Crown Asset Management CAM Collections Complaints. Stop the calls

Many consumers bring up complaints about harassing collection calls

Crown Asset Management LLC or CAM is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

What is Crown Asset Management?

Crown Asset Management LLC or CAM is a debt purchaser and third-party collection agency based in Georgia. CAM has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including threatening to take actions that cannot legally be taken and attempting to collect debts not owed. If you have been contacted by CAM, make sure you understand your rights before responding.

Have questions? Call us now at 844-685-9200 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Crown Asset Management a scam?

According to the BBB, Crown Asset Management, LLC was founded in 2004. The BBB also established a profile page for CAM in 2004. CAM is listed as a business consultant and financial services company. Buzzfile estimates CAM’s annual revenue at $4.3 million and the size of its headquarters staff at 12 employees.

According to its website, Crown Asset Management “is a professional receivables management and purchasing firm with extensive experience with distressed consumer receivables.” CAM “purchases portfolios for its own business and also manages portfolios for other firms in the Accounts Receivable Management (ARM) industry.”

CAM is essentially a debt purchasing company whose “purchase and management activity begins with an extensive analytic process for potential new portfolios.” After CAM “gains critical insight into the future performance of each portfolio in order to make effective, profitable, purchase decisions,” the debt portfolios are placed in CAM’s “proprietary network of collection agencies and law firms across the country.” CAM “performs no collection activity on consumer accounts.”

In addition to debt purchasing, CAM “has built a proprietary legal network encompassing all fifty states…and legal action is normally employed for accounts where the consumer has verified assets and/or is employed, but the consumer is unwilling to resolve the debt.” Crown Asset Management “also provides outsourcing services to debt buyers and portfolio managers.”

According to its Compliance page, Crown Asset Management “conducts its business in compliance with applicable state, local, and federal regulations.” CAM “strives to ensure that its servicers strictly adhere to all laws and regulations pertaining to collections.” CAM’s Consumers page provides links and references to consumer protection enforcement agencies, identity theft resources, and credit reporting agencies.

How many Complaints are there against Crown Asset Management?

The BBB has closed 15 complaints against Crown Asset Management in the past three years, with 9 complaints closed in the past 12 months. The largest share of those complaints alleged problems with billing and collections, with several additional complaints alleging problems with delivery or customer service.  Since May 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has closed 24 complaints against CAM. Justia lists at least 22 cases of civil litigation involving CAM.

Contact Information

Crown Asset Management, LLC
3100 Breckinridge Boulevard, Suite 725
Duluth, Georgia 30096
Telephone: (866) 696-4442
Website: http://www.crownasset.com/

Can Crown Asset Management Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to threaten to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely CAM would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Click 844-685-9200 ☎ NOW to call us or go ahead and fill out our Contact Form. Our services are absolutely FREE to you

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Crown Asset Management?

Absolutely. Here are some Sample Cases against Crown Asset Management, Inc.

In December 2008, in United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division, a judge issued a Memorandum Opinion and Order in a case alleging Crown Asset Management had violated certain provisions of the FDCPA, the Illinois Collection Agency Act (ICAA), and the Illinois Consumer Fraud Act (IFCA). The hearing in December was held to determine whether the plaintiff’s request to certify 3 classes for a class action lawsuit against CAM would be approved. In this case, CAM originally filed a lawsuit against the plaintiff to collect a debt that CAM claimed to have purchased. The debt was initially acquired as the result of a consumer retail charge account. The plaintiff had made purchases on credit, but ultimately the account became delinquent. By the time CAM purchased the debt, the plaintiff allegedly owed $12,602.69.

During the initial hearing after Crown Asset Management served the plaintiff with notice of the lawsuit, the plaintiff charged CAM with an ICAA violation for failing to attach a “proof of assignment” of the debt.  In addition, the plaintiff alleged that CAM also violated the ICAA, the IFCA, and the FDCPA by “‘filing collection actions on purported debts to which it did not have lawful title’; ‘by fraudulently pretending to be a holder in due course; and…by acting as a collection agency without a required license from the State of Illinois.’” In the December 2008 hearing, the plaintiff also sought to “bring these claims on behalf of other similarly situated individuals and requests that this Court certify three classes.”

The court reviewed the plaintiff’s pleading for class certification, which requires that it meet certain requirements to meet the legal standard for certification. Specifically, all three classes had to be shown to meet the standard of sufficient “numerosity” (i.e., that there were enough members of each class to qualify the case as a class action); “commonality” (i.e., that the questions of law in each individual case are common across the proposed class); “typicality” (i.e., that the claim or defense in each case are typical across the proposed class); and “adequacy” (i.e., that the class members will have adequate legal representation). In addition, the proposed classes must pass the test for “predominance” (i.e., that the issues predominant to each case will be the issues tried in the class action); and “superiority” (i.e., that a class action is the best method for resolving the disputes across the class, as opposed to each class member bringing his or her suit individually). The court found that the plaintiff had met all the necessary requirements and certified the following classes for trial:

“Class One: all individuals against whom defendant…CAM filed a collection lawsuit in Illinois, subsequent to January 1, 2008, without attaching to the complaint an assignment that complied with… the Illinois Collection Agency Act.

“Class Two: all individuals against whom defendant CAM filed a collection lawsuit, in Illinois, during a period beginning June 3, 2007 (one year prior to the filing of this action) and ending June 23, 2008, in which it filed a ‘business records affidavit’ representing that Crown was a ‘holder in due course.’

“Class Three: all individuals against whom defendant CAM filed a collection lawsuit, in Illinois, during a period beginning June 3, 2003 (five years prior to the filing of this action) and ending June 23, 2008, in which it filed a ‘business records affidavit’ representing that …Crown Asset Management was a ‘holder in due course.’”

Crown Asset Management Calling You?

Understand your debt collection rights

The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) and the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) are enforced by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB). The FDCPA regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt.

The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA). The complaint above illustrates how these laws can be extremely effective tools to hold accountable collection agencies who fail to adhere to their provisions.

These laws also provide individuals with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Seek legal assistance to find the relief you may be entitled to if you are having difficulty resolving disputes with a debt collection agency.

Want to Stop Debt Collection Harassment Now?

Your debt harassment checklist:

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

If you’ve been harassed by debt collectors and even one of these has happened to you, we can help. We will fight for your rights.

We can make them STOP!✋

The Lemberg Law legal team is committed to holding debt collectors accountable, so complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call ? 844-685-9200 NOW.

What Our Clients are Saying

“As we discussed on the phone earlier today, this settlement is perfectly okay to me. I need to thank you and all of your cohorts at Lemberg Law to get a project handled so professionally. Please allow Amy, the first person who contacted me from Lemberg, know how much I appreciate her efforts, kindness, and professionalism.”

“I won’t be afraid to contact you or recommend your services to others for applicable legal issues. Please keep up the outstanding work you do, and again, thank you for helping me through this challenging time. I’m most grateful. I can not say thank you enough!”

“I received outstanding professionalism from the own staff. I had a horrible experience when trying to solve a debt. 1 debt collector associate said she would speak to the prosecutor’s office and another representative told me that when I called the office back he would call the police and have me arrested. I had been insulted, mocked, and threatened, and feared that the police would appear at my door any given moment.”

“I just wanted to let you know we received the check from your office on now and I wanted to take some time to inform you that we really appreciate all of your efforts in this matter.”

Can You Help Me Delete Crown Asset Management from My Credit Report?

We can absolutely help. Call us today.

Sound Off!

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead can to our legal team.
Phone & email are required but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?