Gatestone & Co. is a debt collection agency which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is Gatestone & Co?

Gatestone & Co.is a third-party collection agency based in Phoenix, AZ. Gatestone has received consumer complaints alleging serious violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including using illegal communication tactics and improper sharing of information. If you have been contacted by Gatestone, make sure you understand your rights before responding.

Have questions? Call us now at 844-685-9200 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is  Gatestone & Co a scam?

According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Gatestone was originally incorporated in Delaware in 1995, then started in Phoenix, AZ in August 2003. The BBB established Gatestone’s profile page about 2 months later, in October 2003. Gatestone is listed as a collection agency that uses the alternate business names CC Corporation, Collectcorp Corporation, Collection Corp, and Gatestone & Co., International, Inc. The BBB has posted an Alert warning consumers about Gatestone’s collection practices. Buzzfile estimates Gatestone’s annual revenue at $19.9 million and the size of its staff at 175 people.

Gatestone’s website does not tell site visitors anything about its business practices. The home page consists of a “Make a Payment” link, a “Careers” link, and, in smaller print at the page’s footer, a link to a page that contains state- and federally mandated legal disclosures.

The “Make a Payment” link allows site visitors who have received written correspondence from Gatestone to log into the payment portal using a reference number. The “Careers” link leads to a page with a brief description of Gatestone as “a company that specializes in accounts receivable management and business process outsourcing solutions.” There are additional tabs with information about “Training & Growth” and “Path to Success.” As of October 2017, there are no positions available.

How many Complaints are there against Gatestone & Co?

As of October 2017, the BBB has given Gatestone a rating of C+. The BBB has posted an alert indicating Gatestone has demonstrated a pattern of behavior in which consumers are unaware of debts prior to contact, and in which Gatestone uses “intimidating tactics to obtain personal information.” The BBB has closed 29 complaints against Gatestone in the past three years, with 10 closed in the past twelve months. Complaints are evenly split between problems with billing and collections and problems with customer service. In addition, since April 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has received 30 complaints about Gatestone. Justia lists at least 5 cases of civil litigation naming Gatestone as a defendant.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Gatestone & Co?

Absolutely. Here are some Sample Cases against Gatestone & Co.

The following Alert is posted on the BBB profile page for Gatestone & Co.:

“According to information in BBB files, this company has a pattern of complaints involving billing/ collection and customer service issues. Gatestone & Co. is a collection company that contacts consumers regarding debt. Complainants allege they are unaware of the debt prior to contact from the business, and the business may use intimidating tactics to obtain personal information. Complaints note after receiving the debt notice consumers request verification and the business may deny the request. Additionally, consumers allege phone calls at their place of employment. At this time, Gatestone & Co is responding to BBB complaints.”

In October 2017, a complainant indicated that he had begun receiving calls from Gatestone. He reported having received 3 to 4 calls in a three-day period. The complainant returned the calls and asked why they were calling, “and each time the employee would not give…any information unless he verified his mailing address.” The complainant indicated that he would “not give out any of his information just because someone asks.” Furthermore, the complainant “finally told one of the employees on 10-03-17 to stop calling…if they would not tell him why they were calling.” Subsequently, the complainant received a letter from Gatestone. The complainant again contacted them to discuss why they were contacting him, but “they would not provide him with any info.” The complainant concluded that, “unless this business tells me what this concerns I don’t want to have any more contact”; that if he is “contacted again he will file a police report”; and that “everyone that he has dealt with at this business is rude and unprofessional!!”

In response, Gatestone indicated that “in all occasions, our agents followed our internal policies and procedures”; that the “verification process is mandatory to make sure we have the correct person on the line”; and that because the complainant “did not want to confirm his mailing address to verify his identity… their agents did not disclose any details about this matter.” The account was subsequently closed after “a balance adjustment for $27.07” and the complainant was notified that he “will no longer receive communications from” Gatestone, and that “further questions or concerns” can be addressed to AT&T directly.

Gatestone & Co Contact Information

Gatestone & Co.
455 N 3rd St., Ste. 260
Phoenix, AZ 85004-3937
Telephone: (800) 900-4238
Website: http://gatestoneco.com/

Gatestone & Co Calling You?

Understanding your Debt Collection Rights

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) enforce consumer protection laws. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) and the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) are two federal laws that help regulate the collections industry. The FDCPA prohibits actions such as threatening to take actions that cannot legally be taken or using false or misleading language to collect a debt.

The FCRA regulates how collection agencies report information to credit reporting agencies.Additional consumer protection laws include the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA) and the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA).

These laws also provide individuals with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs, in cases proving violations of the FDCPA.

The case above illustrates how understanding your rights and responsibilities under these laws is an important part of holding collection agencies accountable for their actions. Seeking legal assistance can help you resolve a dispute with a collection agency.

Want to Stop Gatestone & Co Debt Collection Harassment Now?

Your debt harassment checklist:

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are recieving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

If you’ve been harassed by debt collectors and even one of these has happened to you, we can help. We will fight for your rights.

The Lemberg Law legal team is committed to holding debt collectors accountable, so complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call 844-685-9200.

What Our Clients are Saying

“The group at Lemberg Law was professional, courteous, and effective. Their grasp of consumer protection laws and guidelines are second to none, and they work extremely difficult to ensure this procedure is client-friendly.”

“After a few months of frustration with a debt collector, I eventually called Lemberg Law. It was among the best financial decisions I have ever made. Jody and her staff were comprehensive, useful, and above all else powerful. I highly recommend their services and thank them for their continual efforts.”

“I just wanted to let you know we received the check from your office on now and I wanted to take some time to inform you that we really appreciate all of your efforts in this matter.”

Can You Help Me Delete Gatestone & Co from My Credit Report?

Chances are good that we can help.  Call us today and we’ll explain.

Can Your Firm Help me Deal with Gatestone & Co?

In short, the answer is yes. Contact us to find out more.

Sound Off!

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

2 COMMENTS
  • Victoria Francis

    I received a letter from this company dated 08-22-18. They were attempting to collect $59.91 from a closed AT&T account. Ironically the bill for that was issued on 07-27-18 by AT&T as the final bill, & mailed on 08-13-18. I was very baffled why this was all occurring. I spoke with 1 of their people, & then faxed all information to prove it had been paid. AT&T had cashed the check on 08-17-18. All done. On 10-24-18 another unknown call had been placed on my 28yoa daughters phone, & a message was finally left. It was Gatestone stating they were attempting to collect a bill for $59.91. I called them the morning of 10-25-18 to get this cleared up, not so easy. I spoke with 2 people who were not helpful & rude. Final answer was I need to send in the information again. I can play the game, I have all the proper documents, as I am in the line of work that on occasion, I am calling our customers looking for payments. Rudeness never gets you anywhere. You don’t treat every case as if they are in the wrong. Somebody on their end is wrong, but refused to understand.

  • Carrol

    I am with a different collection agency. I have been with them for two months. Everything is on the up and up. Today I received a phone call from gateway about my account they wanted my social and I said no due to the fact that someone else has my account. I was transferred to a supervisor and again wouldn’t tell me anything about why they were calling but wanted the last four of my social. I told her no. I needed to know why she was calling. Said to me that if I would keep quiet she would tell me. Very rude. I hung up. Then called the agency that has my account and was told that anything regarding my account would come from them.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead can to our legal team.
Phone & email are required but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?