We Help Stop Transworld Systems Collections Harassment

How To Put An End to Unwanted Calls and Debt Collector Abuse and Threats.

CALL US NOW FOR >> FREE LEGAL HELP

 

Transworld Systems or TSI is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them

This article was written by Lemberg Law staff, and reviewed by Sergei Lemberg, the managing attorney of Lemberg Law.

Quick links:

What is Transworld Systems?

Transworld Systems Inc or TSI is a third-party debt collection agency based in Northern California. TSI has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including improper contact or sharing of information and threatening to take actions that cannot legally be taken. If you have been contacted by this debt collector, make sure you understand your rights before responding.

Have questions? Call us now at 475-277-1600 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Transworld Systems a scam?

They’re legit. According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Transworld Systems, Inc. was founded and incorporated in 1970.The BBB established a profile page for TSI in 1990.The BBB lists TSI as a collection agency. Manta estimates TSI’s annual revenue at $2.5 million to $5 million and the size of its headquarters staff at 20 to 49 employees.

According to its website, TSI “delivers unparalleled results by utilizing a proprietary predictive analytics platform that drives…next-generation recovery operations.” TSI “pairs… scale, sophistication, and debt collection expertise with the high-touch, client-centric approach of a boutique firm.” TSI states that it is “more than just a debt collection agency…and offers strategic end-to-end accounts receivable management and debt collection solutions.”

Who does Transworld Systems collect for?

Transworld Systems collects delinquent debts for a variety of businesses and industries, including “Fortune 100 corporations, national and regional healthcare providers, financial institutions, state and federal government organizations, educational institutions, and small- and medium-sized businesses.” TSI’s accounts receivable management solutions consist of 3 divisions—pre-charge-off debt recovery; post-charge-off debt collection; and specialty solutions.

Transworld Systems’s pre-charge-off debt recovery division provides first-party collection services that include “friendly reminders of overdue payments to generate immediate results.” Their post-charge-off debt collection division provides both first- and third-party collections using “best-in-class technology with data-driven workflows to facilitate effective and compliant operations”; legal claims processing and attorney network services; bankruptcy processing and proof-of-claims services; and probate collections for the estates of deceased consumers.

TSI also provides business-to-business commercial collections and business process outsourcing services that include portfolio and agency management; consulting and optimization; loan servicing; and self-service debt collection. TSI’s Consumer Support page provides a partial list of federal and state consumer rights, along with links to the Federal Trade Commission website and the FDCPA.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of collection harassment and abuse. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. We’ve helped more than 15,000 consumers stop harassment and recover money from debt collectors. Harassed? Abused? Misled by a collector? Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

How many complaints are there against Transworld Systems – TSI?

The BBB has posted a Notice of Government Action on the profile page for TSI. As of September 2019, the BBB has closed 292 complaints against Transworld Systems Inc in the preceding 3 years, with 100 complaints closed in the previous 12 months. Most of those complaints alleged problems with billing and collections, although 36 complaints cited problems with customer service, and an additional 4 complaints cited problems with advertising and sales. As of September 2014, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has closed 4,827 complaints involving TSI. Justia lists at least 20 cases of civil litigation involving TSI.

Actual Complaints Listed on the BBB website

“I contacted Transworld Systems regarding a fraud accounts that they are reporting to me credit i faxed over all information regarding the account and they company keeps telling me they never got the fax or that they are waiting for a validation letter from the original creditor i asked why they are requesting that when this account is fraud. This company has outsource their phone calls and nobody wants to transfer me to a supervisor so they can help me with my issue”

“I get calls from this company nearly every day and have for well over a year. They call from a bunch of different numbers, so I can’t even keep up with the blocks. They leave me messages directed toward someone else (not my name). I’ve called them back (or answered) multiple times and have told them they have the wrong number, please stop calling, but the calls continue. Very frustrating and I would like to see some sort of solution”

“These people constantly phone my home. One of them is an impossible fake debt for a woman they ask for, who has been dead for several years, and hence even if it was genuine is not only outside the statute of limitations. However no such debt was ever presented at her probate which was finalized by a Houston Judge. I am ignoring their threats completely. If it continues, I will take legal action. They also call for my wife, on a debt which is outside the statue of limitations

“When they are acting on behalf of the Department of Education, be sure to get both recorded and written documentation of EACH AND EVERY transaction/talk/discussion you have with them. Be sure you have clear and unambiguous understanding with the agent you speak with, and again make sure your documentation is clear and explicit, including recorded conversations. They’re recording you “for quality and training purposes” so you have every right to record them for “quality and accuracy in what they say” for when and if you need legal assistance in dealing with them. Don’t trust anything that is not in clear concise writing from them, and save all email communications from them. And for those of you who have non-educational debt they’re trying to collect, same thing, document with audio and written notes/statements everything you do with them. They will go back on their word in a New York pico-second, and you will have to catch them at it. Also if you’re not sure of whether or not the bill is indeed yours, THEY MUST PROVIDE AT THEIR EXPENSE, a letter explaining the origin of the debt. You would be wise to settle with the original creditor first. Also, get their physical address or an email you can write to in order to have them stop communicating with you except by US Mail. I strongly suggest the physical address and mailing that request with a Certified Return Receipt to a specified person. That way once the green card comes back and they call you…they’re in violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act. You have signed proof for your lawyer. Long story short, don’t be afraid to ask them to validate your debt, don’t take any settlement agreement unless it is in writing, document every single transaction with them.”

Contact Information

Transworld Systems
2235 Mercury Way Ste 275
Santa Rosa, CA 95407-5413
Phone Number: 866-545-9191

Website: https://www.tsico.com/

Can Transworld Systems Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to make empty threats to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely TSI would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Get Free BBB A+ Attorney. Call 475-277-1600 NOW

Unlawful Debt Harassment? Learn the Law & Sue the Collector.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Transworld Systems?

Absolutely.  You can sue a debt collector. Here is a Sample Case Complaint:

The BBB has posted the following Alert on the profile page of Transworld Systems Inc:

“Government Action, Case 2017-CFB-0018

“The following describes a government action that has been resolved by either a settlement or a decision by a court or administrative agency. If the matter is being appealed, it will be noted below.

“On September 18, 2017, the business entered into a Consent Order with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) prohibiting it from filing false or misleading legal documents, attempting to unlawfully collect or report negative credit information pertaining to invalid loan debts, and filing lawsuits on any loan an audit shows is unverified or invalid. Specifically, the CFPB took action against the debt collector for National Collegiate Student Loan Trusts for allegedly violating the Consumer Financial Protection Act by filing false affidavits and for pursuing collections lawsuits it could not have won if contested. It was further alleged that the company attempted to file lawsuits in order to collect on student loan debts that were either too old or unable to be verified.

“While not admitting any wrongdoing, guilt or violation of law, the settlement requires the company to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $2.5 million and an injunction requiring correction of the violations. It also requires an independent audit of all 800,000 student loans in the National Collegiate Student Loan Trusts’ portfolio. The Consent Order requires documents requiring notarization be properly notarized and to cease collection on the invalid loan debts.”

The case above was documented in a Consent Order by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau in a federal administrative proceeding file dated September 18, 2017. The Order stated that the CFPB “reviewed the debt collections litigation practices of the Attorney Network business of TSI, the agent and Service Provider for 15 Delaware statutory trusts referred to as the National Collegiate Student Loan Trusts.” During their investigation, the CFPB “identified violations of Sections…of the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).” According to the CFPB, TSI “executed affidavits that falsely claimed personal knowledge of the account records and the consumer’s debt, and in many cases, personal knowledge of the chain of assignments establishing ownership of the loans.” In addition, TSI hired law firms to file lawsuits “without the documentation necessary to prove Trust ownership of the loans.” In addition to the $2.5 million fine, the CFPB also required TSI to undergo five years of forced compliance monitoring.

Transworld Systems TSI Calling You?

Federal laws protect you. The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).

Can I sue TSI for harassment?

Yes. If you want to enforce your rights, or recover money for violations — you need to sue. Federal laws provide individuals like you with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Consumers have reported this agency harassing them from the following numbers:

  • 334-557-8378
  • 850-306-4002
  • 850-306-6043
  • 714-482-6137
  • 800-816-5569
  • 551-205-5794
  • 779-970-2724
  • 410-826-0415
  • 410-237-6235
  • 410-826-0364
  • 410-826-0313
  • 410-237-6275
  • 410-237-6255
  • 850-541-9423
  • 313-438-8516
  • 520-833-9498

Stop Debt Collection Harassment

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies.
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your family, friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

What Our Clients are Saying

“Thank you for all the work you’ve done on my behalf. I genuinely appreciate the blessing you have bestowed upon me. I didn’t realize I’d be getting any money from this wretched affair. I’m taken aback by what you have achieved in my behalf. This has proven better than I could have expected. I’m appreciative of your services and feel blessed. Thank you!”

“I could not believe it when my boss called me to his office and explained that he had been getting calls about me from collection agencies. OMG, I was so ashamed! Allow me to tell you how happy I am that I found you. Not only did you guys get the set calls to stop but you made them pay ME for calling my job. Seriously, I can’t thank you enough!”

“Know that you, Vlad, and your company did a fantastic thing. You took on a huge company for small people and righted a wrong. For this we are thankful.”

“When I first contacted Lemberg Law, I was at my wit’s end, not knowing what to do or how to protect myself against the collection agencies. I felt like I was sinking. After sending in my case evaluation, Lemberg Law quickly threw me a lifeline and turned the tide.”

Can You Help Me Delete Transworld Systems TSI from My Credit Report?

Chances are good that we can help. Call us today and we’ll explain.

Share your story

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

26 COMMENTS
  • Matt G

    I am a disabled veteran. I filed a chapter 11 bankruptcy and it was discharged 1 year ago. As part of my BK I had an exchange credit card that was discharged in the bankruptcy. I filed my taxes jointly with my wife who also had a exchange credit card(also discharged in the BK). The Tax return was seized by transworld systems inc, for a debt was discharged. They have an account open in collections which is illegal and it s accruing intrest and the amount owed $10,000.oo is double what I owed. And they call all hours of the day and night.

  • Ryan C

    Transworld Systems Inc never called me. I’ve attempted to contact them in order to stop the garnishment process, agreed upon a set dollar amount only for them to still garnish over twenty times the amount we agreed on. I am now homeless and do not know where else to turn. Friends & family aren’t able to help at all due to their own financial hardships.

  • D B

    We have been getting recorded calls from this Transworld Systems just about every day, at least 3 times a day for the past month or so. The calls are all recordings from a Loren Von Gundy to call them back at number 866-858-6729. How do we get them to stop??????

  • LV

    I began receiving calls a few months ago from what appears on the caller ID as Mercantile Bank on my work line requesting to speak to a previous employee. I informed them that the employee no longer works here. I continued to receive calls from this number, which I ignored. I decided to answer to ask them again today (11/8/19) to ask them to stop calling as the ex-employee no longer works here. To my surprise, the representative asked for me. I was told that this is a personal business matter. I stated that if this was “a personal business matter,” then why are they calling on my work line? I then hung up. This raised flags for me as I have never had any business with Mercantile Bank. After Googling the number (410-237-6226), I found that this is number is Transworld Systems Inc posing as Mercantile Bank, which is a collection agency that is not in anyway affiliated with Mercantile Bank. They have been made aware that they are calling a state facility, but they continue to call any under the guise of a company that they are not affiliated with.

  • Brittney L

    TSI has been calling 5+ times a DAY! Calling as late as 10pm from multiple numbers. I have blocked over 8+ numbers with them, I’ve even paid extra to a blocking service just to cut down the calls to 3 calls a day. I feel massively harassed, they also been sending tons of mail to my address, my boyfriend’s address, and put 3 things on my credit and threatening more. I don’t know what to do. I’ve tried telling them to stop, blocked the numbers as they come, and even changed my mailing address to a P.O. box. Needing help is an understatement!!!

  • Louise

    Received a letter in mail from this company stating I owe $441.00. Collecting on behalf of Suntrust Bank. Advised them I did not have an acct with that bank. Stated I co-signed for someone and they were collecting on it. Didn’t get the name. Verified last 4 of ssn. They claimed that was the number the bank had. I told them until they can get a signed copy of the document from the bank not to call again. I don’t know if they will or not. But I’m certain if the bank give them a document it is forged. What can I do?

  • Ken M

    I’m constantly being called by transworld systems. All times of the day and at work which my boss said isn’t ok. Ive told them not to call my work and to stop harassing me they have yet to listen..

  • Sean O

    I have a garnishment coming out of my check. $176.55 per pay check. Up to date, I have paid $1,235.85. Transworld is stating that they have not received any payments and I still owe around #1,270. I was paid today and another $176.55 has been taken out. At this point, I have paid more that the debt that was owed. Nobody has been calling me back or can help me. The supervisor I was working with previously no longer works for their company

  • Garla

    they will do anything to SCAM !!

  • veronica

    Can they charge a fee for collection on top of what is owed? I am told that TSI is collecting 20%. I never agreed to this and the fee agreement is between the TSI and the company owed, so why do I need to pay the fee if legal?

  • J. B

    Add (800) 816 – 5569 to the list. They called not long after I woke up this morning asking for my father, who is deceased as of some months ago this year. It took me several times asking who they were calling on behalf of before I was led to this page. If they were more forward, then perhaps they could have gotten a date of death and a request to send documentation of their debt collection claim.

  • Chrissy

    Please add 813-444-4805. These people are relentless. They have even taken to calling me at work daily when I stopped answering my cell for any unknown number. I figure it has to be illegal to harass someone at work.

  • Hugh E

    I have been receiving calls everyday twice a day sometimes from Trans World Systems for several weeks now. I assumed it was a scam or wrong number so I have been ignoring them. They leave messages instructing to call back Laran Von Gundi at 866-858-6729. They say they are a Dept collecting agency and will use all information they obtain for debt collections. That’s it, I know for certain I have no debt that would be in a position to be sent to a collection agency. I have never received any notice from any business that I was even behind on any payments. I don’t know who they are calling but when I got my home phone number on 9/30/17 I started getting dept collector calls, but they would mention a persons name I didn’t even know. After a while the calls stopped. Now this TWS is constantly calling everyday and from reading these reports I hesitate to call them back. I don’t know what I should do at this point I’m getting sick of the messages. Why do they not state the person they are trying to contact so you know if they are calling the correct number. Like I said it can’t be me I have no one that I owe an dept too. And have never received a notice from anyone about a delinquent payment.

  • Chris

    I am CONSTANTLY getting phone calls from this company! I refuse to answer any of their scamming calls, they’re calling me numerous times of the day and I am sick of it. I have blocked the phone number and it shows the same number calling, I know a scam when they don’t leave message and constantly calling. Be careful and cautious, USE YOUR GOD GIVEN SENSE before answering the questions they ask you. Whatever you do, DO NOT SAY YES TO ANYTHING BECAUSE YOU ARE ON A RECORDED CALL. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR NAME, THEY CAN DO DAMAGE TO YOUR CREDIT AND STEAL ALL OF YOUR MONEY.

  • Richelle B

    Synchrony Bank is who held my Military Star card account. AAFES has garnished my retirement wages randomly over the last 6 years. I legally changed my name and submitted my name change into the RAPIDS system and DFAS. AAFES has my SSAN and has been successful at garnishing my wages under TOP.They transferred the debt to TSI in Dallas TX and proceeded to call my father who has the same first name I previously held and they threatened him.
    How can AAFES collect a debt via TOP that was under Synchrony Bank and then assign it to a private agency, TSI when they are collecting the funds for another non-government agency?

  • Ed R

    I keep getting phone calls from TSI. Transworld Systems Inc. I get phone calls everyday. The number is: +1 (877) 865-7686. I also get repeat harassment calls from a 369 area code. I block them and they keep calling back on different 369 area code numbers. They call up to 5+ times a day. Its gettig ridiculous. I told them to stop calling me, but they keep on! Im tired of all these harassing phone calls. Thanks!

  • Sheila D

    Called twice yesterday on a sunday and the day before. Each time telling them the person is not at this number and to stop calling

  • Beth S

    Receiving multiple calls a day from different phone numbers robots most of the time. have blocked maybe 10+ of transworld phone numbers and have over 25+ robo voicemails saved in my inbox. The annoyance is high and starting to take time out of my days.

  • Jodie R

    They called me yesterday for my father. How did they even get MY number. The girl was rude and said she would remove my number but refused to even give me her name and a good contact number for my father to call them back. “Its on your caller id” that’s not professional at all. Also, please add this number 866-858-6729

  • Brian S

    I have never heard of this company and I have no idea what they are talking about but I received a correspondence from them via phone stating that I owe 200.00 for a ticket that I don’t even know about or I have never laid eyes on and then the rep proceeded to tell me I needed to pay 200.00 immediately to avoid this from going on my credit. I never received a ticket I have no idea what they are talking about in fact, I wasn’t even given an opportunity to even dispute this so called mystery ticket.

  • Jennifer P

    They are calling multiple times a week from different #’s, and won’t give me any info regarding whom they are collecting for.

  • Anon

    Add: (520)-833-9498

  • John

    Add (850) 541-9423 and (313) 438-8516 to your phone list for TSI.

    • Lemberg L

      Added, thanks!

  • Ronald L

    Just received a garnishment letter from Transworld systems or ADP, hard to tell from garnishment letter.
    Letter says refer to this tracking number:
    13285042EDGV1.
    If this is from AAFES/Base Exchange, that was discharged on my Chap 7 in 2011. They STILL send bills with fees, interest & penalties. The Treasury Dept sent a threatening letter some time ago about seeking garnishment. This cant be legal since it was included in my Chap 7- Please help!

  • Brian W

    I have been receiving calls from Transworld Systems for a debt owed to the University of Washington Medical Center. I get robo calls from them and they appear to be using different outbound phone numbers with different area codes. I did call them back once and I spoke with someone that said that they didn’t have any information about me, even when I gave them a reference number. I then went to their website to request detailed statements about the amount that I owe but never received any statements from them.

    Today, 12/12/2017, I called them again and when I told them that a prior representative didn’t have any information about me, the representaive seemed to chuckle when responding that “this was a trainee that probably didn’t know what he was doing”. I felt very uncomfortable with this response as the representative’s reaction was a way of saying “You’re lying”. I also requested that the documents and statements that I requested be either e-mailed of faxed to me as that is the best way to get invoices to me. They said that they don’t do e-mail or faxes and when I asked why, they said that they simply didn’t. They didn’t cite any privacy law (HIPPA) or anything else. At this point I lost my temper and told the representative to stop lying to me and to e-mail me the requested documents.

    The conduct of this company is appalling and while they may be a legitimate agency, they behave like scammers. I will not pay them one red cent until they send me the documents via a method of my choice.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.