CCB Credit Services Collections Complaints? We Stop Calls and Harassment.

We help consumers who have complaints about collection harassment.
HELPLINE

CCB Credit Services is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is CCB Credit Services?

CCB Credit Services, Inc. (CCB) is a third-party collection agency based in Illinois. CCB has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including improper use of information and attempting to collect debts not owed. If CCB has contacted you about past due financial obligations, be sure you understand your rights before you respond.

Have questions? Call us now at 844-685-9200 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is CCB Credit Services a scam?

They’re legit. According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), CCB Credit Services, Inc. is a legitimate collection agency founded in 1933 and incorporated in 1964. The BBB established a profile page for CCB in 1993. CCB is listed as a collection agency. Buzzfile estimates CCB’s annual revenue at $29 million and the size of its headquarters staff at 350 employees.

According to its website, CCB has “emerged as a leader servicing various industry vertical markets.” In addition, CCB “has implemented and maintained emerging technologies, customized solutions, and proprietary processes while maintaining their founding beliefs in ethics, integrity, and professionalism.” CCB cites electronic account transfer and a multi-system interface as its technological strengths and offers specialized management reports, including new placement acknowledgement reports and payment activity reports.

CCB collects delinquent accounts in several areas, including auto finance and public utilities. Their automotive division “has decades of experience effectively recovering receivables for any segment of the automotive marketplace.” CCB’s utility division “helps clients deal with…demanding challenges” resulting from “restructuring, consolidation, deregulation, and increasing bad debt rates.” In addition, CCB collectors specialize in collecting debts for communication technology companies, education loans, healthcare providers, and financial services companies. CCB’s outsourcing division provides “leading services for…active and inactive portfolios…such as first party pre-collect, early out/cure programs, letter series, and PPA monitoring.”

As for compliance, CCB cites membership in several professional associations, including the National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO); the International Association of Credit and Collection Professionals (ACA International); and the Commercial Law League of America (CLLA). However, they do not provide a dedicated consumer resources page with links and references to consumer protection laws and enforcement agencies.

How many complaints are there against CCB Credit Services?

As of January 2019, the BBB has closed 22 complaints against CCB in the preceding three years, with 3 complaints closed in the previous 12 months. Most of those complaints cited problems with billing and collection issues; many additional complaints cited problems with customer service and sales. Since November 2016, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has closed 14 complaints against CCB. Justia lists at least 6 cases of civil litigation involving CCB.

Contact Information

CCB Credit Services, Inc.
5300 South 6th Street Frontage Road East
Springfield, IL 62703
Telephone: (217) 786-4800

Website: http://ccbcreditservices.com/

Can CCB Credit Services Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to threaten to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely CCB would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Click 844-685-9200 NOW to call us.

Or go ahead and fill out our Contact Form. Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against CCB Credit Services?

Absolutely. Here are some Sample Complaints

In August 2013, in the Court of Appeals of the State of Washington, Division One, a judge issued an opinion in a case alleging CCB Credit Services had violated Washington State’s Collection Agency Act. In this case, the plaintiff, a resident of Washington, had been contacted by CCB, “an out-of-state collection agency licensed in Washington,” regarding a delinquent amount due on his personal line of credit with Wells Fargo Bank. Initially, Wells Fargo Bank had contacted CCB in July 2010 to collect $27,167.36 from the plaintiff, and in July 2010, CCB sent a collection letter to the plaintiff. After receiving the letter, the plaintiff contacted CCB by telephone and disputed the debt. CCB said they would close the account, but the next day they requested and obtained a copy of the plaintiff’s credit report Three days later, the plaintiff mailed to CCB a letter requesting an itemized statement of the charges they had attempted to collect, “including a breakdown of the amount owing on the original obligation, interest charges, collection costs, and late fees that Wells Fargo applied before sending the account to CCB.” In response, “an attorney for CCB contacted the plaintiff and told him that CCB had ceased collection and closed the account. The attorney suggested that the plaintiff contact Wells Fargo to obtain the itemization.” Thus, the plaintiff’s initial complaint sought a judgement against CCB, claiming that “(1) CCB committed a prohibited practice under RCW 19.16.250(8)(c) when it failed to provide the itemization he requested; and (2) the plaintiff is entitled to the remedy provided in RCW 19.16.450.2.”

In the original complaint, CCB claimed that their request for the plaintiff’s credit report was part of an automated process, so it could not be cited as a violation of collection laws. They also denied liability for the other violations and moved for summary judgement. The trial court found in their favor, concluding as a matter of law that CCB did not violate former RCW 19.16.250 because it ceased collection activity and no longer had a duty to provide the plaintiff the information he requested.” The plaintiff appealed the decision, and the appeals court reversed the trial court’s decision. In its analysis, the appeals court noted that “Washington’s Collection Agency Act ‘imposes requirements for communications about debts and regulates such communications in several other ways… including requirements for the first notice of a claim.’” Specifically: “If the notice, letter, message, or form is the first notice to the debtor… an itemization of the claim asserted must be made including: (i) Amount owing on the original obligation at the time it was received by the licensee for collection or by assignment; (ii) Interest or service charge, collection costs, or late payment charges, if any, added to the original obligation by the original creditor, customer or assignor before it was received by the licensee for collection, if such information is known by the licensee or employee: PROVIDED, that upon written request of the debtor, the licensee shall make a reasonable effort to obtain information on such items and provide this information to the debtor.”

The plaintiff “asked the court to rule on whether CCB committed a prohibited practice by failing to make a reasonable effort to obtain the itemization he requested.” The court found merit in the plaintiff’s argument. “Wells Fargo forwarded the account to CCB without providing an itemization; …the original balance asserted in the July 6 letter from CCB was $27,167.36; …statements from Wells Fargo reflected no amount due; …the plaintiff disputed that any amount was due on his account based upon those statements; …the plaintiff requested an itemization; and… an attorney for CCB suggested the plaintiff …contact Wells Fargo for the information.” As a result, the original decision was reversed, and the case was remanded for further proceedings

CCB Credit Services Calling You?

The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) and the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) are enforced by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).

The FDCPA regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt.

The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA). The complaint above illustrates how these laws can be extremely effective tools to hold accountable collection agencies who fail to adhere to their provisions.

These laws also provide individuals with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Seek legal assistance to find the relief you may be entitled to if you are having difficulty resolving disputes with a debt collection agency

Stop Debt Collection Harassment

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, a lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

If you’ve been harassed by debt collectors and even one of these has happened to you, we can help. We will fight for your rights.

We can make them STOP!✋

The Lemberg Law legal team is committed to holding debt collectors accountable, so complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call  844-685-9200 NOW.

What Our Clients are Saying

“The group at Lemberg Law was professional, courteous, and effective. Their grasp of consumer protection laws and guidelines are second to none, and they work extremely difficult to ensure this procedure is client-friendly.”

“After a few months of frustration with a debt collector, I eventually called Lemberg Law. It was among the best financial decisions I have ever made. Jody and her staff were comprehensive, useful, and above all else powerful. I highly recommend their services and thank them for their continual efforts.”

“I just wanted to let you know we received the check from your office on now and I wanted to take some time to inform you that we really appreciate all of your efforts in this matter.”

Can You Help Me Delete CCB Credit Services from My Credit Report?

We can absolutely help. Call us today.

Sound Off!

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Your information is kept 100% confidential. We do not spam or sell your information.