The Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might calling, and how you can stop them.

The Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers is based in Stanton, California, but the debt collection law firm does not appear to have its own online presence. It seems the firm started business in 2010.

In 2014, the State of Idaho Department of Finance filed a cease and desist order against D. Scott Carruthers’ company for engaging in unlicensed collection actions in the nation. Mr. Carruthers was neither licensed to practice law or debt collections in Idaho at the time. He unsuccessfully contended that, because he bought the debt, he wasn’t acting as a collection agency. The Idaho Attorney General alleged that Carruthers sent out demand letters from a business which was had gone out of business, and that the letters threatened legal action if payments weren’t made.

In 2015, Mr. Carruthers had his law license suspended for 2 months from the State Bar of California for “amassing illegal fees by providing false information to State agencies significantly violated the general public, the administration of justice and customers.”

Have questions? Call us now at 844-685-9200 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers Collection Agency Complaints

As of April 2017, the Better Business Bureau reported 21 closed D. Scott Carruthers complaints over the previous few decades, including 8 shut D. Scott Carruthers complaints over the past 12 months. The BBB provides D. Scott Carruthers an F rating. Additionally, Justia lists three D. Scott Carruthers complaints filed in federal court in the past year alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Moreover, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) lists 40 closed Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers complaints for 2016.

Sample Case Filed in Federal Court against Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers

In 2011, a judge in U.S. District Court, Eastern District of California, granted partially summary judgment to the customer in Miranda v. Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers for alleged violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and California state law. According to the judge’s decision, the customer claimed that a letter sent by the Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers that comprised “NOTICE OF PENDING COURT PROCEEDINGS” was an FDCPA violation because the least sophisticated consumer (that is the legal standard employed in the FDCPA) could be led to think that a lawsuit was going to be filed. In actuality, the customer claims that a lawsuit was not filed until three months after the letter was sent. The judge denied summary judgment for different claims, but granted summary judgment in favor of the customer with this claim.

Press Releases of Lawsuits Brought On By Lemberg Law Against D. Scott Carruthers

May 26, 2017. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Central District of California. The case, against D. Scott Carruthers, A Professional Law Corporation, charges the debt collection agency with violating state and federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, $1,000 in statutory damages under the California Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, plus other relief.

The FDCPA was enacted so that consumers wouldn’t be subject to debt collector harassment. Some of the provisions specifically prohibit tactics that could be used to embarrass consumers. One of those is calling a consumer at their workplace. Our client says that D. Scott Carruthers law firm called him at his place of employment. During the live conversation with the debt collector, our client asked that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm stop calling him at work. Despite his request, our client says that D. Scott Carruthers law firm continued to call him at work. In addition, the debt collector called our client on his cell phone and said, “If you don’t pay by the end of the day, we are going to bump up the amount you owe from $13,000 to $25,000.”

This lawsuit charges that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by engaging in harassing behavior; by contacting our client at a place and time known to be inconvenient; by contacting our client as his workplace, knowing that his employer prohibited such calls; by using false, deceptive, or misleading representation in connection with the collection of a debt; and by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt. The lawsuit also charges that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm violated the Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (RFDCPA) by engaging in unfair practices in the collection of an alleged consumer debt and by harassing our client.

May 10, 2017. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Southern District of California. The case, against D. Scott Carruthers, A Professional Law Corporation, charges the debt collection agency with violating state and federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, $1,000 in statutory damages under the California Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, plus other relief.

Debt collection calls can be disconcerting. Debt collection voicemail messages and messages on an answering machine can be even worse. Our client says that D. Scott Carruthers debt collectors called her, and then left a voice message on her answering machine. Our client says that they did not state in the message that it was a debt collector calling. Around that same time, our client says that D. Scott Carruthers called her multiple times in a row. During one live conversation, our client asked D. Scott Carruthers to stop calling, and to communicate with her in writing only. After our client hung up, she says that that collection agency immediately called her back. When she answered, she again told him to stop calling. She says that, in response, D. Scott Carruthers immediately called back. In addition, our client reports that the debt collection agency called her employer and said that they were calling to collect the debt. They also called her sister and told her sister that our client would be sued.

This lawsuit charges that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by engaging in harassing behavior; by using false, deceptive, or misleading representation in connection with the collection of a debt; by threatening to take legal action without actually intending to do so; by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt; and by failing to inform our client that the phone call was an attempt to collect a debt. The lawsuit also charges that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm violated the Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (RFDCPA) by calling with a frequency that was harassing, and by communicating with her employer.

March 27, 2017. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Northern District of California. The case, against D. Scott Carruthers, A Professional Law Corporation, charges the debt collection agency with violating state and federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, $1,000 in statutory damages under the California Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, plus other relief.

Being in debt is stressful. Having debt collectors call adds to the stress. But when debt collectors spread the word about your debt to other people you know, it’s simply inexcusable. Our client says that a D. Scott Carruthers debt collector called her mother and told her mother that the debt collection law firm was planning to file suit against our client for failing to pay a debt. Our client was nearby when the conversation took place, so she took the phone from her mother and talked to the debt collector directly. During the conversation, the D. Scott Carruthers debt collector repeated the threat to file suit against our client. Our client responded by requesting that D. Scott Carruthers Collection law firm validate the debt. About five days later, she received a letter from the law firm telling her that she had the right to request validation of the debt, but that was overshadowed by the debt collector’s threat to sue her.

This lawsuit charges that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by engaging in harassing behavior; by communicating with a third party about an alleged debt; by using false, deceptive, or misleading representation in connection with the collection of a debt; by threatening to take legal action without actually intending to do so; by using false, deceptive, or misleading representation in connection with the collection of a debt; by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt; and by overshadowing our client’s right to dispute the validity of the debt by pressuring her to make an immediate payment prior to sending proper written notice. The lawsuit also charges that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm violated the Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (RFDCPA) by communicating with a third party about an alleged debt and by falsely representing that a legal proceeding has or was about to be instituted unless the debt was paid.

February 28, 2017. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Central District of California. The case, against D. Scott Carruthers, A Professional Law Corporation, charges the debt collection agency with violating state and federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, $1,000 in statutory damages under the California Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, plus other relief.

It can be dehumanizing to be contacted by a debt collector. It can be embarrassing. That’s why laws are in place to prevent debt collection tactics that intimidate and embarrass consumers. Our client says that D. Scott Carruthers debt collectors called his landlord in an attempt to collect a debt. He says that they even asked his landlord if our client was still working. As if that wasn’t embarrassing enough, our client says that the D. Scott Carruthers debt collector gave the landlord their name and number and asked her to tell our client to return their call.

This lawsuit charges that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by contacting third parties for purposes other than to obtain location information; and by communicating with a third party about an alleged debt. The lawsuit also charges that D. Scott Carruthers debt collection law firm violated the Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (RFDCPA) by engaging in unfair practices in the collection of an alleged consumer debt.

October 30, 2015. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law recently filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Central District of California. The case, against D. Scott Carruthers and Associates, charges the debt collection agency with violating federal and state law. It asks for $1,000 in statutory damages, plus other relief.

When a person is threatened by a debt collector, it can be terrifying. It’s also against the law. Our client says that D. Scott Carruthers and Associates called him and threatened to garnish his wages at a rate of 25 percent if he didn’t make monthly $200 payments. When our client questioned whether a court would order a 25 percent wage garnishment given his financial circumstances, the D. Scott Carruthers and Associates debt collector said that a court would award that amount. Our client suspects that D. Scott Carruthers and Associates told him that in order to pressure him into making a higher payment than he could afford.

The lawsuit charges that D. Scott Carruthers and Associates violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by using false, deceptive, or misleading representation in connection with the collection of a debt; and by implying that nonpayment would result in garnishment of our client’s wages. The lawsuit also charges that D. Scott Carruthers and Associates violated the Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers Collection Agency Address

Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers
8448 Katella Avenue, Suite 100
Stanton, CA 90680
Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers Phone Number: 800-495-8682
Website: http://dscottcarruthers.com/

Recognizing Your Debt Collection Rights

If you’re being harassed by debt collectors, they could be in breach of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). The FDCPA has many provisions that customers can use to maintain debt collectors accountable for unlawful debt collection processes. By way of example, debt collectors aren’t permitted to communicate with postcard with customers. The motive for this prohibition is that consumer debt information ought to be kept confidential and whether the info is on a postcard, it may be observed by postal workers and others.

If a debt collector attempts to collect on a debt through sending you postcards, you can find legal remedies against them. Under the FDCPA, customers who have been the victims of unfair and abusive practices outlawed by the FDCPA can recover up to $1,000 in statutory damages, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Stop Debt Collection Harassment Today

If you are being hounded by a debt collector, complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call 844-685-9200. The Lemberg Law legal staff is dedicated to fighting for your rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

They really do go to bat for you. I didn’t understand that debt collection agencies may wind up paying your legal bill. What a surprise, to get free legal assistance. I am very thankful for all the hard work they did to finally give me my life back.”

“Every email sent or telephone call made to your company was answered not just instantly, but almost immediately. Mr. Hirnyk patiently explained every legal concept — including what was possible and what wasn’t — under existing federal and state consumer law.”

“You, in addition to your office and staff, went out of your way to be useful, keep us updated, and manage everything to decrease the strain on us. We’re extremely thankful for all the help you’ve given us and making this so easy on us. We’ll definitely be recommending you to any friends who are in a similar situation. Again, thank you so much for everything.”

Can You Help Me Remove Law Office of D. Scott Carruthers from My Credit Report?

We will do our very best. Call us to find out more.

Sound Off!

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

34 COMMENTS
  • Rachael Silva

    This office been doing the same to me. We agreed that a payment of $125 would be taken out every two weeks on my payday, which is a Friday. I asked for everything in writing, but they never sent anything. Knowing that it is their word against mine it left me feeling very uneasy.They never took the payment out as agreed on. They called me stating that there were insufficient funds in my account when the tried to deduct it from my account. There were funds in the account to cover the payment. I asked the man on the phone when he tried to take it out, and he said,” I tried right before I called you”. This happened on a Monday which is not the day we agreed upon. I told him we agreed for it to come out every other Friday, not a Monday. To that he replied, it doesn’t matter when I take it out! He then told me he would be submitting the wage garnishment and then hung up before I could reply. I have been harassed from day one by this office, at work and at home constantly after telling them to please stop harassing me. I kept my end of our agreement and they did not. I believe that their intent was to never take out the payment and claim that they “tried”, and then collect the garnishment payment instead which is a larger amount every month. I cannot afford for the garnishment to come out of every paycheck that is why I set up the agreement of $125 every payday.

    • Michelle

      > I just received a call from them yesterday, I tried to establish a monthly payment of what I can pay monthly, and they said it wouldn’t be done unless I pay about 4k to 5k upfront. I told them I don’t even have that amount to start off with and this guy name Bruce said well if you don’t make a few calls then I’m going to have call your cosigner.. Sounded very threatening, and was given a cocky type of attitude when he can obviously hear the distress coming from my end. It wasn’t a pleasing phone call at all. I was left scared and shaking, and they called me during work on my work phone and I couldn’t even work for the remainder of the day from feeling so stressed. I felt threatened, and I dont even know what to do or even handle them to leave me alone. I know I owe debt but when I asked them for documentation about my creditor, the guy didn’t even budge.

  • Danielle Velarde

    Omg this is happening to me as well. I don’t know what to do. They are harassing me at work and threatening me if I don’t pay.

  • Bethany

    This is happening to me as well. They contacted my landlord looking for me and have been very aggressive over the phone. I have been waiting on the letters they insist they sent to me. It all seems very fishy, not legal at all. The debt is horribly inflated and they’re now insisting that interest is accruing at $8 a day. It’s so sketchy.

  • Amy Romero

    I have had the same issue with this company. I made payment arrangements of $300 per month. This last payment on the 15th did not go through due to I didn’t get a paycheck. The reason for no check is due to me being commission only. I called this company to let them know and they were ok with rescheduling the payment to the 30th of this month. However I received a phone call today stating they wanted the payment today or they were going to sue me and garnish my wages. I told them to do to what they had to do that I had already made arrangements to pay and I recorded the phone call when I made that arrangement. They will not get another penny from me!

  • Kimberly McSparin-Gamez

    This company contacted me looking for my dad who passed 4 and a half years ago. I don’t know how they got my number. His estate was settled 4 yrs ago. Another scam!

    • Sandy O.

      > so did you end up paying them after that? I’m in the same situation where they set up a payment date on the amount that is very high. I’m am not working right now because the company just closed down. I want to postpone the payment date but I am sure they won’t let me. They mentioned at the beginning that I had to make a payment on time every month otherwise they would take me to court. So I’m just wondering if you continue on with the payment or you just stopped completely.

  • VERNELL

    I have the same thing going on right now.
    A lady by the nane of Gifford is calling my children, my ex husband and friends. Im not sure how she got all these numbers but it is way beyond out of control
    This supposed Law office is calling from this number 1- 877-317-5659.
    The threats are steming from garnishing, summonsing to court, to very scarcastic verbiage, rude mannerisims and the list goes on and on.
    Something has to be done.

    • mike

      > I just got off the phone with one of their people and they are threatening to garnish my wife’s paycheck even though she is not the one who requested the loan I told him I am disabled now but it didn’t matter he knows how much we pay in utilities rent but is it legal for them to garnish my wife’s wages

    • mike

      > I just got off the phone with one of their rude people and they are threatening to garnish my wife’s paycheck even though she is not the one who requested the loan I told him I am disabled now but it didn’t matter he knows how much we pay in utilities rent but is it legal for them to garnish my wife’s wages

      • Sandy O.

        > how come they don’t show up to court? Do you know?

        • Rea

          They have called my family members as well, but haven’t gotten to my underage son’s phone. Best advice, if your daughter has the room on her phone to ad a call blocking application. You can have the settings to only allow calls from numbers in your contacts. Everything else will go to voicemail. >

  • Vernell

    Please let me know if anythig is done about this situation

    • Ky

      > That is so illegal.
      I’ve got a huge beef with them. They are negligent, mis-representative and fraudulent. What we need is a huge class action lawsuit. This attorney had been suspended from the Bar before for improprieties, they are crooks!!!

      • Mely

        I am having such a horrible time trying to protect my rights with this fraudulent company. They have been hounding my daughter for over 6 months now. I had no idea who had been calling her untill I put two and two together after being served with a lawsuit. She would beg them not to contact her anymore and the one time she raised her voice, the man laughed and said “ I will never stop calling”, in a creepy voice. They also have threatened my aunt and was told that if she did not relay the message to me, she would go to jail. They disclose personal information about your debt to anyone on there call list.

        These people need to get shut down. I am stressing so bad because of them I’m worried for my health.

  • Anne

    This is currently happening to me. I had taken out a 2500.00 loan and did not pay due to circumstances. It went to this law office. They filed a suit in against me. It is now 13000,00 that they are suing me for. I have paid 2500. 00 to them. I missed a payment and “Don Summer” harassed me to the point of me barely being able to go back to work. He said they had sent another suit back to Yolo County. He demanded 1000.00 again. He said threatening things to me. I sent the 1000.00 and he has now called again. I am nervous to call back again. Please respond. I would like to work with you on this. Thank you,

  • Jennifer S.

    Same situation just happen to me. Just want you to know that the debt to whoever you owe it too is already bought out to D Scott. They might have sold it for just a couple hundred dollars. So what you are paying, is to the collectors, but towards the original lender. On top of that, D Scott add a collection fee which is almost half of the original amount that you owe. They don’t negotiate with you, they want you to pay right away or they will file a suit against you. I try to find just 1 good comment about them, but no luck.

  • Al P.

    I have been having issues with them for years and now reading all these comments, it is making me worry even more. I had spoken with someone maybe four years ago, and told them that I would make payments of 400 dollars a month, as long as their would be no interest accruing. They actually agreed to that so I made payments of 400 dollars as promised for a couple of years. Then all of a sudden, I heard from don summers who was a lot more rude, demanding, and threatening, saying that the deal never happened and that interest is going to continue to accrue. I even at one point told them I am not dealing with them anymore and I’ll just pay my debt with the original company I borrowed the money through, but they informed me that they would garnish my wages if I stopped paying them. Since those threatening calls, I was pissed, and wished they’d sent me something in writing, but I changed my payment arrangements to 125 every other week. I’ve been paying them off for over 4 years now on time as promised. Now all of a sudden the money has been in my account waiting to be pulled, but they haven’t taken the funds out. Seeing the above messages, I’m worried they will garnish my wages because their choosing not to take the funds out. I don’t want to call these people back again knowing I’ve always kept my end of the deal, but now they are not doing what they said again. What should I do?

  • Misty Alcaparras

    Is there any way to dtop this company fro. Calling? They have been calling my family members. They have even been calling my underage daughter harassing her calling her 3-4 times a day. When i get on the phone with them and confront them about calling my minor child they just start yelling and become very rude even cussing at me a few times. They are threatening me with wage garnishments and lawsuits but wont even tell my who they are trying to collect for. I have had my daughter block their number but then they will call from a different number from another state, i live in ca. Idk how they even got any info on my or my family. Theyve called my mother in law, my sister, even my work, but im mostly worried about them calling my daughter. How can ppl get help with this?

    • Geof Lickey

      > I’m still dealing with “Don Summer” My bill was $50, then they took me to court, was never served, so I didn’t even know about. They got a summery judgement of $2900 in Dec of 2016. They now say I owe $15,000 but will settle for $9,000

  • Sara

    They keep calling me at work. I was making payments faithfully and they still called me. I just got so overwhelmed with them constantly on my back. It was not right to call me when I was paying $360.00 a month and never missed a payment for them to not leave me alone. First of all, I borrowed money from Loan Me because I had a tragic family emergency. I promised them to pay $175.00 a month. No matter how much I pay, they still won’t stop threatening me, how in the world can I come up with $5,000. My question is, has anyone had their wages garnished? If so how much did they take out? Can they legally do that? I’m just going to send money orders every month of what I can afford to pay, at least I’m paying something.

  • Ethan

    They need to file a law suit on you and win. They themselves cannot garnish your wages. They need a court order for that. Tell them to sue you and stop paying. When your served your lawsuit, file a response with the court. One you respond to lawsuit they will drop the case because that means they need to show up in court and they will not do that.

    • Ethan

      > They cannot do anything without a court order. They need to file suit against you and win, the best way to deal with them is to let them file a lawsuit against you, when you are served, you need to respond to summons. Once they see you will be going to court they will drop the case and further collections. But do not let suit go into default cause that’s what they want and that’s how they win. They never show up in court to defend thier lawsuits.

  • Misty Alcaparras

    This company was also calling me, my employer, my family, even my underage daughter harassing us. When i asked them to stop calling especially my daughter they told me they could call who ecer they wanted and when i asked them how they even got my daughters phone number they told me it was none of my business. I asked them to stop and hing up. The guy, David, i think immediately called back and i again said not to call my daughters number call my number or mail the info and he began cussing at me. I again hung up. They immediately called back and continued to call 3 or 4 times a day. I finally filed a complaint and they now omly call me once or twice a day.

  • L

    If you look at the CA Bar, there are disciplinary actions pending. He was not allowed to practice law in Ca. You can even google to see the court docs against him. My husband got a random letter from them today and I got a call from Bruce that “I have been warned”. I am a gov employee with a family attorney so this will be interesting . Bruce, challenge accepted.

  • Carlton

    So did anything happen? This company has been calling me for a year and I know it’s scam lol. Plus I’m already paying a debt collector from my school who I verified was hired by the school.

    • Carlton Gore

      > tell us how it goes ?, this jerk keeps calling me. I’m already paying on a debt from a school loan so he is obviously a scam artist

  • Nicole

    I’ve had this problem too in CA. D. Scott Caruthers, SFM-6 LLC, Mountain Lion. They change their name. I’ve gotten threatening calls at my work and to family. I was served court papers Dec 2016. I responded with my answer (costs about $250) on Jan 30, 2017. Got a letter from court that my court date is in Dec 2017. They are suing for $11,000 on a $2500 loan that I paid off in principal. They never wanted to send their offers of a repayment schedule to. Always wanted me to trust them to we $ every month or they will garnish my wages. I would never send $ to a person/company that I didn’t know. Plus all the bad reviews and lawsuits online made me think they are scam artists, which they are, and are trying to do it legally by getting court orders to garnish our wages. Make sure you file an answer to the court in 30 days if they serve you papers. Look online to see if your name has a case pending because I’ve read others say they sometimes don’t get served, but their work tells them they received a notice to set up for garnishment. Don’t be afraid, talk to an attorney also.

  • Nicole

    I’ve had this problem too in CA. D. Scott Caruthers, SFM-6 LLC, Mountain Lion. They change their name. I’ve gotten threatening calls at my work and to family. I was served court papers Dec 2016. I responded with my answer (costs about $250) on Jan 30, 2017. Got a letter from court that my court date is in Dec 2017. They are suing for $11,000 on a $2500 loan that I paid off in principal. They never wanted to send their offers of a repayment schedule to me. Always wanted me to trust them to send $ every month or they will garnish my wages. I would never send $ to a person/company that I didn’t know. Plus all the bad reviews and lawsuits online made me think they are scam artists, which they are, and are trying to do it legally by getting court orders to garnish our wages. Make sure you file an answer to the court in 30 days if they serve you papers. Look online to see if your name has a case pending because I’ve read others say they sometimes don’t get served, but their work tells them they received a notice to set up for garnishment. Don’t be afraid, talk to an attorney also.

  • Joseph Caporrimo

    I just saw they put a collection mark on my credit report. I had a loan from loan me for 10k and hit hard times. I am in the process of buying a home and my loan agent said since it show the balance of 10k that I would have to call them and settle. Hearing all the stories doesn’t make me want to call but if I don’t when my loan agent runs my credit report they will see this. Scott caruthers is a crook but what else can I do can anyone help I have 6 weeks until my house loan is supposed to close. I was going to call an make a settlement offer but don’t want to do that because it sounds like I will not get anything in writing from them or they will not take it off my credit someone help me

  • Kirsten

    Horrific. Abusive harassment.
    Calls 15 times a day
    Refuses to provide written acct information
    States debt of supposed 1000 is now 10K
    Threatened lawsuit
    Calls work place and tells employees he’s a lawyer, implying I’m in trouble.
    Calls before 8 and after 9
    I’ve stated I don’t have this debt – asked for documentation and asked / written to stop calling my work.
    Joe Daily is the worst rep- abusive bully.

  • Lynne

    Today I just talked to this guy Atty Carruthers because he contacted my employer. So when I asked him about the loan, He cant provide me correct information and he just threatened me that he will serve it to my employer since I’m not willing to pay or make arrangements. Of course I need to know what I’m paying for. So I asked why can’t you send it to where I live since you got my address. He said, We chose to serve it to your employer. So I replied, go ahead because I am getting my lawyer too and use it against you for harassment. All of a sudden he hung up on me.

  • Dee

    We got a loan from LoanMe. I believe Scott Carruthers purchased the debt. He called and said we had to pay it right away or we’d owe an additional $10k. We also received a letter stating that there was pending litigation against us but if we called right away to setup payment arrangements they’d drop the lawsuit. We’ve been paying $50 a week for well over a year, but it doesn’t seem right that if we paid Loan Me directly, we would have only had about $500 in interest, but owe Scott Carruthers an additional $10k.
    Is there any way to get that reduced and of of our credit? We’ve already paid off more than what was borrowed and reasonable interest.

  • Katie

    I took a loan out from Cash call back in 2014. I didn’t realize that the company was charging me a 999% interest on my loan. When I was unable to pay it back it went into collections. I tried a number of times to may arrangements but they were unwilling to settle. I then received a letter from Scott caruthers law office stating they would sue me if I didn’t pay $32,000 dollars. I hired a company to work directly with them to pay the loan off however they would not settle. I have received harassing calls for almost 5 years from them at my work, at home, they call my family or anyone that may know me. They have called and said legal documentation has been sent to me and when I requested them to send me something in writing the refused and said they didn’t have to. They then basically told me to make an offer to settle it. I told them I would have a lawyer contact them. At this point I may have to sue this company for harassment for it to even be removed because they are unwilling to work with me. This company should be closed.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead can to our legal team.
Phone & email are required but will not be published.

Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?