Working more than 40 hours in a single week is exhausting. And by the time you receive your paycheck, you want to make sure you’re properly compensated for the time you work. The Fair Labor Standards Act or FLSA is a federal law that requires employers to pay their employees 1.5 times their standard rate of pay for every hour over 40 worked in a single workweek if they are eligible. These laws are complex, but it pays to know if you’re being compensated by your employer properly and what to do if you’re not.

Overtime Law Summary for Wisconsin

Below Is an Outline of Critical Wisconsin Overtime Law Components.

State/Federal Statutes
  • Wisconsin State Overtime Law Statutes § 103.025
  • Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (FLSA)
Methods for Overtime Calculation:
  • Hourly Employees: 1.5 x Normal pay rate for all hours above 40 in a single workweek.
  • Hourly Employees with Plus Bonus and/or Commission: To determine the regular rate, take the total hours worked multiplied by the hourly rate, then add the workweek bonus/commission. Next, divide by the total hours in a single workweek. Finally, pay half of the adjusted rate for every hour of overtime.
  • Salary Employees: To determine the regular rate, take the salary and divide by the number of hours the salary is supposed to cover.
    • Add the regular rate for each hour up to 40 hours if the hours total less than 40. For all hours after 40, 1.5 x the regular rate.
    • Pay 1.5 x the regular rate for each hour over if the total hours worked is above 40.
Wage Complaint Filing Process
  • File a Complaint to the U.S. Dept. of Labor
  • File a Wage Complaint Form with the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development
Wage Complaint Filing Process
  • File a Complaint to the U.S. Dept. of Labor
  • File a Wage Complaint Form with the Wisconsin Dept. of Labor

Note: New legislation, high court rulings (federal court decisions included), ballot initiatives, and other influences can change state laws. Please refer to a qualified attorney or complete your own research to verify the laws in your state to ensure accuracy.

Overtime Pay Calculator – Click here to find out how much you could be owed

Wisconsin Overtime Laws

Overtime applies to the following businesses according to the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development:

  • Beauty Parlors
  • Express and Transportation Firms
  • Factories
  • Laundries
  • Mechanical Establishments (occupations requiring manual or mechanical skill)
  • Mercantile Businesses (any business pertaining to merchants or trade)
  • Restaurant, Hotel, Motel, and Resorts
  • Retail and Wholesale Businesses
  • Telegraph Offices and Telephone Exchanges

There are several other categories of employees where the Wisconsin overtime laws apply. Employees who work in a business, an industry, or an occupation where they:

  1. Interact between people/businesses to buy and sell products/services
  2. AND, in these business interactions, exchange goods between parties

Overtime Employees Who Are Minors

When school is not in session, minors aged 16 and 17 can work more than 8 hours a day and more than 40 hours a week in Wisconsin. However, they cannot work more than 50 hours a week unless it’s during peak agriculture season. If this is the case, then employees aged 14 – 17 can work over 50 hours in a week as long as school is not in session.

Employment Categories Exempt from Overtime

These are the fields of employees exempt from overtime pay in Wisconsin

  • Agriculture/farming (according to Wisconsin law)
  • Domestic Workers (private home)
  • Federal agencies
  • Several non-profit organizations (various)

Sources for More Information

  • Official State Codes
  • State Overtime & Minimum Wage Laws
  • Wisconsin Employment Laws
  • Wisconsin State Laws

If You Have Been Denied Overtime, Seek Legal Advice Immediately

State and federal laws concerning overtime pay are complex and are subject to change. It always helps to have a professional there to help. If you feel that you or someone you care about has not been properly compensated, then please get in touch with the Lemberg Law legal team today. Complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call 855-301-2100 NOW. You may be entitled to compensation for damages, injuries, or lost wages for federal and state wage law violations.

 

BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead can to our legal team.
Phone & email are required but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?