G. did her job and not intentionally harm me. I cant imagine AlignMD condones the behavior of this office girl and will fix this. This employee is a stain on your organization and her actions make you liable. Also, if you have never seen your reviews to see how many people have been harmed by your Albuquerque office (reviews are at bottom of AlignMD’s N.P.I. page. Mine isn’t there yet). You can also google Wakefield and check them out. Scum.
    NOTE: this is an email I sent the other day (12-23-18) and am waiting for a response from AlignMD to a contact Congressman-elect Mark Green gave me. The congressman founded and was CEO of AlignMD but sold company in Nov 2015, a fact I was not aware of until I searched for “AlignMD CEO” and contacted him asking for help (12-11-18)
    Thank you.

  • Jeffrey Lipscomb

    I have never heard of Wakefield Collections Agency. I am trying to build a new home and secure a construction to perm loan and a collection amount of $1,351.00 appeared on my credit report today 1-4-19. I need this removed immediately.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead can to our legal team.
Phone & email are required but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?